We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have traveled to many different cities in mexico and the Sandos in cabo is our favorite so far.Upon arrival we were greeted at the desk with champagne and received a room in one hour . our room overlooked the ocean and the pool on the fifth floor, it was nice and clean. We had no problem with maid service. The restaurants for the most part were pretty good especially the view at don diegos was amazing. but the service was dicy sometimes the waiters forgot us.We enjoyed the pool but if you want a palapa around the adult pool you better get there by 10am,all the pools need way more umbrellas it's too hot in the summer with out it. The beach is beautiful it's just to bad you can't swim in the ocean the water is way to rough. The spa and the fitness room are the best i have seen so far at any resort. We found that this resort has the best views and location in cabo and would recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,907)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had traveled many city in Mexico and always get all inclusive for all the hotel resort that we stay, but Sandos Finisterra is the best, my wife & I were very picky, we're 101 % happy that we stay here. Please get the Finisterra suite. excellence location and very nice view the entire of cabo marina and city. 7/22/2014 to 7/27/2014.

Room Tip: get Finisterra suite you will be more happy
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Do yourself a favor, don't stay here.
Awful food: zero selection @ buffet, and totally gross. Sit down restaurants even worse!
Bar: terrible service, cheap liquor (not premium, and watered down BIG TIME) even if you tip, bartenders are grumpy, rude, and ignore you. We stoppped bothering to tip on day 2.
Cleanliness: BAD. There were room service trays full of rotting food left outside rooms for days, we had to call them to come get them and it still took them days...filthy pool, filthy grounds, run down, , cracked cement, chipped paint, ect...no nice greenery just dusty and dirty and dry
Rooms: Awful again. dirty, basic, looked like an old motel 6 with an even worse view, had to pay $500 to get a better room in the better section! I think its a trick. They put you in the worse room imaginable, in order to get you to pay more to upgrade. We watched it happen to arriving guests over and over. all week.
Room Service: BAD. didnt even restock our rooms, left dirty laundry in our tub, showers stunk, just pain BAD. Doesnt matter if you leave a tip, they still dont care.
View: nice if you are up top, ocean view is BAD and old and desert like. nothing to look at but ungroomed sand and run down resort
Coffee/cupcake bar: dry cupcakes (sitting in a case for days), bad coffee, noone there knows how to make a latte, americano ect...
Entertainment: BAD. tripping on stage, unpracticed, we were laughing it was so bad.
Nightclub: smelled of sewage (backed up?) terrible music, bad sound system, noone danced. Drinks even worse, grumpy bartenders
Spa: beautiful!
service staff: grumpy bartenders, nice servers in buffet, that was about the only highlight of this place (the servers in the buffet, not the restaurants - they were BAD)
PS we had a cool butler

Room Tip: Do not get an ocean view room, only harbour view are new rooms that dont look like dumpy motel 6 roo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dakota S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebRelations_SF, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Wolveress:

We are truly sorry that you had this experience with us back in February.
Yesterday we sent you a private message to inquire about your stay and room number since we do not recall any similar situation with our guests.

We have been improving our service and facilities thanks to our guests’ feedbacks. Since March 12th we have a new list of liquors that includes brands like Johnny Walker Red and Black labels, Chivas Regal, Absolut Blue, Stolichnaya, Don Julio Reposado, Cuervo 1800 Añejo, to mention a few.

All your concerns have been addressed to the involved departments, thank you for all your comments.

We look forward to your kind response.

Lorenia Muñoz | Web Relations | Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My family travels often. I am currently at Sandos, and the place still has a long way to go before getting back to its hay day. First check in was easy. They charge 1000 pesos and then return that if no charges for incidentals. Upon check in, you are bombarded by "concierge", it's really people trying to sell you timeshare which they call royal elite. They offer free/discounted stuff for you to attend a presentation.

This is where it gets bad. If you don't do the presentation, you are treated like second class citizens. We were given a room 5202 that appears to be unsafe. You can see outside through the door, the door into the room is cracked all the way down in two places, and the window in the bathroom doesn't close all the way. The water tank in the room is just that, a holding tank. When I asked at the front desk about the cooler not working, I was told it was disconnected to my room. They purposely take the cord for the cooler and there is no ice bucket to get ice for cold water. The room didn't have any towels in it when we checked in, and it took 5 hours to get towels and glasses for water. The bed skirts in the bed are visibly dirty. I've only been here one day so I can only report on my experience so far. The "mini bar" in the room is only set up for two people, not good for a family of four.

Don Diego is nice and air conditioned and the service there has been good so far. Had dinner at Agave my first night and it was very hot. The service was ok until I asked for ice water. I got ice water and then no one ever came back to my table although they visited tables right beside me. It is very hot here in July and I knew that, but I didn't think that ice water would be so hard to get.

My first nights sleep was unbearable, the air conditioner did not cool the room off at all and I have it on the coldest setting. The ceiling fan didn't do much to help either.

I visited the kids club, there were no kids there, but at the door they had a water tank with a cord and it dispensed cold water.

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank Trvl4fun303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebRelations_SF, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Trvl4fun303:
First of all, We would like to thank you for the opportunity to talk to our General Manager early this morning. As spoken, we are currently working on the concerns that you kindly let us know, please accept our sincerest apology, we assure you that these incidents are infrequent and certainly not within our normal standards.

You are a valued guest at this resort as all of our visitors, we apologize for not making you feel that way.
As you are still in the property, We will take this opportunity to change your impression of our hotel by making your stay more enjoyable.

We will take care of you during your stay with us, and you know you can also contact us at anytime.

Kind regards!

Lorenia Muñoz | Web Relations | Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great Location as can walk to marina/downtown. Food was well above average for all-inclusive. Would have liked "disco" to be adult only (not appropriate for children yet allowed). Overall a great stay

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor "built into the rock hillside" have great views and are near all re...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank AnaD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a fabulous resort! We had a great time from the moment we arrived and were greeted with champagne to our final morning and breakfast. On our first day we were enjoying ourselves at the swim up bar when the Entertainment Staff encouraged us to join "Name that tune" poolside. From that moment on they got to know our names and we were always greeted with a high five and a smile. Dinelly in particular is a shining star of this group. She was so personable and fun she always had a smile and an activity for us. I also went for a massage at the spa and it was wonderful. Emma, the lady who administered my massage was wonderful! My massage was so enjoyable that I went for a second one! We also enjoyed going to the Don Diego restaurant for dinner and sitting on their patio that overlooked the harbour and beautiful sunsets. At the Don Diego we were greeted by Carmen who also learned our names and made a point of giving us our favourite spot every time! Her service was impeccable. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this resort the food was great, the staff was friendly and the overall experience was fabulous! We would highly recommend Sandos Finisterra!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th or 7th floor (vaulted ceilings).
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Me and my girlfriend had an unforgettable experience at Sandos Finisterra. read some of the past negative reviews and couldn't believe they were talking about the same place. Day 1 we had a romantic beach dinner for my birthday. "Awesome," the food the setting and our waiter was absolutely AWESOME!! The only suggestion I would make is that they should use torches instead of candles inside a glass case.. From day 1 to day 5 everyone was very friendly and very warming.. We made friends with everyone. The restaurant Don Diego has buffet style food and let me tell you for a buffet the food was great.. People we spoke to all couldn't believe how good the food was for a buffet. There are a few other restaurants on the resort and are just as good.. The resort is very big and very beautiful. We had the deluxe bay view and waking up to the view of the marina and the ocean was amazing in its self. Every night we went to the stone club which is open till 2am.. Nice place to hang out for drinks and music and dancing.. My only complain is that the DJ should play music that keeps people on the dance floor. The music is a variety of everything so there were time everyone is on the dance floor and more times the dance floor was empty..

Ok.. The resort is awesome I highly recommend the resort and had already recommended the resort when we went out to the marina and in to town. Speaking to other tourist and hearing about there resort they were very interested in ours when we told them of our experience...

The only complain is the use of candles instead of torches on the private beach dinner. The DJ at the stone club should play music that keeps people dancing and entertained. The chairs at the bay view suite were cheap plastic it didn't go with the ambiance with the room.

Just so everyone knows when you go to the marina for a sunset cruise or jet ski rentals you can negotiate the price.. we paid $40 per person for sunset cruise while other people paid $65 per person... negotiate...

Room Tip: I would go with the Bay View or a Junior Suite
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Manny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
931 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 118 in Los Cabos
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,258 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $243 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing