We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely Will be Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puerto San Lucas

Puerto San Lucas
Reserve with OpenTable
Puerto San Lucas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 553 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Av. Playa Grande
Description: Chic, attractive and modern, Puerto San Lucas is a delicious new dining alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Savor juicy steaks, succulent seafood and authentic Mediterranean dishes. Leave the traditional and old-fashioned behind. Enjoy bistro-style ambiance and definitely European service at a casual Los Cabos restaurant that's anything but ordinary.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely Will be Back”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We to to Cabo and stay at Play Grande yearly for the past 11 years. El Galeon-although a pretty restaurant-was not one of our favorites. The food was just OK. We decided to try Puerto San Lucas out of convenience for location. What a pleasant surprise. The ambience is very pretty. I cannot say enough about the service. Our server was so pleasant and very extremely--some of the best service we have had at restaurants in Cabo.

To our surprise, the food was excellent.
What more could we ask for--convenience/great ambience/good food/great service/reasonable prices.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EKS0577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Puerto San Lucas, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guests from Chicago, Illinois:

Thank you for your nice comments and for having had diner at our Restaurant Puerto San Lucas!.

We are glad that your experience was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all the staff or Puerto San Lucas.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    55
    16
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've been coming to Cabo annually for more than 10 years and were never inspired to return to Galeon - the former restaurant located in this space. After looking at the menu for Puerto San Lucas, we decided to try it - and were extremely pleased on all levels -- from service to food and ambiance. Earlier reviews indicated problems with loud music. That complaint must have been heeded because, if there was music at all ( I honestly don't recall any), it comfortably slipped into the background. Our table of five had choices ranging from salads to pizza to crab cakes to fish dishes to a side of steamed vegetables. Everything was excellent -- including the bread -- and the service was impeccable. We will definitely return on our next trip to Cabo. As an aside - I rarely write tripadvisor reviews (I believe this is my 2nd), but I wanted to take the time to write this review because I do hope this restaurant remains in business.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbbsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Puerto San Lucas, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guests from Shaker Heights, Ohio:

We thank you very much for your comment ““Highly recommended”
We are glad to know that you had a great time and that you enjoyed your dinner at our new restaurant Puerto San Lucas!
We are all very happy and proud to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited Puerto San Lucas midway through our trip. First, address some earlier comments, the music is a bit loud, but the style of music is fitting to the atmosphere. On to our visit. . . From the start, the service was impecable. Our server, Diana, was excellent. We ordered an oyster bisque, a special, which was phenomenal. The calamari was good, but not excellent, and the crab & shrimp cakes were ok. For dinner we had the Red Snapper, grilled, and just ok, and the double cut pork chop, fabulous! We had excellent cocktail and wine pairings with dinner, so all in all, it was a 4 out of 5 star experience. We decided to go back again, later in our trip. We found out later, that although we had booked through our all inclusive resort, they did not have our credit card information on file. So while our earlier meal was paid for by the resort, our tip, was not. For our second trip, we had the same server, Diana. She recognized us, and greeted us warmly. Treated us again, like royalty. We had the Capresse salad, very good, and the steamed mussels, also good. For dinner we had filet mignon and lobster. All was absolutely wonderful, perfectly cooked. For dessert we had a good creme brulee, and mexican coffee, definitely worth the show, and the flavor. When we hesitated to order the coffee, as it was late, Diana suggested we order decaf. So glad we did! So once again, we paid with the resort credit and left. Poor Diana had to chase us down outside. The lobster wasn't included in the all-inclusive, as we were aware, but he had to tell us that the credit card wasn't on file. Come to find out, our tip from the night before had not gone through! And she still treated us wonderfully. Needless to say, we were embarrassed, but so impressed, and Diana got her tip! So if you are in Cabo, try this restaurant, and ask for Diana!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truthfultravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Puerto San Lucas, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests from Washington:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Treated like royalty”
We are glad that your dinner experience at Puerto San Lucas Restaurant was very pleasant.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff and especially with your waitress Diana.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
“The Best Dinner in Los Cabos”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Amazing service, lovely amenity for our anniversary
Thank you very much Jorge, Isidoro, Blanca and Alvaro, you make unforgetable this special date

please say thank you very much for the chef

we will definitely return next year

Lora and Michael Schdsmith

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Puerto San Lucas, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guests from San Miguel de Allende, Mexico:

Thank you for your nice comments and for having dinner at our new Restaurant Puerto San Lucas.

We are glad that your dinner experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with our staff including the Chef of Puerto San Lucas.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loud, Loud, Loud”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Unfortunately - and to be fair - this is a remake of the Old Galeon (a special favorite) that we couldn't get out of fast enough.
The interior is similar - it is an indoor restaurant with all solid tile and a lovely violinist who has turned a simply lovely instrument into a torture machine. It is electrified - and by the time we finally managed to get our meals (had to ask twice for water, twice for drinks, twice for bread) we literally could not talk over the shrieking bouncing off the floors/walls from what could have been lovely music.
We noticed many others having the same issues - several requested the music be turned down - it was for one song.
Our bill required a Manager our server was very nice but had no idea what he was doing. (Again this place is new)
Everyone has to literally SCREAM to talk to someone the music is so loud. By the time we left (as quickly as possible), I had a headache and a sore throat ... it took 3 hours for my ears to stop ringing.
The restaurant badly needs soundproofing. We were not the only people who were having difficulty with this restaurant's "ambiance".
The food was dry (pasta) - and just "so so". The lobster was excellent. The server was inexperienced but did try. He would smile and take our request and then totally vanish.
This restaurant is associated with the Playa Grande and the Grand Solmar. I know they still are in training mode, but this place just is not that great. We were very disappointed. Solmar Hotels and Resorts must fix this. It simply is not representative of their quality.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Puerto San Lucas, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guests from Cabo San Lucas, Mexico:

The comments you have made describing the experience you have encountered during your stay at Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa, came to my attention. Please accept my apologies.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, we need to know when problems occur so the appropriate action can be taken.

Concerning your comments with the loud music we took the decision to cancel this type of music to avoid any kind of complains of this kind. I also held a meeting with our Restaurant Chef, Captain in charge of the restaurant and waiters involved with the service and the quality of the food to fix this situation.

We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate that your past experience with Playa Grande is not characteristic of our performance, but an unpleasant exception.

As an attempt to regain your trust, we would like to ask you to please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to pamper you as intended.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto San Lucas also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Puerto San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing