We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“necklace stolen. sick from food. smells terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went for a wedding that was next door a the Capella...and decided to stay at the Finistera to save some money. BAD IDEA! This place is not good. When you arrive they were very nice at check in, but then you had to sit and listen to the spiel about timeshares and the pushy lady wanting us to go to the 90 minute presentation! it was ridiculous. And watch out...the new owners only put money in to the 7th floor. you will hear about the 7th floor the entire time! The place wreaks of old food being reheated and cooked. To top it all off...my husband got terribly sick from the food!! 8 people out of our group got sick! GROSS! Then to top it off....a very nice necklace was stolen from my room! I used the safe for most to all of the trip, but took off my necklace before departing the hotel in a hurry to get to the wedding festivities and placed inside my makeup bag on the counter. IT WAS STOLEN from my room. And someone had to have rummaged through my makeup bag to find it! No one entered my room except for my husband and I...(and as they informed us)...the maid (of course) AND the person to fill the mini bar AND the person to give you new pool towels. They infomred me via email recently there is nothing they can do. TERRIBLE!!!
I had a do not disturb on my door!? and all of our keys would not work...we would have to go down and get new ones every time. Everyone in our party on our floor had to! The best line of the trip: " I would have eaten tap ramen for a week, 2 weeks, and saved money so I didn't have to stay here" For the record...I dont do buffets because they are gross old food and all inclusive = watered down drinks! both proven at the Finistera.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colbfreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebRelations_SF, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Colbfreer:
We are truly sorry that your necklace was lost. We filed a report since you informed us that it was missing on your check out day.

The most important thing for us is to provide our guests with a safety deposit box free of charge, to keep their valuables in it.

Following up we did interview our personnel with access to the room and we didn’t find any evidence or behavior that could guide us to anything in particular.

We understand that you lost a valuable piece of jewel and we are sorry that we could not give you a satisfactory answer as you expected.

We sent you a private email to follow up with this incident and the other concerns listed in your review.
Best regards.

Lorenia Muñoz | Web Relations | Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

I've been to Mexico many times - and all-inclusive resorts as well. This place is definitely the best all-inclusive in Cabo! In fact, it operates like a boutique hotel with an impeccable staff and the absolute best service. The drinks and cocktails were amazing and flowing faster than we could keep up with - all served by smiling, friendly and personable staff. Food was great. Much better than you would expect in an all-inclusive with the selections varying daily- No wait and no reservations needed with plenty of choices. Beautiful place with different floors and angles and in the most convenient location close to everything. We enjoyed it there so much we barely left the hotel! Great pool time with fun social directors who totally engaged you without being annoying. Cocktail hour at the Whale Watchers Bar was another highlight where "master mixologist" Israel delighted in creating unique concoctions to suit everyone's taste - and they were most delicious!! I really can't say enough about this place - it was an incredible value and the bartenders, pool staff, activities directors and just about everyone there go out of your way to make your vacation a pleasant one - we will definitely be back!
Maria & Dave
Novato, CA

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Everybody was so wonderful! The second night I was proposed to by the man I love and they all made it so special, Mimi helped arranged everything, what a perfect moment for us! Rooms were beautiful and clean, 24 hour room service was excellent! We will definitely be coming back!
Jessie Garza

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessiegarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebRelations_SF, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Jessie Garza:
Congratulations on your engagement!

We are so glad to know that you were proposed here at our resort and that everything was special! We thank you for writing a review and we are glad to know that you will come back!

Please contact us if you need further assistance, we are delighted to be of service to you!

Lorenia Muñoz | Web Relations | Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you are looking for a beach wedding this is the place for you. My sister was married here and yes it was a small gathering but perfect. the set up was B E A UTIFUL. The violinist was amazing. Staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Top notch accommodations. If wanting to swim in ocean then its not for you, current to strong, not safe but still breathtaking.

Room Tip: rooms in tower 3 and 4 closer to all restaurants and other towers closer to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karpear77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebRelations_SF, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear karpear77
We thank you and your family for choosing Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos to celebrate your sister’s wedding!

We are glad to know that everything was perfect and beautiful, we hope we can see some pictures to share at our social networks if possible.

We have beautiful sceneries because our resort is in front of the Pacific Ocean, unfortunately it is not allowed to swim in this beach, however, medano beach and lover’s beach are close.

We thank you for posting your review.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need further assistance.

Kindest regards!

Lorenia Muñoz | Web Relations | Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We are new members to the Royal Elite vacation club and Sandos Resorts and are not disappointed we joined...so far. Our first visit to Finisterra Los Cabos since our purchase last May was wonderful. Only complaint was they stopped the shuttle to/from the front entrance to the reception area. We "assumed" the shuttle service would always be available to us as they had it last year.
Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and personal customer service representative, Sandra. Throughout our stay Sandra was available to ensure our stay was a pleasant experience. Can't say enough about the staff and the property. The sales staff, Richard, Maria, Nelson, Chris (newest member from our home town in FL - whoo hoo) Christine, Luis, Jared, Jose Luis and "our lawyer" Luis Macias are the most professional group of people you will ever meet.
The view of the marina is breath taking. Each morning Fausto or Ricardo from "Cup Cake" prepared our special cup of coffee while we watched the sun rise. Shortly thereafter, off to the Spa for a yoga/stretching/Pilates class with Federico, who recently celebrated his 8th wedding anniversary! Breakfast at "Don Diego" with Carmen, Isabel, Jenny and all the friendly servers. We spent most of the day at the owners pool where Jaime made the most refreshing drinks. Throughout the day you can see the Dolphin show for "free" (another member benefit). Lunch at "Tortuga Beach" (owners only restaurant) with Javier, Fernando and the rest of the great server staff. Dinners we went to either "Don Diego" with, Anna (reception) Adalbert (maker of the best Spanish coffee) Alberto, Pablo, and Gilberto or "Emiliano's", named after Paulino, GM, who went out of his way to make our stay even more pleasant. Jesus, Karla (reception) and our friendly waiter, Raul were available to ensure our meals were prepared to our satisfaction.
We were so pleased with our first Royal Elite and Sandos Resort experience we already booked a three week vacation in October 2014 at their Caracol, Playa del Carmen and Cancun locations.
Enhancements are currently being conducted throughout the property. We are looking forward to returning to Finisterra Los Cabos!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

On May 26th, I had a four night stay at the Santos Finisterra in Los Cabos. Santos only offers all inclusive stays. The value was excellent and no matter where you go or what you eat there is a "walk away" simplicity. Meaning nothing to sign which is nice as some all inclusives require quite a paper trail. Santos was bought a year a go and renovated to exceptional standards. It is quite possibly one of the most beautiful resorts I have found.

There are just a couple of things to consider. One: the ocean on the Pacific side of Cabo is very rough. So Ocean swimming os not always an option. I had just one swim in 4 days, and the life guard Lino stood by to make sure I was ok. It's a question of getting in and out of that crazy smack down tidal wave they get.

Second is the desert landscape. If you are used to a lush and tropical resort, Santos will require yo to see beauty in the simple desert landscape. They are Eco conscious and personally I like it.

Santos has only a handful of choices for restaurants. The food and service is 5 star, especially the Italian restaurant on site. The food there was exquisite. But due to the options you may grow tired of the restaurant choices after 3 or four days. Luckily the Marina and all Cobos choices are just a few minutes walk away.

I gave the room a average sleep quality as the Air con is rather loud. But with an open patio door even in late May I didn't need it every night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Finisterra is a very beautiful property. The views are amazing. The food is really good. The menus at the beach restaurants are very good. Have the giant burrito it's the best burrito I've ever had. The entertainment team is fun and makes sure everyone is included. Abraham and Erick are as nice as they look. The lobby could use a bar and a special place for Royal Elite members to check in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,008 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.2 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,888 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $247 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing