We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in cabo”

La Taverna GastroBar
Ranked #155 of 578 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Taverna GastroBar on the Cabo San Lucas Marina is rapidly becoming an attraction on the CSL Marina. Open for breakfast (5.99 us specials) and lunch (under 10 us) for 5 years, started serving fine dining at affordable prices on November 2012. Great ambiance, excellent food and warm service are our constant. Give us one of your nights, we´ll make sure you return.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A gem in cabo”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

An outstanding experience!. This was the pirate bar a few years ago then the chef/owner transformed it completely and added dinner. It is quite amazing, especially the superb quality of the meals given its size. We have never been disappointed.The dinners are the jewel but breakfast and lunch are also rock solid. An added advantage is that you will not suffer from "sticker shock". Complementing the culinary experience is the superior and always friendly service. There is also a decent wine list, all bottles are one price. It's on the marina but on the opposite side to the usual collection of less worthy eating establishments. Don't miss it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaeljandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    33
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We took the fish my grandson caught to them and they cooked us a spectacular meal. We had Mahi mahi cooked 3 ways and each one was as good as the other.

After this great meal and service my family asked if we could cancel our reservations at The Office for Thanksgiving. We arrived here early but they were ready for us. Again very good service and we enjoyed lobster and steak cooked perfectly. Drinks were good and the flan was the best I've ever had. They had live entertainment in the form of a guitar player who was also a great singer. We couldn't have had a better dinner anywhere in Cabo!!

Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We discovered this little gem thanks to Tripadvisor! We had a great meal in an outdoor setting with very attentive staff. Their coconut shrimp appetizer was one of the best I've had; grilled shrimp with a sweet and light coconut dipping sauce. We had a late dinner so did not experience any of the noise that others mentioned in their reviews, so we were able to enjoy the beautiful guitar playing. And as an added bonus, they offer a discount for those staying at the Playa Grande/Grand Solmar properties and other close properties.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathtrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn Falls, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great dinner”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had the surf and turf for two. The food came in a timely manner. Everything was cooked perfect. Our waiter Jimbo was attentive and entertaining. We would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
1 review
“WHAT A GREAT FIND!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were staying at the Finnestera just across the street (not impressed), and left the "all inclusive" on a hunt for a memorable dinner. As we walked by, the waiter approached and with a great personality "sold" us on their surf and turf combo. In a word...AWESOME, two lobster tails, shrimp, a perfectly cooked and very tender steak and a cabrilla fillet, along with perfectly cooked fresh vegetables. Somehow saved room for dessert...killer cheesecake.

We met a couple on a sunset cruise a day later, that included dinner, but stopped by and we all had dessert and again enjoyed it.

We proved it wasn't a one shot deal as we repeated it on our last night! You will not go wrong if you give them a shot!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna GastroBar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Taverna GastroBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing