We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect wedding in Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect wedding in Cabo”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We chose the Finisterra for our wedding because we had been there several times before and had always enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this is not it, but either is the price. This is the perfect hotel and location for any beach wedding. We had 90 people come from the states to join us there and I can say for a fact that every person had a spectacular time. From the welcome party, to the ceremony and reception, and the adios breakfast, everything went without a hitch. Sandra Marquez was our wedding coordinator and she was unbelievable- from the time we arrived until we left, she was always accessible, and in constant communication with us and our vendors. The hotel staff were gracious and very friendly. Rooms are outdated but clean-i am not sure why the previous reviewers were so negative. We have stayed here at least 5 times and rooms have always been clean. We were upgraded to the honeymoon (whale watcher suite) which was perfect to entertain our guests throughout the week. The food was more than adequate and the cake was beautiful-we gave them a pic of a cake we liked and they matched it exactly, The activities desk was very helpful as well, they helped us organize a sunset cruise for all of our guests as well as a snorkel cruise. The vendors that the hotel recommended were everything we hoped for and I wouldnt be surprised if I found our wedding on the cover of a bridal magazine-it was stunning. Many of our guests have said that it was the best wedding they have ever been to and we would agree.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McBerninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    900
    258
    113
    90
See reviews for
590
1,290
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We have been staying at the Finisterra every year, sometimes more than once a year, since the late 80's. Lots of changes since then. Two new mega resorts built on either side of the resort limiting it's once grand view to a "pie slice" of what it used to be. They have obviously made a management decision to limit the amount of money that they use to to keep the place up. The towels in the room are threadbare, almost all of the ice machines are out of order, the pools are not heated and several of the hot tubs are cold tubs. About one out of every 4 hot tubs have warm/hot water.
However, the people at the Finisterra are still great. The bellboys have been there for decades and remember you when you return. The pool service is still very good and room service was so fast, we weren't ready for them yet. We love the location and the ability to walk into town to get dinner at some of our favorite restaurants. We have another timeshare at PB Sunset Beach and the resort quality difference is significant, yet the people at Finisterra make the experience. All in all, if you can overlook some of the aging issues at the Finisterra, then a good time can still be had. Not what it used to be, but then neither are we.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I've been to around times. This was my second and probably last stay at this resort. Hotel staff was pleasant enough so the issues belong to the owners/mgt. Even though the resort was pretty empty, I was assigned. Unit in the old section, building D. Room was spacious. Pools are beautiful Hammocks on the beach are great. These are the positives. Unfortunatly the negatives list is longer. Front desk gave me keys that didn't work upon check in. Waited for a half hour on in front of my door while bellman worked with front desk to get keys. Room had ants, fridge didn't work, screen on balconey was missing. There was no klennex in the dispenser, no blow dryer, hair conditioner, paper towels or coffee filters...all things I've come to expect at timeshare resorts in Cabo. Maintenance came with raid for the ants, worked on the fridge but had to replace the 2nd day as it still wasn't working. The AC was very loud and had to turn it off to sleep. They did provide a blowdryer but no paper products even though the consierge desk said such would be delivered. Towels were scarce, old, thin, rough and grey (white maybe 5 yrs ago). Bedding was old and musty. Screen on patio installed near end of my visit...but it was a broken one. This is all so sad. This resort has one of the best locations in Cabo and has "good bones". A relatively small investment in thorough and regular cleaning, unit maintenance, linens and minor simple things a kleenex would go along way towards improving the guest experience and satisfaction. The owners of this landmark property on beautiful Solmar beach could, with some relatively smalls investment and TLC, make the Finesterra a premier destination worthy of it's location and history.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BacktoCaboagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We got a great deal on an enormous room - and were some of the very few guests at the hotel over a long weekend. Perhaps this is why I found this place quiet, tidy, and a great value. Walking distance from the craziness of the town, but with all the quiest pacific side setting.

The places going in up and down the beach look like very upscale resorts, and this place has the same beach access (and probably cheaper drinks at the bar). The pools were expansive, plenty of hot tubs (it was breezy while we were there), and the staff was VERY helpful in contacting the airline and working with them on delivery when my luggage was lost for 1.5 days of a 3 day trip.

We went to Cabo for a wedding. Although we like to get out of the trouist desitnations and into more remote areas, if we ever found ourself needing to stay in or near Caboagain, we would look at Hotel Finisterra again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanandAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I just got back from Cabo. This was my 5th time coming to this part in Mexico. I have always stayed at the Melia in the past. Well, we had to change rooms twice. The floors of all of our rooms were dirty. Our feet turned black from only being in the room for 20 minutes. We showed the front desk our feet and they had no comment. The lobby was filthy. I don't think It has been cleaned in 5 years! Only one elevator was working out of three and I think the one that actually worked was only on a part time basis. Room service did not always answer the phone so forget about getting coffee in the morning, there is no coffee shop and the pool bar and restuarant does not serve coffee. Which brings me to the pool menu, they only had half of what was on it. The shops in the hotel were closed Sat. and Sunday so forget about getting bottled water at this hotel, room service probably won't answer the phone so you have to go walking into town for water. The pools were freezing cold, one pool was green and growing algae. The towels were so old you could see through them. I also believe this hotel does not believe in toilet paper, we had to aske twice because they would not replenish the room with it as well as the see through towels. The air conditioner sounded like an air plane taking off but, perhaps this was a good thing or else you would hear the conversation in th room next door. Their were also mattresses on the balconys of the hotel rooms??? This is a real nice view to look at while trying to get a tan! Last but, not least we were suppose to get a $50 room credit towards the room bill. Well of course the front desk acted like they had no idea what we were talking about. It's all over their web site $50 room credit when you book July - November 2010 which we booked in July. The front desk was extremely rude but, you know what maybe they can take that $50 and go to Walmart to buy some towels for the hotel!!!! One last comment the lady at the front desk is terribly rude and gave us all dirty looks from the moment we arrived but, what do you expect from a dirty hotel! I would never ever stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel two other times before our visit this November and it was really nice. This time we went with friends and we were all very disappointed. The pools were too cold to swim in, the floor was so dirty our feet turned black within one minute of taking our socks off, the air conditioner sounded like an airplane was taking off, they only put two towels in your room and they were very thin and old; we had to call for toilet paper two or three times; the sheets were old and thin; out of three elevators, only one worked, but barely; some of the staff was rude and at the end of the trip each room was to receive a $50 credit, which the man refused to give any of us, even though when the trip was booked it said on line and we were told by our travel agent about the $50 credit. So in the end, we ended up paying our total bill since they refused to give us our $50 credit! When we checked in another person was questioning why they were not given their $50 credit, All in all, our experience at this hotel was horrible. Cabo was great, except for this hotel. I would definitely not recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sum1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I wasn't expecting much from this hotel.

The beds were hard and so were the pillows. They could also use new bedding. The sheets were also hard and stiff as well as the towels.

The swimming pools were clean, although the water looked green but it was due to the color of the plastering. The water was clean but chili. They either don't have pool heaters or were turned off. The drinks at the pool bar area are sooo watered down it's unbelievable. It's like drinking cool aid. I ordered several different drinks because I thought maybe other drinks would actually taste better. That wasn't the case. They don't even crush the mint in the Mojitos. They have a happy hour, two-for-one on well drinks but you'd be better off getting beer. There was only one server taking care of our area. They have three swimming pools. And he took a while to come around. Twice I had to get up and pay my bill at the bar because I got tired of waiting.

Room service was good. no complaint there. The front desk was always helpful getting us a taxi cab and answering questions we had.

Overall, the okay was okay. It's close to downtown which is convenient. Walking distance from small bars and restaurants around the marina.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artalfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
842 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,238 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing