We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds, Great Beach, Limited amount of Restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2011

RCI came through for us on this resort. We actually were here in May of 2010, but the review box would not let me go back that far. May very well be one of the most overall beautiful places I have ever stayed! The staff was very courteous and friendly from check in to maid service and it was great to have a "secure" safe within our room. The balcony to our room was very large with a great view of the Sea of Cortez. We agreed to do the Timeshare thing and was well worth it, got over $500(USD) worth of stuff in return. 4 paid passes to ziplines at Cabo Adventures(highly recommended) and dinner vouchers for the resort. Would have bought property but our "host" was a jerk and really turned us off when we did not want to drop $30,000!! We played a round of golf at Cabo el Sol (Ocean Course). It was expensive but well worth it.(book with the concierge for an afternoon tee time and can save some cash). Last 3 holes are truly the "Pebble Beach" of mexican golf. Food in the restaurants was great, but could get really expensive, really fast. The beach bar was our favorite and we hopped around the resort all day for the many happy hours they have at different locations throughout the day. We took the shuttle downtown a few times to the marina and to eat and party at Cabo Wabo.(get a taxi right in front of Cabo Wabo if you go, its a bit scary around there late at night). Overall, this is a beautiful resort in a very remote location which might not be for everyone. You will feel safe because security is like Ft. Knox! Food is great but can get pricey so you may want to go to the local markets to get some food to prepare your own meals. I would love to go back some day, perhaps even own property here as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,944 - 1,950 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

What an awesome and amazing place! Trust me, when I read tons of reviews that are all positive...I am extra-specially careful to review things up to the high standard that has been created. This place lives up to it...it really does.

So, in my usual overly-detailed manner...here we go...point by point...:)

The hotel: Hacienda del Mar is situated on a large plot of land in the Cabo del Sol Region of Los Cabos. Situated between the older San Jose del Cabo and the newer Cabo San Lucas, the Hacienda Del Mar is a combo Hotel/Villa property. When traveling from the airport, stay on HWY1 through San Jose Del Cabo, continuing on towards Cabo San Lucas until you reach KM10...literally right after the HM10 sign, exit to the right onto the bridge. Upon crossing the bridge you are in the Cabo Del Sol area to which the Hacienda del Mar resides. Upon entering the Sheraton property veer left for the hotel, and right for the villas. Check-in is smooth and the staff is very nice. The property has many amenities which are co-shared by the villa guests and hotel guests.

Pools: There are many pools (last count = 4) on the property. The main pool in front of the hotel is well stocked with lounge chairs. This pool is a true infinity pool...when sitting at the edge of the pool you truly feel as if you're swimming in the sea/ocean. There are two pools that flank this one...they are all large and beautiful, and they all have wonderful lounge chairs. There is also a pool on the hotel side that is somewhat secluded from the rest of the other pools, which is known as the Delphines pool...this one has a swim-up pool bar. Very nice!

Happy Hours: Starting at 11AM at the main pool, it seems as if there is happy hour at one of the pools all throughout the day. In truth, there are some gaps, but I guess you have to sun and swim at some time. Additionally, there are happy hours at the restaurants from 5-close at the bar. 2 for 1 drinks is the standard.

The Rooms: We traded through SFX from a 2-bedroom villa with Grupo Mayan to a 2-bedroom villa at the Hacienda del Mar. The rooms are beautiful, if not dated a little more than the Grupo Mayan scheme. Obviously, the theme is "Hacienda" so there is an old world feel to the rooms and grounds. If you are an ultra-modern decor fan...this may not be your place! The villas had a master bedroom with a King, as well as a guest bedroom with two queens. The master had a jacuzzi tub, plus walk-in shower, vanity, and separate toilet room. The villa had total three full bathrooms, all with walk-in showers. The Living room had a large, covered veranda with two lounge chairs, and the bedrooms had pergola covered patios. Kitchen was well-appointed with the basics...however, as is typical in Mexico...no dishwasher and no laundry in room. Appliances were fine, however, no pitcher for juice/etc. included in the collection of kitchen gadgets. The air conditioning works well...although ours was noisy in the master bedroom...probably should've called, but didn't. I'm sure they would've taken care of it...we just didn't care that much...it's vacation! The Veranda off the main room is nice, but is not conducive to having dinner or sunning oneself...it is covered and secluded with concrete from the adjoining rooms.

Internet: Ah...the Mexi-net...I still get angry at places that charge me for using the internet. So...yea, they charge for plug in connection in the room and wireless access in some of the public areas. Every room gets 30 mins free per day (which is nice), but then they hit ya for $15-$20 per day for access. The cord is real short in the room, so, if this is something you want...bring a longer ethernet cord. The Wireless access throughout the public spaces at the resort is not free...it ties into the room account. The service was fine...but, again, no matter how much I love a place, paying for the internet is never cool.

Room Cleaning: Weird one here...maid service is available and not optional (?) and costs about 4-5$ a day. I don't know on this one...there were several days that we didn't want maid service (sometimes, I just want to be left alone) and she wanted to clean my room bad...but, we said no. Turns out that we were charged for those days of cleaning...yet, I never remember seeing when/where I agreed to that. It wasn't that much mula, but it was annoying. Inquire about this at the desk upon check-in.

Restaurants: Tons of options here at the Hacienda del Mar, and I didn't try them all out, but...here's some of the most memorable:
Tomates: Located in the hotel, on the deck overlooking the ocean/pool area. Nice restaurant offering B/L/D. Mid-price range for Lunch/Dinner and somewhat high for Breakfast (buffet was $33). Food was great though...just a little pricey.

Girasoles: Located on the villas side...they have a nightly dinner special and serve B/L/D. Everything we had there was good...prices tend to be more moderate than Tomates, but the view isn't as nice and the cuisine is not as developed. They do have a pretty amazing breakfast all-you-can eat special for $16.50. Anything on the breakfast menu is orderable for a flat rate of 16.50...includes unlimited bloody mary's and mimosa's, to which I took them up on the offer and put their unlimitedness to the test. They were, and I was buzzed before 10AM! Service was excellent...we went on the Pozole night...which was good for some local authentic cuisine. However, we were here in July and Girasoles is not designed for air-flow, so it was HOT...plus a hot pozole...it was REALLY HOT! It's all open-air, so take that into account when choosing where to go.

Pool Bar/Beach Bar: Had standard drinks that were available at the bar, in the pool, or on the lounges. Service can be at the bar or lounge-side by the roving wait staff. Didn't have the food, but it looked good. Drinks were great.

Sushi Sports Bar: Weird combo, but the sushi was good. There's a happy-hour here in the evening too...good times. Over-priced sushi (as is the case in most places), but quality was good.

Tequila Bar: Located on the opposite deck from Tomates, by the owner/guest lounge. Great selection of Tequilas and drinks for after dinner/pre-sleep!

Pitahayas: I will review this place as a seperate restaurant, but for the function of this review just know that it is Asian Fusion cuisine at its finest. Beautiful place, beautiful setting, and classy food. This is not a multiple night event, unless you are rolling in the dough. Dinner is expensive, drinks are more expensive, and TOTALLY worth it for one or two nights. To anyone who detracts from this place...they be crazy!

De Cortez: Opposite side of the property from Pitahayas is the De Cortez Steakhouse. Didn't go here and didn't hear anyone really talking about it. There was no buzz about it, but word is that it was a very good restaurant. I just couldn't see myself munching down a big steak in the hot Los Cabos weather...didn't agree with my brain.

THE BEACH: Beautiful beach access with Palapas and lounge chairs that are set up by hotel employees for you. Beach is swimmable in the immediate area around the resort.. Good for swimming, body surfing, surfing, wave-boarding, etc. There was a hurricane off the coast when we were there which really churned the water up for a surfers paradise...but 15-20ft waves would kill me! The water is not Caribbean blue, but bluer than most oceans. Water was warm and the sand was hot...not as fine as cancun, but not rocky at all.

Cabo San Lucas Access: Get out of the resort!!! Drive 10 km south to Cabo San Lucas and either get in with some locals, or go to the quasi-Americanized Marina area where you can stroll around as if your Mexican, but with the comforts of lots of Americans! The Marina has a huge developed area known as Puerto Paraiso which is home to a beautiful mall, and several (like over 20-30) restaurants and shops. You can walk around freely in this safe, lit, and organized space designed for tourists. Every possible cuisine you could think of, and people who want your American money! People are pushy along the way trying to get you into their restaurant, but smile, nod, and keep walking...they're used to it!
I'd recommend using TripAdvisor to get into the back part of town and sample some local cuisine in the non-touristy parts as well. It's a typical Mexican town, so don't be looking for even sidewalks, parking lots, or any of the amenities of the tourist spots. However, prices will be cheaper, people will be nicer, and the experience will be more authentic. We went to three restaurants "Los Tres Gallos" , "Las Mariscadas" and "Desperados" in our quest. The first two offered amazing cuisine and drinks for a fraction of the cost that we spent at the resort or at some of the other places in the tourist traps.
For some reason, we had difficulty finding good, cheap Ceviche, which is a standard in Mazatlan, so we figured the shrimp traffic would be similar in Cabo...not the case. We did find some good ceviche at Las Mariscadas however. We figured sushi would be cheap given the proximity to the ocean, but not the case. Very similar pricing to US cities...kind of a let down.

Also, we like to stock up on some basics for Breakfast/Lunch and snacks to stock in our villa kitchen...there is a super wal-mart and Sams Club on the way into Cabo San Lucas town. Additionally, as you are traveling from the Airport to Cabo San Lucas through San Jose Del Cabo, you will pass a HUGE Soriana's market...you could stop there on the way down. However, we found everything we needed at the Wal-mart (fresh fruit, dips, salsas, etc.).

GYM: The fitness center is a shared resource located off of the spa...it is WELL appointed with some free-weights, machines, and cardio marchines. This was one of the better gyms in resorts that I have been to. Bring your fitness routine with you on vacation and renew the mind/body/spirit!!!

SPA: Didn't use the services, but we went through it every time we went to the gym. Looked nice and clean. Prices were US Resort Spa prices...which was exorbitant. After the sticker shock wore off, we realized there were discount days of 50% off for different services on different days. Inquire at the spa, and/or they'll send you something to your room mid-week. Don't pay full price...it's too much!.

OVERALL: The experience in Cabo was great. I have to say that the pricing structure was similar to vacationing in America, which is fine. But, in Cabo (and I've been to a couple Mexican resort towns), there is no real discernible "mexican discount." When you factor in the exchange rate, I still felt like I was paying US prices. Food, etc. was just as much money. Other than that mental let down, the resort itself was beautiful. We were in Villa 7, on the second floor, and thus had partial ocean-view access. There are plenty of rooms without an ocean view, but I think the experience would be similar. The Hacienda Del Mar was a wonderfully appointed place with great amenities. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Buildings 2,3,4,22,23,24 have full ocean views...5,6,7,26,25 have partial views (request higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bneater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This resort keeps getting better and better!!! The villas are huge, clean and beautiful. Between our group, we had a 1 bedroom, a 2 bedroom, and a luxurious 3 bedroom penthouse (which we have again next year...woo hoo!!) All of the models except the two smallest floorplans have full size refrigerators and decent size kitchens. The units don't have ovens, but there are toaster ovens on the counters that were large enough to cook a large frozen pizza.

The pools were HOT, as opposed to last Nov when we were here they were freezing. It wasn't really refreshing with the 90 degree heat, but what are you going to do??? The pools are gorgeous, and the beach is the hidden gem! Go down the stairs and Amado, the pool/beach concierge will hook you up with a cushioned lounger and your own umbrella. I tipped him $5 a day for this. We had the beach to ourselves the entire week - just like last year. I don't understand why everyone crowds around the pool when the beach and the aqua water are stunning! We'd go up and jump in the pool every now and then and roam down to our lounge chairs and read some more. There are a few vendors on the beach but they don't harass you!

Each room gets 30 minutes of free wireless internet every day so feel free to bring your laptop, otherwise you can hop on at the computer center. The fitness center is large with lots of cardio equipment, great selections of machines and free weights, and a yoga room with step benches, yoga mats, medicine balls, and more weights.

The timeshare people tried to get us to a presentation, but we told them no way and they left us alone the remainder of the week. Happy hour is going one at different pools during different hours during the day but the drinks are expensive, even at 2 for 1. Blenders are in every room so you can make your drinks and bring them in a bubba keg down to the pools. Ice chests aren’t allowed at the pools, but we bought an awesome big insulated bag that looks like a large beach bag and filled it with bottled water and beer and no one suspected a thing!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anejo-y-Coca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My brother owns a time share there and we went on holidays there with them. Being the summer and low season, it did not appear to be fully booked and we had no problem finding chairs around the pool. We ate in the restaurants a few times and the food was great. We chartered a fishing trip and brought back some Tuna which the restaurant prepared for us which was done to perfection. The rooms and facilities are nice.
We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotMustardMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You can't go wrong by going to Cabo San Lucas, and staying at the Hacienda del Mar.

My wife and I have gone to Cabo with friends for nine years, and have stayed in many resorts, but none compare to the Hacienda. The property is a garden paradise, filled with fountains, palms, and pools, all for your relaxation.

There are many restaurants within the resort, all very good; Girasoles is a nice moderately priced restaurant that is located on top of building #11. You can see it from where you check into the Vacation Club area. The Girasoles bar is located one floor below with happy hour from 5:00 to 10:00pm each day ( 2 for 1 ) Great open bar area, with a view. Each day you can find a happy hour from 11:00am on somewhere on the property, just look at the infomation given to you at check in. If you are looking for Fine Dining then Pitahayas is one of the only FIVE DIAMOND Reataurants in Cabo, but remember it's going to be pricey!

Places to eat in town are: Baja Cantina at medano beach for lunch, Its a fun place with a lote of action. Also for lunch could be Mango Deck @ medano beach it's a WILD place.
Mango deck @ the marina is a good place to eat breakfast $4.99 to $6.99 back side of marina. A good Italian Restaurant is La Dolce'; a family of four can eat for what you would pay in the US, $25 to $30 for all. If you are looking for a great mexican atmosphere MiCasa, in downtown, is the place for you, good food and giant margarittas;
two will eat and drink for about $70.

Anything you need just ask the desk at the Hacienda they will be more than happy to help. We love the Hacienda del Mar and always look forward to our two week visit each
May. February temps in Cabo would be day time 80 night time you would need a light jacket. March, April and til mid May day time temps would be 83 to 86 and evening would be 70 to 75. By late May it becomes much warmer 90 to 95. But who cares YOUR IN CABO.

It's a great place to visit and the Hacienda is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADNORTHCAROLINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hacienda del Mar has atmosphere, ambiance, and all around attention to detail. The rooms are beautiful and well equipped. Our view was spectacular, the beds were heavenly, and the service was great. We were very happy in our own little paradise and will return many times to enjoy beautiful Cabo in an even more beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for an ocean view and were given an end room which had a great view and a patio area in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabolover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

They don't tell you anything about add'l spa fee's, maid fee's etc.. til after the fact. Swimming pool was very nice looking, but also very dirty once you got in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JVegas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.2 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
468 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
2 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,492 reviews
5.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos

Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Lote D, Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $238 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing