We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 star but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 star but very nice”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We just returned on Feb 13. We had read the reviews on trip advisor before we went so we were a little a nervous. What we found: upon arrival, the time share vultures at the airport were terrible! They try to make you believe you MUST show them your documents before you can proceed. Our travel agent warned us however to look for our transfer agent ONLY! Upon arrival to front desk, we didn't find them front desk staff over friendly or full of information as previously reviewed on here but the cocktail upon arrival was a nice touch. We requested an ocean view which we did get albeit between the trees. We probably should have said OCEAN FRONT. The rooms definitely could use updating as well as the bedding, and they are very musty smelling. Next time we will bring a plug in air freshener. however they were very clean as well as the entire resort and grounds. The walls are very thin and the hallways have tile floors which are very loud when housekeeping pushes their carts very early every morning. We turned our fan only on our a/c and brought a small fan for our room just to try to drown out the noise. Also above us apparently someone with heels walking on the tile floors sounded like they were in our room. Bathrooms were clean, large and shower was great. I did wonder about elderly people getting in and out of the shower however. There is a grab bar but the bottom of the tub did not seem level but sloped towards the middle of the tub and with tile or granite enclosing the tub, seemed like a large step over to get into the tub.

We liked the choices of the pools with one being the activity pool and the other with no activities and heated. I cannot sit in the sun so having umbrellas and the chairs on the beach in the trees were awesome but those chairs need to be cleaned. They are covered in bird poop. We did take plenty of ones and fives for tipping but honestly, we didn't find tipping the pool wait staff helped to get better service as previously reviewed. We did find tipping the buffet wait staff, we got better service.

The shows at night were good and gave us something to do. We walked the beach to the marina which was kind of a challenge. It took about 45 minutes and the sand/beach is very hard to walk on. The vendors can get old as well but I guess that's expected in Mexico.

We went to a restaurant in downtown. The food was awesome however my hubby LOST his iPhone - somehow We believe it was picked up off the table by the Wait staff cleaning the table. We walked 1/2 block before he realized it was missing and went back for it but it disappeared. We were told by several locals that didn't seemed surprised that people get 300-400 dollars for those phones.

The breakfast and dinner buffets were outstanding (didn't care for the desserts tho) the lunch buffet was good but not near the selection as the breakfast and dinner.

We were told by another vacationer they took a cab to town. The cost is supposed to be 12.00 but they gave the driver a 20. He claimed had no change so they ended up having to pay the 20.00. Their lesson was to ask if the driver has change before taking the ride or have exact change!

All in all this was a very relaxing vacation for us. We HAVE stayed at other resorts with much nicer rooms but they also cost alot more so for the money, I would say this Rui is worth the money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,992
    2,118
    754
    442
    348
See reviews for
1,240
3,016
67
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,631)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
elliot lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just got back week ago from Riu Palace in Cabo. What a wonderful complex and great staff. When you book a resort, you can do all the checking you want about it, but sometimes its still a crap shoot! Not with this one. The complex is very clean.There isn't any part of this place that you don't see someone keeping it clean and spotless. These people work 12 hour days and are allways busy, friendly and courtious. Our thanks to them and all the Staff for making our holiday so great. Rooms, restaurants, food, drinks, service, pools, all above par! You Canucks, don't believe all that crap you hear about Mexico. This area is so, so ,clean and locals very friendly. Lot of English spoken here. Our week was from 31st jan. to 8th of feb. Weather was great...hot,hot. Nights do cool down, so bring a windbreaker,or buy one there. All in all, a wonderful time, will return!!! Note...Don't use street ATMS, you may not get your cash, and lots of phoning around to get things fixed!!! The ATM in hotel, no problems!!!

Room Tip: We had room 4106 overlooking quiet pool and Sea of Cortez...great view, nice big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terrymElliotLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

WE love this place, great value, good food, wonderful service (especially Rosember). Our biggest complaint was that the ice machine was in the next building (but very close). Rooms are clean with booze dispensors in them. What more can you ask for? The regular resturants are so good one doesn't need to go to the specialty ones. Missed the weekly local flea market in the courtyard this year. The pools are heated this year and you can still see whales from the oceanside pools. Lots of Canadians again (ya,ya). Will come back again if still healthy & have some extra income. Again we LOVE this place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rufusrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent the week of Feb 2 to 9 at Riu Palace in Cabo San Lucas which is one of the nicest resorts my wife and I have stayed in. It was very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpfull. The pools were very clean and heated. Our room did not have any musty smell that other reviews have made mention of.

Just a couple things to be mindfull of: The food is typical of all inclusive resorts - it is OK but not spectacular. The nightly entertainment can be rather loud and heard everywhere on the resort but always ends by 10:30pm. No swimming in the ocean - riptdide is very strong and can be dangerous. Some of the excursions offered for extra $$ are lame.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We returned Feb 9, 2013. My wife's purse was stolen by a thief on the grounds. Poor food, watered down drinks, cancelled reservations, arrogant staff. NO hotel security, most staff are indifferent to problems. Late checkout on departure was revoked after Orbitz had booked and confirmed it. My friend's wife fell on the hotel stairs and broke her ankle on the second day there. Staff are uncaring, hotel is full and the entire experience is over-priced. Return? NEVER.
The hotel staff should wear T-shirts: "Ask someone who cares- Riu Palace Management."
Our ocean view jr. suite over-looked a sand dune and we were not upgraded. "As long as you can see a bit of ocean senior, it is ocean view." Nice view of bay though from bars.

Room Tip: HIlton has standards. Barcelo is better, and Melia are preferable. We have traveled the world and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kalalau123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Palace from Feb. 1st-8th 2013 and had a great time...from the staff, food, activities and the over all beauty of Los Cabos was well worth every penny spent. Huge thank-you to Nayely, Mercedes, Mario, Louis and Marina who went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable.

We went swimming with the dolphins at Dolphin Discovery in Cabo San Hose and it was fabulous, except for the pictures in which they charge $100.00 for not so good shots...I passed on this. We also went whale watching with Cabo Adventures and also well worth the money... seen whales, sea lions, dolphins in their natural environment...good quality pictures were only $39.00 in which I purchased.

Went into Cabo San Lucas twice, walked the first time from the resort, took along time and was tiring...the sand is deep, soft and hard to walk on. Next time we took a taxi there and back for $12.00 each way, you can take the city bus for $1.00. The vendors on the beach and in town are annoying, they constantly come up to tourists and bug them. We purchased souvenirs at fair prices, the store was called Fiesta Mexicana at Puerto Paraiso Mall, it has a lot of high end shops in it...I only went in it to use the bathrooms and found this store.

The view from The Palace of Lands End is perfect, not to far away and not to close. The resort is kept immaculate the staff are constantly cleaning. The room was good, it does need some updating from the couch to the television...but then we weren't in our room very often so who cares!! Sun rises are to die for...and the sunsets are also very nice. Food at the main buffet is outstanding, so much to choose from and always changing. Kudos to the bartenders and wait staff...such patience they must have!

Joanne Anderson---grasshopperart.com

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was the third time my husband and I have stayed at the Riu Cabo San Lucas and the first time bringing our son (6.5 years old). We had a flawless vacation (Jan 31-Feb 7), the Riu did us no wrong once again.

Getting off the plane (Sunwing) it was a pleasure to have Riu Palace reps at our bus waiting with our room and safe keys as well as all trip information in an envelope. Also wonderful was that two weeks before our trip I emailed the resort asking for a specific suite room # that we had stayed in previously - and there it was on the envelope! We were thrilled. We ended up not needing the safe key as our suite had an upgraded electronic safe, much like we often see in Canadian/American hotels. A rollaway bed was brought up for our son 30 minutes after we got to our room. Flawless arrival all around.

The beds are (still) hard, this is a common theme with Riu resorts - you can ask for a mattress pad or even just have housekeeping put one of the thick blankets provided under your bottom sheet. It helps. The mattress for us is NOT a dealbreaker.

The food is fantastic, always is and is one of the reasons we choose Riu resorts. People need to eat the MEXICAN food in MEXICO!! It is DELICIOUS!! Maria who runs the Mexican section of the dinner buffet is an institution - she is there every night (for 3 trips now) saying "hola hola!" to everyone and serving up amazing enchiladas, tacos, beans, rice, carnitas, empanadas... I'm drooling. Breakfast is just as good, my husband, son and I all get chilaquiles every morning! Obviously there is a massive selection of non-mexican fare at each meal as well. We also ate at San Jose, the Mexican restaurant at the resort - anyone that complains about making reservations goes about it all wrong. Roll up to the reservation desk in the afternoon when no one is there and make a reservation for the next night, or two nights from then etc. We have never even seen a line and always been able to get a 6:30 table.

We were thrilled that we had no smokers around us at the pool for the whole trip! What a TREAT! Smokers should realize that they can RUIN a person's day by blowing noxious smoke their way when they are trying to relax. We were also SO HAPPY to see NO-SMOKING signs at the tables for the evening show - WAY TO GO RIU!!!! This was always a problem for us - you would sit down with a drink, ready to enjoy the show and then smokers would sit next to you and ruin your evening. Not anymore! What an awesome move by Riu, just amazing.

The staff that ran the RiuLand program and kids shows were lovely. Our son never did the day activities with them but he ran up for the kids "party" on stage every night. What a blast for him and great family memories.

Front desk - I had to call front desk three times, once for the rollaway, once because our toilet didn't seem to flush properly and once for more bottled water. Each request was followed through on within 30 minutes. Great service! And also again we were so happy to receive our room request.

Cabo - this trip we tried three restaurants in town, Lorenzillo's, Edith's and The Office on the Beach. Had a great time at each one - all had delicious food, great music and atmosphere.

Our Sunwing flight home was delayed by 6 hours but apparently this was due to fog and then a necessary crew change due to the delay - hey, we got an extra 6 (daytime) hours in Cabo so no complaints from us! Would rather the airline land safely and have a well-rested crew! The minute we heard that we would get on the bus at 6pm instead of noon, we left our bags with reception (as we were showered and packed) and jumped right on a cab for town... enjoyed an amazing 2 hour lunch at Lorenzillo's hanging over the marina, shopped, walked around, headed back to the hotel for magic hour cocktails staring out at the gorgeous rocks and then hopped on the bus. Who would complain? Sometimes you have to be glass half full... you're on vacation, life's not that bad : )

Staff that we remember:
* Hugo and Fabi working service at the dinner buffet restaurant were fantastic
* Julio at the (quiet) pool was just great with getting our drinks. Such energy! Came by often and even brought us drinks we didn't ask for just to try them
* Claudia and the RiuLand crew - so great with the kids!!

Few recommendations for the hotel:
- the shows start late... they start at 9:30 or 10pm. At other Riu's we have stayed at they start at 9 and that extra hour when you're tired from a day in the sun makes a difference.
- there are no longer any ashtrays at the lunch tables but they should put actual no-smoking signs like at the "show" tables.
- the beds are hard, yada yada yada

We will go again for sure! Having been three times, feel free to ask questions about the resort or Cabo San Lucas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank jenlikesbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
899 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,888 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort & Spa
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort...
#21 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing