We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Maca Restaurant - CLOSED

Maca Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great pricing. Great service. Great food. I highly recommend this place. Went there with my family and we had a lovely time. Definitely will come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    13
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food. Eager staff. Confusing menu and ordering.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Maca does not have a menu, simply a chalkboard of fresh specials including tapas, appetizers, entrees and desserts. However the names were Spanish or confusing with no descriptions, the waiter kindly explained the menu, but it left us confused on what to order or how it was prepared, we just trusted a couple of the waiter's recommendations, but never really understood what we ordered. Example: he recommended a beef tapa. It was excellent sliced beef, but no mention it was topped with blue cheese, I would have liked to have read that on a menu as I may not have ordered it. Anyway nice restaurant, good food, but didn't click with us. Not recommending.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank VivaCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easily the Best Meal of our Trip”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family enjoys fine dining and were attracted to Maca by other TripAdvisor reviews. We walked in and immediately worried that there was only one other table seated. Throwing caution to the wind we took our seats and were treated to a wonderful experience. My wife and two teenage boys shared everything we ordered. Tapas, appetizers, gazpacho and two entrees. Not only was verity item delicious, each presentation was beautiful. We had dined at Hacienda Cocina earlier in the week and while it was good, Maca was markedly better at a similar price point. We also enjoyed dinners at Alexander's and Poncho's while in Cabo. The service was excellent and we had an opportunity to speak with both the chef and the owner at the conclusion of the meal. We will definitely return the next time we are in Cabo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHHooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos E, Propietario at Maca Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, it was a real pleasure to serve you and your family, hope to see you soon.

My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“New Spanish Resturant”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place has only been open 9 months, it's one block before Ponchos. We decided to try it because the menu looked interesting. It is on a blackboard and changes daily. We were four adults and two 12-year old girls, one who is a vegatarian. With drinks and tip it was about $35 per person. The food and service was very good. It was like fine dinning. We got there a 7pm and there was only one other table in use. By the time we left it had begun to fill up. If you want something different in Cabo this is the place to try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos E, Propietario at Maca Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, part of our concept is to be a fine dining restaurant, with the best product quality and freshness without being an expensive restaurant.

My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and quality food and beverages”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We began with cocktails from the fairly well-stocked bar while perusing the chalkboard menu in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Our waiter, Luis, provided wonderful descriptions of several items, answering our questions and providing wine recommendations. House-provided artisian breads with garlic aoili and tomato began to prepare our taste buds for what was to come. We shared tapas, of course, selecting the Serrano Croquettes and Duck Tapas. Both were mouth-watering and provided a tasty variety in preparation for the main course, Paella Valencia. The combination of pork, chicken, and shell fish was superb. We saved room to share the Crema Catalan and Leche Fritta, a unique, and complex, flan-like dish with a taste and texture somewhat like bread pudding. All in all, the meal was delightful, dishes were artfully presented and the staff, Luis, Vladimir and Fernando, were extraordinarily attentive.
2 Guyz and a Doll

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacpal3amigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos E, Propietario at Maca Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, and we hope to serve you again soon.

My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maca Restaurant also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing