We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner”
Review of Maca Restaurant - CLOSED

Maca Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stumbled onto them by accident after dinner one night just walking around town. We went back for dinner and were treated like royality! We had the special and a good bottle of wine (we never drink wine in Cabo), we were happily surprised. We will return again

Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos E, Propietario at Maca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, for us every comment we can make helps us to grow and improve every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 124 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went early so not busy at all but did start to fill when we left at 19:30. Really an outstanding restaurant with respect to service, food, presentation, and decor. I would have given it 5 stars if not for some confusion about sharing Tapas: waiter hedged on if they were large enough to share. The proportions were more than enough. Of course, the language differences may have added to a misunderstanding. Will go back in a flash, especially with some of our foodie friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lanch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos E, Propietario at Maca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, and we apologize for the confusion with the tapas, we will work more with our staff on the English language, and I hope the next time we can make a five star service for you and your guest.

My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The place was woefully empty when we went, which had us very nervous at first. But, being the only table in the place ensured that we had excellent service. Every waiter and even the owner tended to our every need.

But that is only a fraction of why the score is so high. The décor is also beautifully and thoughtfully done. Tasteful, clean, contemporary meets rustic. The wood doors alone are worth mention. So are the bathrooms. Every detail was thought through on this place. Which only made it even more upsetting that they were empty.

So now you have to be thinking, “okay, so the food had to suck.” But that’s what’s so crazy. It was EXCELLENTE! The Tapas was fantastic. From the shrimp to the octopus to the Manchego and Serrano Ham.

And as for entrees, the duck with cranberry relish was phenomenal. The only miss of the night was the paella. Very bland.

Even both desserts were perfection. One was a chocolate mousse. The other was a cinnamon dusted cream tart-like thing with ice cream. Not sure exactly what it was, but I devoured it before ever learning to pronounce it.

I HIGHLY recommend this place. My favorite meal in Mexico. Please give them business, as it would be a crime for this place to disappear with so many other lack luster places in town, that are packed with tourists eating the same old Mexican slop that you find at 98% of the places there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheYowlingYelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos E, Propietario at Maca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, and help us on this important media to grow and improve every day.

My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a new restaurant in town and they are really trying to make a mark. We had the pallenta and wine special and it was quite good. The staff, however, made the meal. They were very attentive to our party and made us feel special. They have not been discovered yet, so it is not crowded. Go now before everyone else figures out how good they are. You will be pleased.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teknapp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos E, Propietario at Maca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

thank you very much for the time to write this review, as you said we are a restaurant looking for the highest quality in everything, and to serve our guests as they deserve is our number one priority.
Maca hope to see you soon!

My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the nicest restaurant in Cabo and would be a hit in any town. The service is excellent. We had several of the wait staff taking care of us at the same time. I had the filet and my wife had the paella. Both were prepared perfectly. We ordered their margarita and were glad we did. 60/40 tequila and lime juice. Two spoons of mango purée. A dash of grenadine and mineral water. Salty and spicy rim of the glass. They go down easy and are delicious. Ther wine selection is good to. Best service anywhere, from the moment we walked in until we were out the door. Will definitely go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kluhbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos E, Propietario at Maca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

It was a pleasure to know you and your wife, thank you very much for the time to write this review.
Maca is waiting with pleasure to serve you again.

My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maca Restaurant also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing