We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Maria Jimenez Restaurante Mexicano
Ranked #13 of 567 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a really nice restaurant with good atmosphere and great food and service. They try really hard to please. They even brought out some complimentary appetizers for us. It's located a little bit out of the way, but well worth the extra effort. Only one thing I would suggest that would have been so nice to go with our food is if they offered beer and wine to drink. Maybe in the future....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    147
    41
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Almost perfect, but...”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The locals were pretty much all in agreement that this was the best authentic Mexican place. And they were spot on. However, this place is dry. So if you want to enjoy a glass of wine or cocktail with your really great meal, you won't be able to.

This place is small, quaint, the service is great and the food is pretty fantastic. Just don't expect a wine list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Maria”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have lived in Cabo for three and a half years, and I have to say this was the best food in Cabo by far. Maria and her staff are excellent. I had sea bass with a cilantro salsa/sauce that was to die for. My husband had a Mexican combo plate that was huge and it was so good, he ate everything on his plate. Our friend had the fajitas and he is Mexican and said it was one of the best he ever had. Thank you Maria, we will be back over and over and over again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MJS5662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very cozy restaurant but over hyped”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had dinner at Maria Jimeniz and enjoyed the food and the service. The restaurant is small and attractive. There are so many excellent restaurants in Cabo. I would certainly rate this establishment in the top 50 but not the top ten. Make sure you have a reservation because of all the hype. Would certainly return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xlagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely Satisfied”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our first trip to Cabo San Lucas so we are by no means qualified to say this restaurant is number 1 or not. What I can tell you is we had a great meal & it was a good value. Yes the place is small, but to us it only added to the charm. Our hotel owner told us ahead of time that it was small and offered to make us a reservation on any night we were interested. We took a taxi & were greeted outside by the restaurant staff! The staff was very attentive, until it was time to check out, but as soon as I asked for the check they brought it right over. The food was excellent and yes, there was a lot of it. We each ordered one of the combination platters so we could try a variety of items. It was more than enough food & we brought the leftovers back for lunch the next day. Maria herself stopped by to make sure we were pleased with our dinners. Before I forget if they offer you "mango water" I suggest you try it! Our bill $49 US for 2 combination platters, 2 waters & 2 mango waters.

Helpful?
Thank Efincoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Jimenez Restaurante Mexicano also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Maria Jimenez Restaurante Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing