We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please read”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Please read”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2004

My now fiance and I went on our first vacation together in August 2002. We were advised to stay at the Finisterra by our Travel Agent. Here is what is true: the staff at the pools are wonderful!!! My fiance loves Mangos, and on one occasion the staff man at the bar offered to bring some fresh Mangos from his familys home. As it turned out, he came through. To go above and beyond like that is flat out rare! It was a genuinely nice thing to do. True: When you are there, ask at the pool for Moses! He's a really cool guy who works there and can provide many good laughs!
True: Stay in the new area. We were bumped up to the top floor suite which had a doublewide balcony accessible by two areas. A manager by the name of Roberto was very sincere in accomodating us after a brief incounter with an uncleaned room. I can't say enough about him. He was compassionate and knew that empathy and sincerity go along way.
True: We tipped everyone very well. Our experience with staff (the only exception is when you check in this lady sits you down and gives a speal about timeshares, etc...tell her flat out NO!) was very positive.
True: Lobster...Lobster...Lobster!!! FABULOUS!!!! Take a stroll accross the Marina and eat at Margaritavilla. AWESOME!!!!
True: The Blue Hawaian Drinks at the pool are rediculously good. Also, we encountered no rude guests.

WE had a very romantic trip there, and we found the hotel to be a positive experience. We will return at some point soon we hope.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    870
    249
    112
    89
See reviews for
551
1,228
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2004

My husband and I just returned from Cabo San Lucas where we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. If you want to stay at a place that is within walking distance to downtown, This is it. The hotel is Beautiful. The whale watcher bar sits in the older part of the Hotel as does the Blue Marlin Resturant. Talk about a beautiful view of the ocean. The newer area that has been built is nice. It overlooks the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez. Our room was located on the other side of the Hotel in the older section. Our balcony overlook the Marina and the boardwalk. Every morning we had a beautiful sunrise. If you stay at the hotel, try and get your room in the "E" section. This is the area that overlooks the Marina. At first I was dissapointed that we were not in the newer section. But once I saw my view of the marina. I was excited. There was never a dull moment watching the boats come and go. We are already talking about going back to Cabo. And when we do, We WILL be staying at the Hotel Finisterra.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2004

my husband and i stayed at this hotel april 28-may 28, 2004. It was by far the nicest hotel in cabo as far as we were concerned. The hotel is very quaint, smaller and romantic. it has alot of charecter as it is carved out of the side of a mou tain. it is a very open-air hotel. though not one of the plusher hotels, the staff, pool rooms and cleanliness make up for that. The front of the hotle faces the marina, and the back of the hotel faces the pool and the ocean. Every room has a view of the ocean and the pool. The hotel is constantly being cleaned inside and out day and night. We did not see one bug, which Mexico is known for. You could eat off the floors in this hotel. The pools are so clean and nice to swim in. There are three pools and two are heated, and one is not. The pool staff is there every morning cleaning and scrubbing the pool,chairs and tables around the pool. The water is crystal clear and clean. The staff around the pool is great. You must ask for Delfino when you go to the pool and tell him mrs. bella sent you. he comes up with great drinks, out of the ordinary. The weather is beautiful everyday. It was 90 and sunny everyday, and not a cloud in the sky. The sunrises are as beautiful as the sunsets. The whale watcher bar is alot of fun with Juan 1, 2, and 3. They are also very friendly. The blue Marlin is very romantic and has good food. Anna the hostess was very nice and will suggest places for you to go, and things to do. You can also eat breakfeast in the resturant upstairs,which is outdoor dining. Speaking of dining you must go to some of these resturants. The Office, great seafood, Ediths great food of all kinds, La Giorgio for Italian, and get there before sunset-unbelievable sunset resturant, la Dolce for italian, The trailer Park for seafood and Mexican, and La Casa for Mecican. Go to town in the morning to Cabo Coffee Shop, and swiss bakery for pasteries. yum!!. Now back to the hotel. The staff is so nice they treat you like family from the minute you arrive till the minute you leave. Carlos at the front desk was so nice to us, very helpful. We went to look at other hotels like fiesta americana, villa del palmar and esparanza,and yes some were plusher, but bar none the finnistera was the cleanest,friendliest and most romantic of all. Not alot of kids at any of these hotels. I think Cabo is a more adult resort town. Fun places to go at night giggling marlin, cabo wabo, but action dosen;t start till 11-12 p.m. We would definetly come back to cabo and stay at the Finnistera Hotel. The palapa section is where the newer rooms are and the rooms all have balconies. hope this helps you make up your mind, and if you go tell then debbie and hugo said hello!!!

Helpful?
6 Thank deb72157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2004

I can't believe there are no reviews for this wonderful place! My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Finesterra in December of 2000. Granted, that's a while ago, but the experience was so pleasant, it's still worth writing about. We absolutely loved it. The views of the ocean and the marina/town/mountains were beautiful and the resort itself is fantastic. It's built such that it blends with the earth and seems part of it. The staff were wonderful. The first night I was there I broke one of the straps on a dress (a result of too many dos equis in the hot tub that afternoon) and my husband took it to the front desk where a sweet girl sewed it up no problem. He gladly gave her $10 just for being so helpful and friendly, but it was totally his choice, she asked for nothing. We also had them do some laundry for us - not overpriced for the service - and our clothes smelled so good we've been trying to find something in the U.S. that smells like that for 3 years now with no luck. We still talk about how great our clothes smelled! Silly, I know but what the heck? They really did smell great :-)

The food at the resort was pretty good, but we ate out a lot because that's what we do when we go on vacation. Casa Rafael's is the best restaurant we've ever been to, not so much because of the food, which was great, but more so for the ambiance and the overall experience. Dinner for the two of us was about $100, but worth every single penny - and believe me, we are not rich by any stretch of the imagination, $100 bucks is A LOT of money for us to spend on dinner! But here's what we got for that... superb setting, dark, quiet, very romantic - excellent service with three wait staff people that served us and only us the entire time we were there. One person took our order and brought our drinks/food and made sure we had everything we needed, another kept the table clean literally using a little brush to wipe away any crumbs and such and another person dedicated soley to dessert. The food was very good and not limited to typical Mexican fare, the menu was international with something for everyone. I had quail - delicious. This really was a great experience because we felt like high society and it wasn't like it is in the states when you go to places like that where the staff is looking down their noses at you becuase they know you aren't high society. These people treated us like royalty.

Anyway - I highly reccomend both the Finesterra and Casa Rafael's. If you are looking for the best breakfast in Cabo, look no further than Captain Tony's on the Marina. Absolutely the best breakfast burritos in the world. They are huge and muy tasty.

We are going back to Cabo in two weeks, staying at the Playa Grande this time (same owner as Finesterra), hope our experience is as wonderful as it was the first time.

Most definitely reccomend the Finesterra.
Finesterra=Fantastic!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2004

We stayed in a Jr suite of the new section and the room was very nice, it had a mini kitchen, table two beds and was a nice size over all. We were on the first floor right off the lobby and everything was within easy walking distance. The hotel provides a van that will drive you to the bottom of the hill and everything on the Marina is within short walking distance. The pools are all on the cold side , and the restaurants food were good, but not great! We loved having breakfast at the Whale watchers, great way to start your day. No venodrs constantly bugging you at the hotel. We would stay here again because overall it was a great place and the staff was so great!

Helpful?
Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akutan alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2004

excelent hotel with nice rooms, my only disslike was the timeshare speals from people not associated with the finisterra. we were weathered in for 3 days so were late getting there, the hotel didnt charge us and they extended our stay for the original 5 nights. no hassle what so ever.will be back

Helpful?
Thank joetoygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2004

My wife and I just returned from 7 days at the Finisterra and we enjoyed our stay. DON"T believe everything you read in the reviews for this resort. I did not find rude people here in fact they went out of their way to please especially Angel at he pool bar and Freddy at the bell desk. These people work hard and if you show your appreciation when you first arrive (tips) they do not forget! Our room was in the new section (a must) on 6th floor. I highly recommend an upper floor for best view. Food was very good at the pool and excellent at the Blue Marlin / Whale Watch restaurant bar. Cocktail prices are reasonable and they have 2 for 1 happy hour pool side 2 to 4 and 4 to 6 pm at the Whale Watch. The beach is no swimming as it on the Pacific with riptides. You can walk the beach but it's soft sand which makes it a little tuff. This Resort is in walking distance to town with quality resturants, bars and shopping close by. You can stay at other Resorts in Cabo and pay a lot more money and not get the Quality and Value of the Finisterra. Oh, and I might add, NO time share hassles or beach vendors!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing