We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tesoro Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabo Pedregal Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viva Cabo Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Siesta Suites(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,175)
Filter reviews
3,175 results
Traveler rating
1,688
977
293
122
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,688
977
293
122
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegocupcake cafecupcakeswhale watcher bartortuga beachwhite partyagave restaurantvip poolstones clubroyal elite membersfinisterra suiteswim up barmiddle poolocean viewtime shareentertainment teammichael jackson show
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,663 - 2,668 of 3,175 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I, both baby boomers, loved our four-night stay
at the Finesterra in May. From our third-story balcony, we had beautiful views of greenery, three pools, and the Pacific Ocean. The crashing waves lulled us to sleep at night. Viewing stars and constellations was wonderful, either from the room or walks during late night.

Party-types may have found it too quiet, but we loved the atmosphere, a good mixture of all age groups.and characters.
Hotel staff was congenial and prompt when asked for assistance. Our room was kept spotless day after day.

Some construction was going on, which was annoying, but we left every day to explore the area, golf, or lounge on beaches across the harbor.

We would ask Finesterra come up with softer matteress or load up on spongy mattress pads.

Walking downtown is easy (you do walk down-hill for a few blocks) so wear comfortable shoes and maybe a sweater; nights can be cool.. Driving or shuttles are an option. We had a rental car, which is a necessity if you want to see anything besides downtown Cabo.

If you're not into time-shares, avoid the "free gift" welcome package.

Whale Watcher bar is beautiful, comfortable, and reasonably priced. A good place to entertain friends.

We only ate breakfast at the Finesterra, and it was delicious.. Too many places to visit during the day and night.

We would consider re-visiting the hotel, but the hard beds have to go.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Hollloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

J & MF from Southern California;
The "Finnie" is a solid 4 1/2 stars. We have been going to the Finisterra for the last 12 years and always enjoy it. We especially
enjoy the 3 pools and Palapa - our favorite pasttime there is to relax at the pools. The food at the pool is very good.
The service at the pool is good, and while it takes a while sometimes to get the food, the time is in line with other places in Cabo and Mexico in general. The hotel restaurant, The Blue Marlin is also good, particularly their grill night. The location is great - it is away from the noise and bustle of downtown, there are no peddlers on the beach, but you are close enough to downtown to walk to it. The Hotel is on the Pacific side, so the
undertow at the beach is treacherous and the beach unswimable. We find the hotel staff friendly and helpful, and the
timeshare office particularly accommodating. The rooms are clean, and while not luxurious, well appointed. Cabo itself is our favorite resort area in Mexico. We have many favorite restaurants there.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bothlovecabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We have been guests at the lovely Finisterra Hotel in Cabo San Lucas, Mx for twelve years now and own two timeshares. One week in the old section and one week in the newer section. It is in the older section where the cats reside. They live in and around the beautiful landscaping on the property. Perhaps some people are intimidated or maybe uncomfortable with the cats however that is NOT our experience. In fact they do lend a rather pleasant ambience to the hotel. They keep to themselves at all times. In fact when you open your door or just returning there is an element of suprise when you encounter the very few cats that are there. All in all we welcome them and look for them each visit back to the Finisterra Hotel.

Well satisfied guests,
Jack & Elle Skyles

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Hotel Finisterra has long been a favorite of ours. They are an old hotel, somewhat old style also. We have never had anything but the absolute best service from any of the staff. They have ferel cats there that seem quite protected, and I have never seen one mistreated, in fact I have seen food left for them. I read one person saying they were frail and sick, this is not true, skinny maybe, but then the dogs there are also, never saw a fat cat in Mexico.
For those who want a swim beach this isn't the place, but if you want a lovely walk, without thousands and no vendors, what a wonderful beach. Watch an awesome sunset, walk to town for entertainment, come back to a quiet hotel with good security. I feel that this is a second home to me and mine.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ginny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We just got back from Cabo and WOW what a trip. We spent our 35th Anniversary 17-21 Aug 2007 at the Finisterra and we're very pleased. Can't understand how anyone could say anything bad about this place. The room in the Palapla Beach section was awesome. The bed was perfect, not to hard or soft. The staff was always helpful and freindly. And the pool area was fantantic. Someone told me there were three pools but I can just barely remember the one in the middle. Only con to the whole trip was the tequila sickness we caught a couple times. Had a great meal the first night at the Blue Marlin, steak and Sea Bass prepared just perfect and breakfast was also very good. Super view from the whale watchers bar. There is construction next door and on the 6th and 7th floor but we didn't notice it at all. If they were still selling timeshares we would have bought. As it is we'll just try to exchange our timeshares for a spot at the Finisterra. We bought at the Playa Grande just so we can sneak over to the Finisterra pool during happy hour. Everything was perfect, Thanks Finisterra Staff, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank davealvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews