We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Everything about this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved Everything about this place”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I will be the first to say, i very much dislike all inclusive resorts as they limit your options in other ways.
However, RIU had a very accommodating feel to it.
All of the staff were extremely friendly and nice.
The resort not only had your average Buffet's but had some pretty good free restaurants where you can make reservations (The Best was the SteakHouse)
The pool areas and jacuzzi's were very nice, and the vibe in the place was great as well, with staff always pumping you up, and always being served drinks.
Riu had a lot less kids which I loved, being 24 years old, you want to stay away from the usual drama brought along with the younger crowd.
There was also a very romantic feel about the place that I can't describe.
We were located about 15 minute drive from Downtown Cabo, which had plenty of Clubs and Bars, which were a ton of fun, with a good crowd
Loved this place alot, loved Cabo and will certainly be staying here again

Room Tip: Best rooms have an ocean view as opposed to a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,942
    2,083
    740
    431
    335
See reviews for
1,194
2,973
66
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,607)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Food is excellent for an all inclusive and is abundant. The lobby bar overlooks the arch and with the binoculars provided, you can see the whales coming up for air! I love that the pools are separated- the activity pool and the relaxation pool are separate from the the 2 pool bars. The pool bar was sanitized daily. We received above and beyond service, I believe because we tipped. Others didn't tip and still got great service, but we left just $2 US after meals and I can tell you that we never ran out of mimosas in the mornings and typically got the largest steaks at dinner time!! If going during cooler months, bring a sweater or jacket for cool evenings and mornings!!

Room Tip: If you don't like being woken up each day at 2 to 3 am, try to get a room away from the lobby on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The staff and food at the Rui Palace was awesome but ..... everywhere we went we had to endure smoking. It would be VERY nice if they had designated areas in the outdoor eating and swimming areas, for smokers. So the rest of us could enjoy the outdoor living without having to breath second hand smoke.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FaceLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I am not a huge fan of the major resorts in general... but this one was definitely lacking and did not live up to it's name as a palace. Lots of little things added up to make our stay a disappointment.

The doors to the rooms are hollow and have huge gaps under them... so as soon as people started clacking down the hall in the morning (and at all hours really) - we felt like we were sleeping in the hall. I like to sleep late on vacation - a rare and cherished luxury - but it wasn't happening at the Riu.

The washrooms throughout the resort have slatted doors (like a closet would have), so you have ZERO privacy if you like to tinkle in peace. This is especially annoying when you get up in the night and try to quietly use the facilities without waking your partner.

I was excited about the food, but it was boring. The baked Alaska at the steakhouse was really gross (neat show, but it had a salty meringue on it?!) and my steak was bleeding even though I asked for it medium-well. I could go on... but in general the food was bland and boring.

What wasn't bland were the drinks... they were super super sugary!! Too much so to be enjoyable in my opinion. And very watered down. I am not a big drinker... but when I do, I don't want to consume 5,000 calories to get a buzz. :o) If you want a drink... you'll have to go to the bar, as the servers come around every 45 minutes or so and don't always stop to see if you want anything.

Activities services were odd. One day we chose to play ping pong. We were in the middle of a game, with friends watching, when the staff came and took the table away, saying that ping pong was only offered until 5:00 pm. It was 4:45

Plus sides:

We had a lovely view.
The grounds are well maintained.
Your wrist-band enabled you to go to the other Riu (right next door) if you felt inclined... There were two huge pools, with lots of places to put your feet up.

Room Tip: Go to the far ends of the hotel... away from clattering shoes. Doors are hollow and floors are tile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My boyfriend and i just got back from a week at the Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas. We had a great time! A few things to know about this hotel if you are considering booking.

1. the rooms are run down. they definitely need an update and are not up to 5* standard; however, we didn't spend much time in our room and had low expectations on this front before we arrived (thanks to other reviews). when we arrived we were given a room with a 'king size bed' which was two doubles pushed together with separate bedding. we immediately asked to be switched to a room with an actual king size bed, and they moved us right away. the hotel generally tries to accommodate you if it can.

2. the service is exceptional. the resort grounds are immaculate and the staff are very friendly. tipping is not required but is very much appreciated.

3. the food and drinks are outstanding. i have stayed at many 5* all inclusive resorts and found that the quality and variety of the food at this hotel was amazing. the food in the a la carte restaurants was also very impressive. we tried all of them and thought they were all great. our only issue was having to get in line at 7am and wait 45 minutes for a reservation at Krystal - it wasn't worth it. the food was similar to the food at the other restaurants and was not the best. having to set and early alarm and wait in a long line seemed a little ridiculous.

4. you have to get to the pool early to reserve your chairs. we were downstairs around 8 almost every morning and there was still lots of choice, but by 8:30 there wasn't much left. just something to keep in mind.

5. if you are considering the Riu Sante Fe or the Riu Palace, the Palace is considerably nicer. we walked over to the Santa Fe for lunch one day and found that the service was lacking, the variety of food was not as good and it was very crowded (overcrowded) in the pool. we were glad we chose the Palace.

6. you can walk down the beach (about 30 minutes) into town. this is a great walk and it is easy to access the town from the beach. i would recommend doing this if you're up for it (early in the morning or late in the day is the best time).

7. the views from the hotel are beautiful. the location is great for this. but there are lots of cruise ships docking right in front of the hotel. also something to keep in mind.

overall we thought this hotel was great value and would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dan0190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just returned on Feb 25 from a wonderful week at the RIU Palace in Cabo. It was our second stay in a RIU Palace (the first being last year in Palya Del Carmen), and this was even better than the first. The hotel was spotless, staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the food delicious.

We were in a party of twelve and we all loved the place. The Palace is definitely quieter than the Santa Fe, which worked out for our group who were all over 50.

We had a partial ocean view room. We were on the ground floor and I wished we'd been on a higher floor, but the view was still very good and we looked over the pool and on out to the ocean where we could see the famous Cabo San Lucas Arch. Our 'king' bed was made up of two double beds pushed together, but this didn't bother us, and we both found the beds comfortable. Some friends with us did actually have a real 'king' bed, so if it's that important to you, request before arriving.
The room was spotless and the maid did a great job of cleaning. They actually came in twice a day, the second time to turn your bed down and remove any more trash you may have accumulated. We had plenty of bottled water, sodas, and cold cervezas in our fridge all the time!

We ate breakfast in the buffet, which was good. There is also a good lunch buffet, but I suggest going to the Mexican restaurant for better food with a wonderful view.
For dinner we ate at the Steak, Japanese, Mexican, and 'Crystal' restaurants. Crystal was the best, but you have to book it the actual day you want to eat there. We had a party of 12, so we had to get in line early (6:30 am) to book - but you only need one member of your group to reserve. The other restaurants you could book a day or two ahead. The food in all of them was good, but you must remember, you are at an all inclusive in Mexico and it's unrealistic to think you're going to get a Ruth Chris quality steak.

We actually watched a couple of shows which were pretty good. The Micheal Jackson show is definitely worth watching.

Drinks were okay. I'm guessing there may be some truth to them being watered down, or off-brands, but you can always get more and the staff do everything to make you happy, so if you don't like your drink, just ask for a stronger, or different drink - they'll oblige.

Before we went I read a couple of reviews about stray dogs and cats wandering around; We saw one cat on our last day, and it wasn't bothering anyone. I read another review about bugs -none of our group saw any bugs.

Use good sense and lock up your valuables. The safe is a good size and easily held my iPad, wallets, jewelry, cameras etc. We had no problems, but used good common sense.

So to summerize, we had a great experience and would love to return some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in 0133. Great view, but would have been better on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked our vacation in December for February 18-25 through Sunwing tours. Little did we know that they can bump you without any notice or reason. We found out one day before our trip that the Riu was overbooked and we were basically told we could either get our money back or take their one alternative. We ended up at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica and luckily it was a great resort although very quiet when you have two teenagers on the trip. Be careful when you book with Riu, obviously a reservation and customer satisfaction mean nothing to this hotel.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank WABToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,737 reviews
16.0 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,696 reviews
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing