We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Mexico is all about!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maria Jimenez Restaurante Mexicano

Maria Jimenez Restaurante Mexicano
Ranked #15 of 545 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What Mexico is all about!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great little places like this....just as cute as can be. Maria has some great art work on display, her service is very good, and the food...just the best!!
We are locals and love to take our friends here when they come to town.

Try the fish of the day..it just melts in your mouth and the flavor is so good!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonita210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    141
    40
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very quaint place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Like eating in someone's living room. Small, space, but very nicely laid out. Chicken quesadillas were the best I ever had, so tasty. Staff very nice and friendly.

A little off the beaten path, but a 5 minute walk from main drag. Try this place out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank egoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great Mexican gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

A little hard to find because of unreadable street signs but well worth it. Enchiladas and arrachera steak were tasty and friendliness of Maria and her daughter made for delightful evening. They do not have alcohol but you can bring your own. And they only have 7 tables. It is where the locals go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chimod19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I like to find cozy, hole in the wall restaurants that serve local flavors and that may not cater to the typical American tourist or Spring Break visitor whenever we visit Mexico. He is originally from Mexico and we both like to find small, locally owned "Mom and Pop" style restaurants that offer friendly service and the kind of traditional Mexican food that he remembers from his childhood. This place was exactly what we wanted!

The Pozole (chicken and hominy soup) was delicious, husband's sope was so tasty and served on freshly made masa, my grilled fish was tender and flavorful and the freshly made lemonade and fruit drinks were refreshing and delicious.

We dined early in the evening before it got busy and the owner was kind enough to hold my baby while I ate! How sweet!

Charming, inexpensive (about $32 USD for 2 people including appetizer) and delicious. Try it!

Five stars for authentic flavor, hospitality and value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank LightninRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
“Best Place in Cabo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was looking for a break from the all inclusive resort food. I read the excellent reviews for this restaurant and I was NOT disappointed! The service, food, and ambiance was great. My wife & I decided to bring our 4 month baby & the owner of the place Maria went out of way to make us feel special including taking care of our son so we could enjoy a romantic date. The guacamole, the tortilla soup, the sope was the best I ever had and to die for. The place does not serve alcohol but their drinks are refreshing. I had a Mango and Pineapple drink and it was SO delicious. If you come to Cabo San Lucas you must definitely visit Maria Jimenez, you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Jimenez Restaurante Mexicano also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Maria Jimenez Restaurante Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing