We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad and seems to be improving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the end of August for 2 nights. This review could have been way better as I actually had a good stay overall. We have to evaluate it as an above average class all inclusive resort, since that's what it is aiming to be and probably can.

Let's start with the good things since it was a positive experience.

LOCATION AND RESORT- It is a beautiful resort between the beach and the hills. You can easily walk to town. Just a small climb.

POOLS-There are 3 pools, really clean, and it was slow season so definitely more than enough for the amount of people staying.

BEACH-Beautiful beach that you can walk and enjoy the scenery. Swimming is not allowed.

ACTIVITIES-Not enough people this time of year for all the planned activities (about 25% of the scheduled events were actually taking place), but we were still pretty entertained and it looks like they have a full day schedule for the regular season.

RESTAURANTS-They were not keeping all restaurants open every day (again off season), but we were able to eat at most of them.
Don Diego was a nice decent sized buffet, with really good service. We had a good time here at lunch and dinner.
Tortuga has the perfect set up right on the beach, it is a la carte and we had a nice lunch and a real nice dinner, very good service.
Pool bar was fun to hang out at, seemed a little overstaffed for this time of year and they seemed to be a little unhappy (normal considering amount of tips per person). Still pretty good service here too though.

SERVICE - Most of the people working here that we got a chance to meet were very friendly and helpful. This is where we'll switch over to the areas of opportunity.

Let's talk about things that need improvement.

CHECK IN AND FRONT DESK - We had done some research and specifically asked for one of the newer rooms (there has been remodeling at this resort) and even pointed out that we were checking in on a birthday. The guy at check in, who clearly is not ready to handle being the first face of the resort (seemed to be too concerned about rules than customer service) said there was a mix up with the reservations, but would try to get a nice room ready for us and to just go ahead and have lunch as it may take an hour to an hour and half. We waited that long, at the end of an hour and 30 minutes that room was still not ready and they gave us another room, clearly not a newer room. (There is more about check in process below) I am sure all the rooms will be remodeled soon, and people will not have to make these requests but at a slow time like the end of August, a simple request made a few days in advance should have been easily accommodated in my opinion.

I asked the same front desk guy if there was construction going on and he assured us that it was all done. They were replacing handrails on the back side of the resort, which could be heard from the rooms at the start of the day (8am). Not the best noise to wake up to. I guess he didn't consider that as construction, but it still sounded like it.

More on the front desk and check in, we knew from our research that there was going to be some sort of time share pitch, but the same guy at the front desk was trying very hard to make it look like it was a normal part of the process that we had to talk to concierge first to hear about the resort details and then we would get the keys (it felt like he was trying to hide the time share part). Obviously we have checked in at a hotel before... So we sat down with the concierge/time share sales guy and kindly refused his offer for the tour (and $200 resort credit) and were allowed to get our keys. It was not very difficult or pushy, took about 5-10 minutes, but still has an unnecessary awkward feel to it considering we are paying for our stay at the resort.

ROOMS- We stayed in one of the rooms that have not been remodeled, and I can say it definitely felt like it was old. The glasses that were in the room felt like they had not been washed well, and the water dispenser was mostly empty.

FOOD AND DRINKS- The food quality was good, but there could be more selections (like more vegetarian friendly options). This may be just a slow season problem as well though.

There are many options for all inclusive and this resort has a lot of potential to be a better one of them. I can't really say it is yet, but I will not rule it out. It may deserve another chance perhaps once everything is complete and the staff is ready.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KorVar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, General Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos as your holiday’s destination, we appreciate your very complete and detailed review, and we truly appreciate your comments regarding this last visit.
We have modified our Check in process, improving the timing and also the quality of the information provided to our guests.
We also have finished the Healthy Ladder, having now a better ambiance on the property.
Right now we are in the middle of a face lift for the Junior Suites Ocean view, improving brand new bedclothes, furniture and other surprises that we hope you discover on your next visit.
We recently re-opened Tortuga Restaurant, and improved all Menus, looking for offer many different options for all tastes.
We truly hope to have you back soon, and I assure you that we will go over your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,205 - 2,211 of 3,094 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Sandos company has obtained this hotel and is in the process of renovating it. There is construction going during the week but weekends are peaceful. The hotels is looking good and I can only image what it will look like when it is finished. The staff are very friendly. Maintenance fixed the door for us instantly. The 3 swimming pools are awesome! The rooms are clean and the beds were comfortable. There is always something for everyone to eat. The location across from the marina is great for access to shopping, scuba diving shops, and water taxis. The only downfall is the ocean is too dangerous to swim in due to riptides, but the beach is beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbendfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just returned from a week vacation at Finisterra. It really was wonderful. It was pleasant and easy and fun and we would certainly consider seriously coming back. When we arrived, we were met with a glass of champagne and (unfortunately) a push to go on a time share tour -- we were not interested and they accepted that just fine. (Whenever we went to the lobby, we were again asked, and again, said "no.") But that was 15 minutes of a full week -- and everything else was grand. The food was above average in the buffet restaurant, and the food was excellent in the specialty restaurant, to which we went four times in the week.

We were in room 410 -- mid level on the Pacific side. The bed was comfortable and the fridge was fully stocked with beer and soda. (We didn't take any of it as the bars around the complex were more than sufficient.) But the hot/cold water dispenser was a GREAT treat and wonderfully eco-friendly. We used so much less water for morning ablutions than we would otherwise had we needed to use plastic bottles. Bravo!

We were particularly impressed by the buffet restaurant surroundings. It is huge and it is immaculately designed -- tile work, lighting, and views were spectacular. And even the music that is played at the resort is pleasant, at a reasonable level and always enjoyable.

We spent a LOT of time at the pools -- there are three of them, and one of them is adults only. I read one of the reviews that said they were unhappy that the "adult" pool was not well supervised to not allow kids. We are not kid-unfriendly, of course, but on an "adult" visit, we were very happy with the adult pool, and there were no kids. There are two other pools which are very kid-friendly and we saw many kids enjoying them with their parents.

We don't drink a whole lot -- though we regularly overdid it on this vacation. The bartenders and waiters/waitresses could not be more kind. We particularly remember Rodolfo and Manuel at the swim-up bar, and Betza, Abraham, and Marco who were waiters.

But what sells this place more than anything else is the stunning surroundings both of the Marina and Bay, and the Pacific Ocean. It is set in the mountain and is just beautiful and the work they are doing to make it even lovelier are inspiring.

We're looking for a return vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lewis_and_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this resort August 9th - 16th, 2013. The resort itself is very beautiful and very close to town which we loved. There are a few employees that went above and beyond. They are Marcos, at the pool bar, our maid Ms De Jesus, Jorge the door man and Paulino Emiliano, the General manager. There are other employees who seemed like they didn't want to be bothered and no matter how much we tipped them (which was every time we ordered drinks or food) we couldn't get them to loosen up and be friendly. There are a few things that I didn't like about this hotel and they are: The service in the Blue Marlin was very slow! We ate there twice and both times took at least an hour to get our food. They are very under staffed. They really need to add another sit down dinner Restaurant. The entertainment both day and night were horrible. The music at the swim up pool was just spanish music. I asked if they could play something more up beat but they told me no, that it was on an ipod and that is what they played. The music at the family pool wasn't much better. (this made us not want to hang out at our resort during the day)The Whale Watcher bar is AMAZING!! The only problem I have there is that they are only opened from 6-8. This bar should be opened all day! The General Manager took us into see the disco since it wasn't finished and we were leaving the next day and I must say I am sad that we wont be able to enjoy it. It is Gorgeous! Thanks Paulino! If this hotel hired an amazing entertaining crew and improved on the service at the blue Marlin and added another sit down dinner restaurant it could be great. The location and the distance to town is priceless!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StephanieWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Mrs. Stephanie Miller;

Thank you for sharing a very objective view of your stay with us.
Confirming your comment, we have a perfect location that makes the difference for Sandos as an ideal option for many travelers, and also we really appreciate the names that you have given, this is a big incentive for our team.
We are truly sorry to hear that some of our staff did not fulfilled your expectations, and we are working on improvement in the service area.
Regarding your comment about Blue Marlin Restaurant, we have addressed your notes and corrected them, so it is a pleasure for us to let you know that we have aditionally opened Agave and Tortuga Restaurant locations for Dinner.
About the Music at the Bar and also the Activities Pool, we have modified it and we are happy to inform you that we have actually changed the mix of music adding a great variety for all tastes.
We have also implemented a new activities program, in different locations throughout the Resort; you can now do Yoga at the Spa and afterwards just play Volleyball in our beautiful beach, relax while painting with our local Handcrafts artists or simply enjoy having a delicious drink at our Adults Only Pool.
The Management on behalf of all the Sandos Family sends you our kind and Personal Regards, and we look forward to meet you here on your next Cabo Trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from May 5 to May 12 there was four guys on a fishing trip unfortunately our fishing trip was on successful but as for the hotel yes there is major construction going on as it was bought out by Sandos And Sandos is putting in major renovations to this resort the location of this resort is awesome you are at the end of the world unfortunately there is no swimming strong riptides but beautiful to watch and relax by the ocean .
The hotel staff was remarkably fantastic, there was not a moment that there was not somebody catering to you cleaning up after you. The room I was in was 308 was very clean and spotless could use a little bit of modern but I'm sure that will follow as the VIP rooms are being finished now .
Yes you did hear the jackhammer Skil saw power tools machinery but they are trying their best not to interfere with your all day. As we watch these workers work without power tools breaking bricks ,mix cement by hand it is remarkable the results at the end of the day that these men have Accomplished Without the aid of Power tools . I would recommend this place I believe this place would probably hold 500 to 700 people as we were only 15 people at the pool at any given time the place was not filled must be the low season As I mentioned Sandos is doing a major renovation they are not doing a cheap paint over they are sanding everything down to the stone grinding every brick back down To its original look
I would recommend this place when it's finished it's an awesome location and an awesome place thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertaWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We just got back from a 7night stay all-inclusive. Originally we were put in the old section with the old rooms. The 80's style pink tile and walls were everywhere. We were also on the first floor and faced the kids pool which was noisy. We were graciously moved to the new section and it was fantastic. The rooms are gorgeous with a new hydro- tub in the bathroom and comfy mattress and Snow White linens and down comforter. We had a view of the harbor, very pretty at night and overlooked the dolphin exhibit which we could watch from above. The service was excellent at all the restaurants. I agree with another post that you should carry some small bills and tip the bar and wait staff. You'd be amazed what a difference it makes to them.

There are only 2 dinner choices which made it kind of boring for a 7 day stay. The all inclusive is best for 3-4 nights max. Diego's is a buffet but a very nice one. The Blue Marlin is a sit down with a different theme each night (ex: Italian/French etc). There are 2 poolside restaurant/bars that serve sandwiches or salad or pizza etc. Very good quality.

We only noticed the construction up near the 2 dining rooms doing rock work mostly and work on the future rooms and more restaurants. It was bother to us at all.

They have spent a ton of money on the renovation and it's nice to see the Finesterra shine once again. There is a beautiful beach but you can't swim due to current. Great to walk though or enjoy a cerveza under a palapa. It's an easy walk to e everything in town too.

Word of caution--you will be hit up at the airport aggressively for time shares. We also were required to attend a presentation at the resort as a condition to our very low priced pkg. Be polite and attend if its part of your deal. We actually thought their program was pretty good.

Room Tip: Do what you can to stay in remodeled rooms. They have harbor view and ocean view Also, this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelJunkie122460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hola TravelJunkie,

We appreciate your review. As you state we are trying hard to generate a WOW factor where we can deliver more than the guest expected.

It is good to read that you found that our staff, qualities and service has given you a desire to recommend our resort. Also the fact that the noise levels have diminish greatly so people that read your comments can have the confidence that they will have a great vacation!

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Finisterra the second week of August and had a wonderful time. We have stayed at many all inclusive resorts in the past, mostly Cancun. This was our first trip to Cabo. Many reviews talk about the construction at the property and honestly you hardly notice it. It doesn't effect any of the pools, restaurants or beach. It was on the backside/bayside of the property when we were there and was minimal. The views from every angle of this hotel were beautiful and breathtaking. The service was fantastic overall. There were some slower staff but most were more than attentive and accommodating.

The restaurants were what we expect from an all inclusive resort at this price point. We thought it was good, not great. There was always something to eat that we liked. Breakfast and lunch were the best. Food was presented well and the restaurants were very nice and clean. The restaurants were all remodeled and again service was great. There were only two choices for dinner, a buffet and the restaurant. We thought the buffet was much better than the restaurant (Blue Marlin). We ate the buffet 5 of 6 nights we were there. For lunch there were two options, both restaurant style with large menus with good food. Now for drinks: they were fabulous. Many choices with different Mexican beers and higher caliber liquor (not just well). Mini bar in room was always stocked with beer and soda and a water jug. Rudolfo at the pool bar was great. Make sure to tip!!!

Rooms: We stayed in a junior ocean front suite, which is what was included in our bookit.com reservation. It was an older room but plenty sufficient. The view was direct ocean view looking over the pool from the 6th floor. It was older and smaller than other rooms we have stayed in. It did have a flat screen tv, but bedding and drapes were old. We were underwhelmed at first, but it ended up not bothering us, we actually slept great, the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. I didn't see one bug in the room as other reviewers noted and the shower had plenty of hot water (terrible pressure but hot). It really didn't effect our trip but don't expect a luxury suite at this price point. I heard the newer rooms were on the bayside (where the construction is) so consider that. Also far from pool, beach, etc.

Non swimmable beach: This is not something the resort can control, but for us it was the most disappointing part of the trip. The beach at the resort is beautiful and fun to walk along and watch the huge waves crash in. It is very dangerous though and you can't swim in it or wade in it or even go past your ankles. The tide is just too rough from the Pacific waves. A swimmable beach is about a 20-30 minute walk through the entire marina which doesn't sound too bad, except for it being 97 degrees in August and there are about 100 peddlers selling everything you can think of. It was a very annoying and hot walk. Medano beach is great to swim in if you can tolerate the walk. Pools at the resort make up for this as they are gorgeous and there are at least 4. Don't forget the chill pool up by the restaurant, very nice shade and chairs. There are kids and adult pools and an activity pool. Resort was quiet when we were there wasn't much of a party scene during the day at the pool or at night.

Something in the pool was turning our bathing suits greenish yellow so don't wear a white suit in the pool. Not sure what that was but several of us noticed it.

Overall, this is a great place for the money. The location can't be beat. It is close to town, only about a five to ten minute walk to cabo wabo, squid roe, etc. Peddlers there selling things too, fyi.

Room Tip: stay in something facing ocean if going soon as construction was on marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rkucera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you very much for such a detailed review,

We know that this objective reviews had helped many guests to make the final decision before paying for their reservations.

We also realize that there is always room for improvement and there are not many people that provide this detail information in order for us to focus on those issues. Regarding the comments on the white bathing suits this is the first we hear about it and we have passed the information to our pool technicians in order for them to know and be aware of.
Your comments in regards to giving gratuities to the staff are a nice incentive for our crew to continue to treat all guest with the same levels of quality and gracefulness.
The information about the walk to the Medano beach could only be complemented with the Water Taxis as other guests have shared that you can negotiate with them and go anywhere from $4 to $10 US depending if you want to go to Lovers Beach or not. This nice ride can be from 10 to 15 minutes and is a good chance form the August heat walk you described.

Best regards and hope to host you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#19 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
4,032 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $266 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing