We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Cabo San Lucas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I wasn't expecting much from this hotel.

The beds were hard and so were the pillows. They could also use new bedding. The sheets were also hard and stiff as well as the towels.

The swimming pools were clean, although the water looked green but it was due to the color of the plastering. The water was clean but chili. They either don't have pool heaters or were turned off. The drinks at the pool bar area are sooo watered down it's unbelievable. It's like drinking cool aid. I ordered several different drinks because I thought maybe other drinks would actually taste better. That wasn't the case. They don't even crush the mint in the Mojitos. They have a happy hour, two-for-one on well drinks but you'd be better off getting beer. There was only one server taking care of our area. They have three swimming pools. And he took a while to come around. Twice I had to get up and pay my bill at the bar because I got tired of waiting.

Room service was good. no complaint there. The front desk was always helpful getting us a taxi cab and answering questions we had.

Overall, the okay was okay. It's close to downtown which is convenient. Walking distance from small bars and restaurants around the marina.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artalfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,333 - 2,339 of 2,936 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

This was the second time that I have been to the Finisterra. The first was about 5 years ago. The hotel was no more than 25% occupied during the week of August 16th. The hotel location is fantastic. You can walk to the marina and Cabo without having to take a taxi. The service was great. The hotel does need to undergo a renovation but the rooms are big and comfortable. The pools were very relaxing and the service by the waiters was perfect. It might of been so because of the lack of people staying during our visit. We walked to Lover's beach from the hotel which took us about 45 minutes. You do have to climb over some large rocks and a small canyon to get there. That was quite an experience. Be sure you are in shape and take plenty of water. It turned out to be fun and worth it. This hotel is no frills but is comfortable and reasonably priced. The location on a very secluded beach and close to the marina and Cabo cannot be beat! Our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addisonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Though I came home with the worst food poisoning from the fish fingers at the hotel, we had one of the best vacations EVER! The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Never saw any bugs and didn't feel the need to clean the room when we arrived. (I always travel with bleach cleaner!) All the food we had while in Cabo was delish! Go next doo to the Playa Grande for breakfast...you won't regret it!

PROS:
staff
POOL !!!
Food
location

CONS:
Staff at swim-up bar is "so-so"
Going to beaches like Madono is fun but annoying with all the locals trying to sell stuff
E-coli (for real)- on day 3 of recovery!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaydensmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This was our 4th trip to Cabo, and our second stay at the Finisterra. Everyone at the hotel was helpful, charming, and gracious. Our room was kept very clean. Playa Solmar, the beach where this hotel is located, is not for swimming, rough surf, riptides. We knew that. We like it because there are very few people on the beach, and no one selling trinkets. Watching the waves crash on the beach is lovely. Wading in the ocean there is fine. The hotel has three large pools, in which to float, cool off, or get a drink at the swim up bar. Food was excellent. Water is drinkable. You can walk to the end of the beach and climb over the boulders to get to Lover's Beach to swim, but it is not an easy climb. The hotel has a free shuttle to take you to the main road, or to take you up the hill to teh hotel if you have been in town. The walk to town is quite easy. You can cut thru the marina to get to dozens of restaurants and shops, the mall, and the town. W
We enjoyed many fabulous meals at: Cabo Wabo, Peacock's, Sleepless Lobster, Crazy Lobster, Mi Casa, and Mariscos Mocambo. All were within walking distance from the hotel. We plan to go back in two years. Absolutely LOVE Cabo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The hotel is beautiful, just like the online photos. It sits in downtown Cabo San Lucas so it's walking distance to town where you'll find more shops than you could ever imagine and lots of very good restaurants.

The weather in May is perfect, 95-105 degrees with a constant breeze so it doesn't feel that hot at the hotel. In town it does because a lot of the breeze is blocked by the buildings. But, I'm guessing you're going for the weather anyway.

The Finisterra has 3 pools and sits right on the ocean. Water is too rough to swim so if you're going to swim in the ocean, this isn't your place. The Sea of Cortez meets the Pacific and there's a huge drop off right off the beach. But, boy, it's beautiful. And, once in a while you'll see a sea lion swim by and stare at you. Sometimes you'll see whales from your balcony. Very pretty hotel. Quiet hotel. Very relaxing. And, lots of personal service since it's the best kept secret in Cabo.

Cabo is known for it's nightlife scene. So, if that's what you're seeking, you're within walking distance. Or, stay at the hotel and enjoy the scenic view from your balcony.

The food in Cabo is very good. Menu ranges from mexican to italien to american, but it's all very tastey.

They say that September and October is their rainy season. Just FYI.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelQueen2010_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed for three days in room 111 on the ground floor and we could not sleep for three nights due to noise coming from the televisions in the rooms above us and next to us. I cannot imagine that the reviews about this hotel have not pointed this out before. Oddly, I have a 30 percent hearing loss in one ear and could tell you every show that people were watching in the other rooms by simply listening. I complained at 2 am one morning to the front desk, not really understanding why anyone needs to watch television at that time of the morning. They did call and ask the folks to turn it down or off. We could even hear people using the bathroom and banging their toothbrush on the rim of the sink, as well as them walking across the floor all hours of the night. Additionally, I at a breakfast at the Whale Bar one morning and got salmonella from the eggs, which led to me being ill on our final day. I find all of this unfortunate, since the hotel in located in a nice location and is beautiful, but the building of this hotel is very conducive to extreme noise from the other rooms. I wish I had brought earplugs, which seem strange for a person with very reduced hearing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArizonaCopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed a night in the hotel side before staying a week in one of the 1 bedroom timeshare suites. Upon check-in, the hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. They had our 1 bedroom suite all ready for us before we had to check-out of our hotel room. We had expected to wait a couple of hours but were pleasantly surprised when we were able to go to our room right away.

Both the hotel room and 1 bedroom suite were clean, roomy and comfortable. The hotel room had all the basics and the beds in both rooms were very comfortable. Both rooms had a balcony with an amazing view of the ocean....wow. The 1 bedroom suite was great! It had a partial kitchen which consisted of 4 burners, a mini fridge and dishes, pots, pans, glasses and cutlery. The only thing that was missing was dish soap.

If you're planning on making your meals in your room it's well equipped. The only thing is that the grocery store that's in Cabo is a little expensive. Not over the top but what you would pay at home.

We usually like to stay at places with good gym facilities but unfortunately the gym was under construction while we were there. The beach and stairs were good for cardio and we noticed that a lot of others took advantage of both as well.

Pools were fantastic! There were busy pools and quiet pools. Whatever you prefer they had to offer. All were very clean and well staffed in terms of food and drink service.

There were three places to eat - the Palapa which was by the pool. They had really good mexican and "bar" food. The service by the pool was fantastic!! Jose was especially attentive. The Blue Marlin was a fabulous place for breakfast but we found the dinner wasn't nearly as good and was a little pricy. The patio is beautiful. The Whale Watching Bar had an amazing view and was a great place for fantastic food and drinks. The seafood tacos were fantastic!

If you wanted to go into town the hotel had a free shuttle available to go just about anywhere but most places were close enough to walk. Romeo and Juliet's is a great place, within walking distance, for Italian food. Pancho's is also within walking distance and was fantastic! They serve really good authentic mexican food as well as good fresh seafood. Another place we really enjoyed and didn't think we would was Cabo Wabo, the food was amazing! Best chicken enchiladas.

We went to the marina one night and had dinner at one of the restaurants. The food was okay but we were a little put off by the vendors who were able to come right into the restaurant and try to sell you stuff while you were eating. We were also greeted by a "hostess" who eventually tried to get us to go to a timeshare presentation. Not a huge deal but a little annoying.

We didn't bring our laptop but were able to access the internet for $5 charge per hour. They did have wireless access in your room for a fee.

The hotel itself is a fantastic place to stay. It's not as modern as some but it is very well maintained. It's quiet and far enough away from everything not to be too loud but close enough to get to Cabo and enjoy the town. The staff was great and there was nothing that we needed that wasn't right there. We've stayed at both the Sol Mar and Playa Grande and preferred the Finisterra as it was quieter and there were more restaurants with great food!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank MarciG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#39 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,263 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $267 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing