We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot with tons of potential...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot with tons of potential...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This resort is being remodeled and will be 4 star once it's done. The service is incredible and the location can't be beat.

The food is typical for an all-inclusive with the exception of their taco party on the beach. Those tacos were amazing.

It is pretty hot in July so the pools were warm and not very refreshing. And, the ocean wasn't swimable so we found ourselves going off-site to Medano a few times.

Overall it was nice and we had a great time. If we visit again, we will request one of the remodeled rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    869
    248
    112
    89
See reviews for
549
1,227
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our experience at Finisterra couldn't have been better from the moment we arrived. The entire staff was extremely friendly and accomodating, starting with Rigo, Margarita, and Maria at the front desk, Olguin the bell boy, Olga who oriented us to the hotel's layout and amenities. The grounds and entire facilities are very well kept and inviting, with beautiful "photo ops" everywhere, especially the gorgeous waterfalls in the front of the hotel and the view toward the Pacific from our room overlooking the pools. The food was delicious and very ample; each night at Don Diego had a different theme so it never got boring. Emilianos for a la carte Italian was a nice alternative, the pool restaurant was pretty good, and the Cupcake Cafe overlooking the marina was delightful. Breakfast was basically anything and everything you could think of that you might want to have - if it wasn't out there on the buffet already, the staff would try to get it for you. Since we chose the "all inclusive" option, we were rather expecting the drinks to be run of the mill, based on previous experiences with other resorts, but not here. Again, if they could the staff would provide whatever you wanted and they were great - we especially liked Levi's service at the Whale Bar.
The room was spacious and clean, although we felt that the air conditioner struggled to keep up and noticed that everything (our clothing, etc.) felt a little "damp" - maybe from the type of air conditioning system being used.
All in all, it was a wonderful experience we are anxious to repeat, and have already recommended the hotel to friends!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Pacific side have a great view higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly resort staff ready to take your bags and hand you a glass of champagne. we had no problems with checking in except we were a group of three couples and were expecting to be on the same floor. One couple was on the 4th floor and the other two were on the 6th floor, but this was ok. Everyone was very friendly and tried to help out in any way possible. The restaurants were all very good including the cupcake bar. A shout out to Abraham and Fransisco in the Agave restaurant they were awesome and went way out of their way to please us. The tortilla soup is a must try!! However the other staff were excellent too. The pools were very clean. The room service was great, we had a birthday on our trip and asked room service for apiece of cake with a happy birthday message on it, they sent us a piece of cheesecake beautifully decorated and even sent a candle Housekeeping staff was great too but don''t expect your room cleaned at the same time every day, sometimes it was in the morning sometimes in the afternoon, but this was ok for us too. You cannot swim in the ocean by the resort because of the strong riptide but there is a beach to swim about 5 minute walking distance. Overall this was a great resort and we would go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I booked this trip through Expedia. I had booked a 4 night package.

The hotel is amazing. We had booked the all inclusive package.

Activities and Entertainment
There wasn't much in terms of activities however they had entertainment every night.
There was a Beach party one night, live band. They also had activities for families near the pool area.

Restaurants
Don Diego for Breakfast was the best for us as a vegetarian family. We felt that we had the most choices there. The outdoor seating and the views of the harbor made it amazing.
It tended to get really crowded as it nears the closing time.

The Agave was our favorite spot for the afternoon. We loved that they accommodated our request for non-alcoholic drinks and by about the second day the staff knew us.
One afternoon they did mix up our order and forgot that it was a vegetarian order and took really long. However once they realized their mistake they immediately took corrective action and a manager personally came and apologized and supervised our new order.

We liked Emilianos- another restaurant on the property however we thought that there weren't too many vegetarian options for us and as such did not visit it too often.

We used the Cupcake coffee shop really often for in- between snacks and drinks. We liked that too.

Tortuga Beach was available to us for dinner however again we felt we were limited in the menu items as we were vegetarians.

Housekeeping
We liked the house keeping. They accommodated our request to clean the room as per our varied schedule.

Room Service
We did not use this as much, however the one time my husband did order a snack at night, a club sandwich they did not bring this to our room. there was no explanation of what happened so I assume this must have just fallen through the cracks.

They hotel did get crowded over the weekend and the room next to ours was occupied by a group of guys for a bachelor party. The manager did honor our request of changing our room however we did not like to room that was offered so we chose to continue to stay in our original room.

We like to thank Ruiz, Paula , all the staff at Agave esp Oscar for a great time that we had.
We know that your jobs are difficult and you all do an excellent job in customer service.

We had a great time at Cabo and I think it was because of the place we stayed.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong with either side of the rooms. One side faces the ocean and the other faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caltravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We are timeshare owners and had not been back to the Finisterra in several years because it was so run down - however - since Sandos has taken over it has made some amazing improvements. We will be using our time there now instead of renting it out to others. The all inclusive was great. The service was wonderful. We were disappointment that the whale watcher didn't serve food. That is such a beautiful and romantic place to have a meal. I hope they rethink how they are using that space.

Room Tip: you can either get a view of the ocean or the marina. We love the marina view - it is always changi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianewithBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was amazing. Me and girlfriend came here for a girls trip and never felt unsafe the whole time we were here. The rooms were very clean and the resort was incredible. The food is what you would expect in an all inclusive. Not bad I was okay eating there. It was walking distance to the bars and clubs ... but a long walk much better to get a cab. About 45 min drive to the airport.... We used transcabo and they were on time and the vans were clean. I have to say I loved the 2 girls that did the activities at the pools. I feel bad I cant remember one of their names but I do remember Alexia she was awesome! Erick was very cool too...watch out ladies he's a cutie! The guys working the bar at the pool were always nice as well.
The only complaint I have about the property is the disco has little kids in it at all times of the night and there is always kids in the adult pool. Its great its a kid friendly resort however there is a time and a place for children and a nightclub is NOT one of them nor is the adult pool. And we were not the only ones who noticed this I heard this from many people leaving the club and annoyed at the pool for the very same reason.
I would def come back thank you from making my trip so much fun!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just got back from our trip yesterday july 21st, 2014, and we just loved the place. Food was excellent many options for healthy food and they opened restauants to be able to accomadate the busy times for meals. All employees work very hard and are very kind but sometimes they did seem to be short handed. Everything was included even room service and the only reason I did not give them 5 stars was because the rooms service was really slow. Small walk to the pier and shops and shops of souvenirs. The hotel is on the pacifice side so you will not be able to get in the ocean but for a small fee there are lots of taxi boats that can take you to a nice beach. WE never encountered waiting times during our meals since we avoided going during peak times. I came back home relaxed and very happy with the whole experience and cant wait to go back next summer.

Room Tip: WE stayed in a Jr. Suite which was closer to pools and elevator. rooms were very large and had very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lupita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing