We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome return to our second home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An awesome return to our second home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Once again, the people at Hacienda del Mar, in Cabo San Lucas have surpassed themselves. Our return to La Hacienda was wonderful. The resort is spectacular as always and of course our biggest love is the staff. When we arrived on Saturday, May 18, we were greeted like family. Much to our surprise (and gratitude) we were upgraded from our junior suite to a master suite on the ocean front. An hour or so to unpack and it was off to the pool and a refreshing pool drink. As usual, the grounds were immaculate, our suite was clean, cool and comfortable.
One word to people who travel with an "ugly American attitude". The staff at La Hacienda or any other resort for that matter are not your personal slave. Yes, they are there to serve you. Please remember tho, that they are people too. Treat them kindly, with respect and you will be amazed how they make your stay simply beautiful.
The ocean was magnificent! Huge waves thundering down on the sand. Sometimes so loud the windows shook! 99% full moon. Perfect for a romantic dinner at Pitahya, a sunny lunch at Sirena's or the luxurious breakfast at Girasoles'. our stay was waaaay too short. we're planning two weeks next year. Mi familia de Hacienda del Mar... Yo amo tu!

Room Tip: Any of the ocean front building is a good choice, but if you wish a little more quiet, the garden su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickThreeBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear RickThreeBears:
Wow, Wow, Wow!! What a wonderful review! Describing your visit as “An awesome return to our second home” is true high praise and very much appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear we achieved our goal of providing the ultimate service and guest experience. I passed along your feedback to all of our team members, they were so proud to have earned such positive comments about your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
All of us here at Hacienda del Mar, look forward to pampering you again soon in your home away from home!

Best Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    435
    124
    51
    26
See reviews for
677
611
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff definitely makes this resort one of my absolutely favorite - I'd say that 95% of the people that we encountered were helpful, courteous, really friendly, and generally had just the right amount of attentiveness. The resort itself is beautiful, although the foliage sometimes looks a little overgrown - but it lends itself to a tropical escape sort of feel, so it works. Great happy hours, essentially running from 12 noon-9 pm. My friend and I (2 single girls) always felt safe and well cared-for. Of course the food and drinks aren't the most economical, but the kitchenette inside the vacation club apartments was a great help. The all-you-can-eat breakfast at Girasoles - totally worth it.

2 issues arose: 1) during the timeshare sales pitch, my friend and I were introduced/worked upon by 3 different gentlemen. Each was fine and friendly on his own, but all together the dynamic/relationship seemed rather disparaging of one another - not the most pleasant experience or face of Hacienda del Mar. Nonetheless, as I mentioned, each was friendly, so not truly a detractor to the overall experience. 2) upon check-out, I noticed an erroneous charge on my room bill - someone else had charged their dinner to my room. Since my name (which did not match the name of the signer of this receipt) appears on the bill directly beside the room number, I was rather baffled as to how this happened with no one catching the mistake. The front desk staff checking me out removed the (large) dinner bill from my room with no problem, but that was not quite the way I would have expected my final impression of Hacienda del Mar to take shape. Again, it all was fine in the end, but perhaps the restaurant staff can double check the names associated with room charges in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mimi730:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay. We will be looking into these issues and we apologize for the negative feeling you experienced, I held a meeting with the staff involved in these situations and measures have been taken to avoid this situation happen again in the future, your comments help us to detect and improve the areas that need our attention.
Hope you can give us another opportunity to show how committed we are with our members and guests and what Hacienda del Mar has to offer.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for 7 days and loved every second. Grounds are great, view of ocean great, food great, staff great, water aerobics great, spanish lessions great, bar tending lessions great,,,I guess one might get the idea we had a great time and hope to return someday.
Paul and Nancy

Room Tip: at first we were disapointed about staying in the back. Thought the walk might be far. We learned th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear LuckyP2000:
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay! I have shared your great comments with the staff.

Our Team here looks forward to having you back in the not too distant future!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to Cabo, our third to the Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar and the first time at their Vacation Club. We do love the resort and so much of the staff is simply outstanding!!! At our visit last May, we toured the timeshare option and although were not sold on the idea of a timeshare, were offered a good deal on a "trial purchase" for a two bedroom presidential suite. We decided to take them up on this one time trial and just returned from a 1 week stay.

While we absolutely adore the property, we will definitely not be purchasing a timeshare here at any time but will choose to remain as guests in the hotel. Why? Well when we purchased this trial last year, we were shown one of the brand new models that were fully renovated and included a jacuzzi on the terrace. We were even given a picture if the layout and although we were told that specifics rooms were not guaranteed, we would, however, request and get what we asked for, especially if booked way in advance. This was to be an ocean view 2 bedroom presidential with jacuzzi on the terrace!

So we did indeed book this trip 10 plus months ahead of time and even confirmed what we were getting prior to our arrival. When we arrived last week, however, we were placed in a building that while nice, was not the new rooms with the renovations or terrace jacuzzi. The manager who had assured us of our request a couple of weeks prior was not on the premises and although we were offered the option to move rooms, we were told that we would not be getting the type of room promised and that there were only 3 or 4 on the premises in total. Even with our photo of the layout, the email conversations, etc, we were not provided with what we expected. No one made any additional efforts to make the situation better and clearly, no one cared that we initially had the desire to purchase a timeshare.

As you can imagine, we did not purchase a timeshare and although we did go for the meeting to discuss purchasing, no one seemed to stand by last year's promises, even the salesman from last year who is now one of the managers . Clearly, customer satisfaction is not their priority!!!

Be careful!!!! While so many people are quite happy, we also heard the same story from other guests and many were quite unhappy with the way the vacation club was placing their guests and not hearing them!

Still a fabulous trip to Cabo but next year, the hotel will once again be our first choice!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank robertatravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear robertatravels123:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. I’m very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. We apologize for the negative feeling you experienced during your stay. If you could please send me an email at ctrujillo@haciendadelmar.com.mx so we can check this situation, and explain you about the rooms assignment policies. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused.
We would love for you to give Hacienda del Mar another opportunity during your next visit to Los Cabos.

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I visited for spring break and had a great time! This was our second visit. This is one of the best places in Cabo for families. They have seven pools, many activities, and are very nice to American Tourists.
The only disadvantage is that drinks are expensive, (as much as Hawaii) service is a little slow, and it is a $40 round-trip cab ride to town. But it is worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle-Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
I would like to personally thank you for your comments ,it is a pleasure to hear we achieved our goal of providing the ultimate service and guest experience.
I have shared your wonderful feedback with our entire team, who enjoy what they do on a daily basis to ensure that each guest goes home happy!
We look forward to pampering you on your next getaway to your “home away from home”
Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visit nearly every year and are never disappointed with anything. The hotel is beautiful the staff is great. We always have an exceptional management experience from Rolando Pech.
We would recomend him for employee of the year

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
I would like to personally thank you for your comments ,it is a pleasure to hear we achieved our goal of providing the ultimate service and guest experience.
I have shared your wonderful feedback with our entire team, who enjoy what they do on a daily basis to ensure that each guest goes home happy!
We look forward to pampering you on your next getaway to your “home away from home”
Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I visit this resort and am always impressed of its beautiful maintained outside grounds. The outside crew work hard to keep this up and clean and they should be acknowledged by management for the wonderful job they do. Also, the guys at the bell desk who help the tourists with the shuttle, taxis, etc. do an excellent job. These guys are friendly, helpful, and willing to help. Some of the guys I remember who took the extra mile for me are: Ruben Soque, Sergio, and Angel Hernandez. Please management give appreciation to these super guys. Also, Beatrice at the reservation desk was helpful, knowledgeable, and courteous. And, of course, Ana who took great care in our room. She paid attention to detail and was very helpful and friendly.

For negative areas: the rooms in Bldg #5 need to be upgraded inside. The bathroom tub was old and the shower did not work properly. Water always was outside the tub. Even though we had maintenance come by and fix it, he could only do so much. A new and improved shower head is definitly needed. The refrigerator was old, not level, and leaked water almost every day. I've stayed in bldgs in the back that were new and the inside suites were well maintained. Can't understand why not do the same for the older buildings??? Also, when advertising for a scheduled event (zumba) please start at the designated time, not 10 minutes later. Telling people the length of the class time would be appreciated. And, cost for the internet usage is expensive. Why not have 1 hour free daily for the paying guest. I'm sure this would be a positive incentive?
Only went to one restaurant on sight, Grisoles which was very good. The food and service was tops. Will return to that restaurant again. We visited most restaurants in Cabo San Lucas. Hacienda del Mar has a shuttle which goes there daily and costs $10 per person round trip. Please read my ratings on the restaurants we ate there.

Room Tip: Newer suites in the back are nicer inside. Have been upgraded, etc.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AZretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear ValuAZRetiree:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. I assure you that your comments will be addressed to General Manager in order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
Once again, Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Property: Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing