We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finisterra, What the Heck?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Finisterra, What the Heck?!”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

My husband & I have stayed at the Finisterra at least 15 times over the last several years and have obviously been very pleased with our experiences . . . until this year. It was the first time we brought our son and were frankly embarrassed at the condition in which we found the hotel.
First for the room: The shampoo this year was like dishwashing liquid and there was no conditioner. They no longer offer kleenex, and the shower head was like a water pik. Due to excessive calcification there was so little water coming out at such high pressure that it stung the skin. The towels were raggedy, grey with stains, and threadbare, it was likely they are being laundered with the colored towels from the pool area. The maid service was sporadic and incomplete. I washed all the dishes myself so I knew they were clean (with the "shampoo" coming in handy), but when we left the coffee maker in the bathroom, there it remained, still half full of grounds and coffee later that day. In addition, something was always forgotten: new soap, refilled toilet paper holders, etc. It was so bad that I had to go in search of TWO rolls of toilet paper when we were completely out one morning! They've recently installed a silly energy-saving feature that requires you keep your room key in a receptacle to keep the power on. The only problem is that without the key card in the device, you cannot power the clock or the fridge. Impractical, no? And the maid had a habit of removing it. It was always fun to come back to your warm food and drinks inside the fridge, and a clock blinking 12:00.
The facility: people's room service trays were left out all day, their napkins blowing in the wind, the scraps to be eaten by the resident cats. As written by others on this site, for most of the week not one ice machine was operating, and we had to ask for ice daily at the lobby. How lame is that?! They have also shut down the business center, so if you don't have a laptop to check emails, you are out of luck. There never HAS been an exercise room to speak of -- it's just an unused hotel room with a few rusty circa-1980 exercise machines. The Blue Marlin restaurant has been shuttered, although the Whale Watcher Bar is still in operation.
The Pool:This hallmark of the Finisterra was the biggest disappointment of all. Many of the lounge chairs are broken and most have faded and threadbare cushions. The pools have not been scrubbed and sport a greenish cast from thriving algae. The pool deck had not been power washed in many months and was grey, with cracks and tiles that have gone un-repaired. Painted surfaces had peeling paint. Although to be fair, we did see workers on our last two days begin to scrape the paint in preparation for repainting. As with room service, food plates sat around in the sun for hours attracting flies and birds. The hot tubs that surround the pools have been shut off, meaning no bubbles (filtering/cleaning process) or heat. There was one that was turned on intermittently. The water in this bacteria cauldron was about 107 degrees, and so murky with milky bubbles on the surface that it looked like someone had spilled a pina colada in it. The women's bathroom always had the lights off, and only one soap dispenser and towel dispenser were in service. The faucets spun and wiggled in their holes.
For the most part, the grounds looked well tended; the employees were always courteous and helpful.
For many decades the Finisterra has been a grand old hotel with a beautiful view on a gorgeous and vacant beach. The property was well known for the best pool area around. It is beyond sad to see the owners cutting corners and short changing its guests, while slowly fading into oblivion. This hotel was tops for years and I know it has long since paid for itself. I find it hard to believe the state that the hotel is now in is due to anything other than the greed of it's ownership.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank meegaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    891
    256
    113
    89
See reviews for
582
1,267
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

First I was very worried for so many negative reviews, it all depends on what you expect for what you are paying and the location is awesome if you dont want to spend a lot on taxis. You can walk to everything. If you have a choice - stay in the "newer (12 yrs old) section called the Palypa Beach section. We were in 418. Ocean front, it was huge. 2 bath, 2 balcony ocean front w partial kitchen. We had nice towels too. I am not sure if this was because we were "RCI" timeshare or not. I know I had gone in another room down the hall 423 and they had old, greyish towels the people complained about. We never had these though, and room very clean, A/C was fine too, no problems w room at all, it was great..... Food at pool bar and staff, very good, Timeshare salesgirl downstairs was too aggressive for my taste/ Just be firm. They offer u tons of freebies and massage if you want to do 90 min presntation. I am not interested while im on vacation but she kept calling our room! That was my only complaint. Also it did not bother us but there are 3 pools and 3 jacuzzis. They only heat the middle pool and middle jacuzzi, but this place is not over crowded so - we always had poolside seats- plenty to go around. Private beach also, not vendors like on Medano. Medano is good for breakfast at the "Office"- take a boat for $4 each over there or you can walk about 20 mins. Go to Lover beach for seclusion and no vendors. Ediths for dinner was awesome, a little pricy..Mi Casa was great and although food good at Solomons landing, vendors came in. Overall- this was a great location, quiet and ocean front huge suite for the price-

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank amykins0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

There was only one thing about the hotel that I would recommend and thatwould be the location as its close to restaurants, night life and the marina- but the hotel itself is a dump. I felt like I was staying at the Bates Motel. This was our annual girls trip and though we love Cabo we absolutely hated the Finisterra. The price of the room wasn't that cheap. We wound up spending over $1500 for 7 nights so I expected something decent, or at the least, clean. The occupancy was maybe at 20% and this was over New Years which was kind of creepy as no one was at the pool. Speaking of the pool, there were three hot tubs and 2 weren't working. The water in the pool was green and the beach chairs were ALL broken. The towels were sand paper and probably 20 years old. Let's move on up to the room, shall we? The bath towels were thin and gross, there was cigarette stains on my blanket. The worst part was the bathroom. After each shower, there was a full on flood in the bathroom. I had to wear flip flops in the hotel room because my feet would get dirty otherwise. Additionally I wore flip flops in the shower b/c the tub was brown. The light bulbs always blew out. It was just a night mare. I would recommend this hotel for college spring breakers that have no money and are drunk the entire time. It was disgusting. Honestly disgusting. The beds were so old and gross that they had metal polls sticking in your back...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hillsyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

My husband and myself stayed at the Finesterra recently, after having read several reviews I was worried.!! We were very pleasantly surprised, we upgraded to an ocean view room on the 6th floor which was of a substantial size. Ok the towels were a little old and not much in the mini bar, but we were staying in a very good value for money three star hotel, we did not expect five star treatment. All the hotel staff were very helpful and we cannot fault them, the pool staff were very attentive, the pools were cold but if you wanted to swim you could bear it, the margaretas during happy hour took the edge off the coldness!!. The hotel is situated in a very convenient place, we ate at the hotel sometimes and found the food to be good,, but because of the situation of the hotel most of the time we walked the few minutes to the marina and ate at Solomons Landing, very good food and excellant value for money. Concierge were very helpful with helping us to find a suitable whale trip and booking other trips for us, and ringing up the airline to help us find our case that went missing. On the whole I can truthfully say, we were very happy with our stay and were glad we had not paid out a lot more money to stay in five star accommodation. The hotel was only 35% full, but we did not notice any cut back on staff, everyone was very attentive. Would we go back to the Finesterra, without a doubt we would!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melrose5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I just had to cut my son's trip short and bring him home early. The hotel is infested with Cockroaches!!! My son was bitten by one and we had to fight with the hotel manegnent to get a doctor to see him.
Room fridge was empty in one room, locked in the second! towels were thin as paper and rough as nail files. they advertise a spa and Massage but this service is not offered!
If you want to have a good time DO NOT stay at the Finisterra!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galinadolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Booked 5 nights here from 11/30 to 12/5/10. Gym not open, restaurant not open, business center closed, towels about 12 years old. Nothing but two waters, 1 Coke and 1 beer in mini-frig. No hair dryer, no table or desk in room. Clean and friendly staff but it appears this hotel is struggling to stay open. Find another place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snewman801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We chose the Finisterra for our wedding because we had been there several times before and had always enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this is not it, but either is the price. This is the perfect hotel and location for any beach wedding. We had 90 people come from the states to join us there and I can say for a fact that every person had a spectacular time. From the welcome party, to the ceremony and reception, and the adios breakfast, everything went without a hitch. Sandra Marquez was our wedding coordinator and she was unbelievable- from the time we arrived until we left, she was always accessible, and in constant communication with us and our vendors. The hotel staff were gracious and very friendly. Rooms are outdated but clean-i am not sure why the previous reviewers were so negative. We have stayed here at least 5 times and rooms have always been clean. We were upgraded to the honeymoon (whale watcher suite) which was perfect to entertain our guests throughout the week. The food was more than adequate and the cake was beautiful-we gave them a pic of a cake we liked and they matched it exactly, The activities desk was very helpful as well, they helped us organize a sunset cruise for all of our guests as well as a snorkel cruise. The vendors that the hotel recommended were everything we hoped for and I wouldnt be surprised if I found our wedding on the cover of a bridal magazine-it was stunning. Many of our guests have said that it was the best wedding they have ever been to and we would agree.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McBerninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,011 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,540 reviews
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
548 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing