We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again To Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos to your Saves list
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corredor Turistico Km. 10 | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
jersey shore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Back Again To Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are owners at HDM but have not been here every year. Last visit was 2011. We came by ourselves to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in one of the older smaller buildings (Building 6) which we liked very much, since it was an easy walk to the pools and beach. Our spot was the pool closest to Pitahayas Restaurant. The young ladies who run the activities there are a huge asset to the resort! In fact, all the staff from the Concierge at Vacation Club, Front Desk at Vacation Club, bartenders, waiters at all the restaurants were great! Some of the staff have been there since 2006, when we first started coming to HDM. We had dinner at Pitahayas, Girasoles and DeCortez, never leaving the property at night. All our meals were delicious. We had perfect weather and a truly relaxing vacation. It has become one of our favorites.

The one and only complaint we had was with the timeshare staff. This is the first time we attended a timeshare meeting since we bought our unit in 2006. We were told we would be updated on the new property planned. So, we sacrificed one morning at the pool and went to the meeting. We were brought on a tour of the new buildings in the rear of the property and were told of the new property being planned in another location. We were honest with the man and told him that we were not interested in adding to our portfolio, but he continued to give us the sales pitch. He then brought over another gentlemen who became very pushy. It was at that point that we decided to leave. So much for the information session. This was a pushy sales pitch to get us to buy more. Don't fall for it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseyshoregolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear jerseyshoregolfer:
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! Describing your visit as “Back Again To Paradise” is true high praise and very much appreciated.
Thank you as well for your wonderful comments about the staff and the service that they provide. They all truly enjoy what they do and I am always so happy when their efforts are recognized by our guests. Your kind comments are being shared with all of them!
Regarding the timeshare staff I sent your comment to our Sales Director concerning this subject, please rest assured we are taking corrective actions to prevent such things from happening in the future. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. We apologize for the negative feeling you experienced.
Hurry back soon, you home in Cabo awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation!

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    287
    73
    31
    17
See reviews for
407
409
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my first visit to Cabo San Lucas and I am happy as well as I picked Hacienda Del Mar as my residence for a week. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. We were treated with the utmost respect and hospitality. When we were asked why we chose Hacienda Del Mar, I replied that it was because of the reviews that I read on Trip Advisor prior to booking the vacation. I also want to add that I booked this on behalf of the 3 other women that I traveled with, not knowing their preferences! We have all decided to make it a girl's trip every other year to this resort. I cannot honestly complain about anything at the resort! Had bad experiences in town and with the rental car agency, but that is separate from the resort and thankfully did not put a damper on the total trip! I highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a piece of paradise to visit!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view when you are booking a room. Also, just to let you know that the resort and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Bandit615:
Wow, Wow, Wow!! What a wonderful review! It is a pleasure to hear we achieved our goal of providing the ultimate service and guest experience.
I passed along your feedback to all of our team members, they were so proud to have earned such positive comments about your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
Hurry back soon, you home in Cabo awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation!

Regards

Best Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just spend a week enjoying the resort with 17 of our closest friends and family. The spa and the food were outstanding. The rooms were spacious, although our builiding was in need of renovation which is supposed to happen in the near future. The staff from the hotel were delightful, but one of the time share staff (Gail) was hostile, disrespectrul and rude to three of our friends. I wish they had tapped her outrageous statements such as "we put the RCI trades in the dregs of the hotel". There were more.
Inexcusible!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer5237735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good location, away from the chaos of cabo but close enough to be there in 10 mins. Don't plan on swimming in the ocean, crazy surf. Didn't eat at any restaurants, nice pools and enough of them. Real Spanish feel, partnered with jack Nicklaus golf course which has amazing views on the ocean course. Would stay again if in cabo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 212armen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear 212armen:
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time.
Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just returned from a week at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. The food, service and drinks were awesome. I've been going there for 6 years, and this was the best week so far. The food at the all the restaurants, albeit a bit expensive, has improved considerably. We didn't have a bad meal the entire week. The one issue came when TransCabo (the taxi company) did not have our reservation, made by the hotel, upon arrival. However, they quickly responded with a private shuttle within a few minutes. Heather, from the resort sales staff, was knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with even when we declined the upgrade offer. Everyone on the staff always had a smile on their faces and went above and beyond for guests. All in all, an excellent week.

Room Tip: Book reservation as early as possible to get the desired building and/or view .
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank funincabo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear funincabo_13:
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! Describing your visit as “Wonderful vacation at Hacienda del Mar" is true high praise and very much appreciated.
Thank you as well for your wonderful comments about the staff and the service that they provide.
They all truly enjoy what they do and I am always so happy when their efforts are recognized by our guests. Your kind comments are being shared with all of them!
Hurry back soon, you home in Cabo awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation!

Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Oaks, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friends of ours recommended this beautiful resort to us a few years ago and we have stayed there four times with them. My wife and I have traveled to many places over the last 35 years and we both feel that this resort is the most beautiful we have ever stayed at. The main building is what I would call "Old Mexican" style and it is very striking. Colorful ceramic tile and fountains are everywhere. The grounds are covered with so many beautiful plants, trees and flowers everywhere you turn. They must have a huge staff to keep everything so perfectly manicured. The infinity pools are awesome and the beach is great. As with other resorts along the "corridor", the water can be pretty rough but it is spectacular! In March we can usually spot whales even very close to shore. The restaurants are very good with Pitahaya's and Giresoles being our favorites. Giresoles is open air (as most of the resaurants are, on top of a 4 story building. We love eating breakfast there taking in the beautiful view. We did the timeshare thing which was a bit longer than they said it would be but we did not feel pressured in any way. We had a nice breakfast before touring some really beautiful models. At the end, we got a certificate for $100.00 towards dinner at the restaurant of our choice. Not all bad. The staff was pleasant and very helpful at all times. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Chip B:
Wow!! What a wonderful review! Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation is true high praise and very much appreciated
I passed along your feedback to all of our team members, they were so proud to have earned such positive comments about your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from an extremely restful week where we had no reason to leave the resort / hotel / vacation home destination whatsoever. They did try twice to get us to listen to their sales presentation but we begged off since we are owners and have no interest in buying more locations or points.

We felt that the service overall was superb...everyone was friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. They had a wonderful spirit about them so I commend management for their training programs as well as to the individuals who truly seem to enjoy what they do.

I had to do some work that week and took the wrong power cord for my laptop. Federico at the concierge desk came up with one for me. It was a blessing. By the way, wireless hot spots all over the place but I did struggle with connections a few times near the pools.

The grounds were well kept, clean of debris at all times and the lush landscaping made it a tropical oasis with the flair and comfort of home as it portrayed a true hacienda feeling.

The pools were on the small size but there were many of them and since it was not peak season it really never mattered. They have a huge sand beach with many activities. The water looks great but very deceiving. Signs and flags are up to make you aware of the severe undertow and rocks that are very close to the shore. Housekeeping came daily and that was wonderful. The amenities in the room were good and the appliances, electrical equipment and furnishings were excellent. A DVD player would have been nice but I had my laptop to fill the bill. My only negative remark here...pillows were hard so I did not use them.

The food was excellent, especially at Pitahayas. We had dinner there 3 nights including the last 2. Every dish was superb and the service was, as well. We highly recommend Alberto and hope that you will ask for him to serve you. Pool side service was very good and they offer a good selection of items. Girasoles is more traditional Mexican and the breakfasts were great...Tomatoes was very good and offered a lighter menu...their catch-of-the-day was as fresh as can be.The only so-so meal was at the steak house the very first night...it was tasty and a nice steak but not what we are used to at steak houses in Houston. All in all, they get an A.

A week here was perfect. We rested, we had a wonderful, romantic and peaceful time. Congrats to the staff and to Sheraton for putting a little bit of heaven in Cabo.

Room Tip: We were in building 13. All buildings have elevators so get to the 3rd or 4th floors when you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear William D:
I would like to personally thank you for your comments ,it is a pleasure to hear we achieved our goal of providing the ultimate service and guest experience.
I have shared your wonderful feedback with our entire team, who enjoy what they do on a daily basis to ensure that each guest goes home happy!

We look forward to pampering you on your next getaway to your “home away from home”

Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#14 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Property: Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10 | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing