We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabo 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
lebanon ky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cabo 2014”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated Ron's birthday here and had a very relaxing time. No one gets in any hurry here. The food was very good (a little on the pricey side)and the store on the property was really expensive. The staff was friendly. We saw whales from our beach chairs every day while drinking mango margaritas. They were fantastic.
The time share crap they hit you with when you first get there should wait until you've been there a few days to see if you like the place and just so you know, they do not like being told no.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladyboater55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear ladyboate:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused, in order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
Once again, Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    479
    139
    55
    29
See reviews for
751
670
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We've visited Hacienda del Mar every year for more than a decade - 15 years, in fact - and the resort has not only maintained its beauty and charm, its improved. The hotel staff is wonderful to us, the resort and surrounding area remain beautiful and welcoming, and the rooms have become even more accommodating as new areas have been constructed. One great tip for dining on/near property - the breakfast and lunch at the Cabo del Sol golf club (where the resort staff will shuttle you or to which you can take a moderate walk) are wonderful - it seems to be a bit of a secret, is rarely crowded, the service is fabulous and the food delicious. The golf shop is lovely, too. We spend most of our relaxing time at the beach. While it can get a bit crowded during full occupancy times, there are plenty of chairs and helpful staff to organize your lounging area. And, during the whale migration, you can watch for whales (and you likely to see many!) from the comfort of your beach chair.

The resort location is extremely convenient to San Jose and Cabo San Lucas, so we visit both many times during our stay for dining, shopping and activities. Every year, we enjoy our old favorite haunts and the seemingly endless new offerings. As for this entire area of the Baja peninsula, we are all very fortunate that it remains a safe and inviting place. We'll continue to make Cabo and Hacienda del Mar part of our vacation plans every year for years to come.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Sue S:
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. My favorite part of the day is to read our guests comments, because that is what keeps us focused to deliver better every day. We will keep doing our best to create new experiences for our owners & guests, and we will be very happy to pamper you again very soon!

Looking forward to welcoming you to your home away from home!!!

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed two weeks feb/march in the vacation club using RCI and had an easy relaxing holiday here. We were upgraded for our first week to a nearly new 3-bed suite which was pure luxury and the second week were in a 2-bed older apt which, although a bit tired by the other apt, was perfectly acceptable. The apt was cleaned daily. The beach is fantastic and the pools are as warm as a bath. There are loungers around the pools and beach and some days if we were late down we struggled a bit to get one, but managed all the same. The food is predominantly (obviously) Mexican which is not our first choice, but being self-catering we didn't starve. The shop only sells the bare essentials but walmart is on the road to Cabos. Enjoyed a few nights out in town, but the relaxed atmosphere at Hacienda generally meant early nights on the balcony. There are no noisy discos on site and evenings are quite subdued. All in all a very enjoyable relaxing time.

Room Tip: Try to get an apt in the newer blocks, we were in 17/18/16. The lower numbered blocks are the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keefyB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear keefyB61:
Thank you so much for your very positive review “Such as relaxing time” and for taking the time to send us your comments through Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our property and service. Each staff member on our team works very hard to pamper our guests and ensure they go home happy!
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon in your home in Paradise!

Regards

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

One of the most beautiful resorts we have ever stayed at since exchanging with RCI in more than 15 years. Room was comfy and large and even the mini kitchen had everything we needed to make breakfast or a light dinner. Towels were large and plush. Daily maid service (even though we were charged about $5/day, we tipped a little extra) was appreciated. Fridge was a little small, but we managed. Great balcony and view of the trees and flowers. Checkin and out was smooth. Very, very low-key timeshare solicitation. It worked for us and helped defray some of the very expensive on site meal costs and spa costs. Wow! Although the food was good at Giroseles and fabulous at Pithayas, spending $60 for lunch and $100 for appetizers and dessert at Pithayas is too much. Example: hubby caught a bunch of fish and had Girolseles cook it (convenient) - cost was $18 per person when there were signs by the Marina in Cabo stating a cost of $7.50 pp. We loved the pools and grounds and beach and space and outstanding service. I think the place had a decent % of occupancy, but we didn't feel crowded at all. In fact, I had the pool to myself most days. We rented a car and travelled around (Todo Santos and Cerritos beach - don't miss) and got groceries from Walmart. One of our tour guides referred to Cabo as Mexico light - true - everyone spoke great English and most signs were in English, too. Used vouchers to reduce cost of some meals in Cabo - that, too, can get expensive. (Reasonable costs to me for dinner is $50 - no drinks - as a comparison). Regardless, Hacienda del Mar has a hospital room to use after you check out (worked for us as our flight was late in the day). Everyone was smiling and helpful. Walking the grounds was pleasant, as there was a lot of interesting things to see (hills, flowers, fountains, pools, tile work). We loved the resort and bought a 1 week Discovery so we will come back again. We just will not eat on site anymore and seek out more reasonable places in Cabo (like Gordon LeLe, etc.).

Room Tip: We stayed in building 10, right by the lobby and a quick walk to the Activities Pool by Pithayas. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Tina V:
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay! I have shared your great comments with the staff.

Our Team here looks forward to having you back in the not too distant future!

Regards

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

On check in we were told we had an ocean view room...not ocean front, but ocean view. You couldn't see it on a clear day with binoculars because we we not facing it. Such a silly lie by the front office staff...did they think they were fooling me? When you come with RCI, you are again a second class citizen. When approached by timeshare people, I just said we already owned one and they left us alone. I have gone through this in at least twelve different Mexican hotels before.
Food is very expensive on premises, and while they wait staff is usually enthusiastic...translated that means they want to take your order very quickly..service drops off from there. No water, salsa or bread that every other table had was ever brought by our waiter Israel.. But when it comes time for the bill, they stand over you with a little flashlight in an effort to intimidate you to leave a larger tip than they deserve. I also noticed that even in town, wait staff has a very wiseguy attitude towards the tourists,thinking they are funny, and always have an answer to blow you off. Too bad, because Cabo is very pretty, but I will stick to the East Coast of Mexico on my next trip in a few months.

Room Tip: Not going to happen if you are RCI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringo8553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear ringo8553:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. We are always looking for ways to improve and enhance our service, and this is what keeps us focused on delivering better every day. I am really sorry to hear that we did not meeting your expectations during your last visit. Hope you can give us another opportunity to show how committed we are with our guests and what Hacienda del Mar has to offer.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon, and please, let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The resort is beautiful...rooms great, beds good, concrete couches and metal chairs a little uncomfortable. What I didn't like....distance to town...shuttle $10.00 per person return was available. If you are an RCI person be prepared to stay in building 35 or 36 the furtherest spot from the beach on the resort. They DO NOT LIKE RCI PEOPLE THERE! That is what we were told. We were lucky and were moved to building 7....great building peek at the ocean and close as I have a heart condition and we were only staying 5 of the 7 days. They add extra tip to the room regardless. What they do when you arrive is sign you up right away for time share. They are the cheapest of all timeshare gifts. $50. towards a meal at the hotel. When we called back and declined they upped it to $100. US. Well that is good for 1 burger and fry and a club sandwhich and a bottle of water and pop. $40. US is what that cost us. The food is really expensive. $180. pesos works out to be $14.00 US based on $12.50us. The burger was $220 peso $17.60! Cabs very costly $20.00 one way to Costco. In town it was $7.00 from hotel and they charged $10.00 back to hotel. But for $2. peso you can take the bus and take a cab back or walk to talk if staying there. They have Cityview in town which is like a costco near Villa Del Palmar and Bonita Rose and all walkable to town because we stayed there as well. Stayed in Cabo for a month. In town restaurants were steak and lobster at the wharf $55.00 for 2 US. Wonderful! Happy Hour beer $35.00 pessons...$2.50 us.... If you want to just stay and relax and do nothing then Hacienda Del Mar is for you. Its great they don't like to clean rooms though, they show up around 4 pm. Ask our neighbors....it was the same for everyone. Lots of Bellboys and they have golf carts to run around so you can get picked up but from your room. If you have mobility issues be sure to get it in writing before you go what room you want cause you won't get it! The food was good but very pricey! Not for the young and par tiers. This is not the place. Go to Villa Del Palmar or Bonito Rose. Didn't use the spa, didn't know where it was. They do offer 30 minutes a day free wifi for each room. They have computers available. Breakfast very expensive. If you just want to stay like home and do your own cooking this is the place for you!

Room Tip: They don't like RCI and put you in the worst location and then sign you up for timeshare before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muskoka687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Muskoka68:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. I am concerned by your comments and I’m very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. We aim to “wow” all our guests during their visit to Hacienda del Mar, and while we enjoy a very good success rate at doing this, we really did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
We would love for you to give Hacienda del Mar another opportunity during your next visit to Los Cabos.
If we can be of any assistance on your next return trip to Los Cabos, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goffstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from a week at the vacation club. The property is beautifully landscaped and pools and beach are lovely. I was with 3 friends, 2 elderly. We had requested a unit close to pools and beach with as little walking as possible. We were told we were in building 13, only to be put in building 15. The next day at the "time share sell" we tried to get moved. There was nothing they could do. The unit was fine, clean and modern. The a/c unit did not work in one of the bedrooms.
My 2 biggest complaints are 1: the service at Tortugas was awful, slow and it seemed the staff had not been properly trained. 2 the beach had a good amount of trash: cigarette butts, straws, etc. other resorts i have been to, beaches were raked daily. That never happened. We wondered if management was present. Service at Tomatoes was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rokyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Rockyfarm:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. I assure you that your comments will be addressed to General Manager in order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
Once again, Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
#20 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
5.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
2.0 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Property: Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing