We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cabo Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I visited this property in July 2013. It is a beautiful resort in the heart of Cabo, located across the street from the marina. It is well within walking distance of pretty much everything. Cabo Wabo and The Giggling Marlin are a few blocks away. Excursions such as fishing, water taxis, dinner cruises and the like are all located at the marina. The only taxi we needed was for the trip to and from the airport.

Sandos Finisterra is currently undergoing improvements to the property. The construction noise did not interfere in any way with our vacation experience. In fact, we look forward to returning to see the finished result.

The spa is absolutely gorgeous. If you're interested in a massage, I highly recommend, Alberto. He is fantastic.

The food for the most part was excellent and the serving staff friendly and accommodating. The resort provided the best buffet breakfast we have ever had. Along with the expected breakfast items, they included traditional Mexican breakfast fare.

The guest room shown on the resorts website looked nothing like the room we were given. It's not a complaint. Our room was adequate, but the view made up for any discrepancy. Overlooking the pools and Pacific Ocean, we couldn't ask for anything better.

DOWNSIDE: We were turned off a bit by the pressure of the concierge upon check-in. You will be coaxed into signing up for a "tour" of the property. If you're interested in timeshares, this may not be a turn off. After being accosted by timeshare representatives at the airport the last thing we wanted was more pressure from the resort.

Also, it is listed as an all-inclusive resort. Upon hearing this, some would think money is not needed on the property. Tips are not discouraged and the wait staff will gratefully accept them. I just thought I would mention it.

All in all, we would definitely stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: Ask for a central room overlooking the pools and ocean. Floor four, or above.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,904)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,054 - 2,060 of 2,904 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

The design is very cool incorporating the surrounding landscape. The resort is being renovated right now so there was a bit of construction going on, but the food was excellent, the margaritas were full of tequila, the staff was extremely friendly, and the food was surprisingly very good.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to the junior suites or something, higher up on the mountain the better.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Check-in was great. Everyone is friendly for the most part, like so many of us there are good days and bad days. Sandos bought the Finisterra Hotel, it's one of the oldest hotels in Cabos and it is under renovation. You will see and hear construction so if that will bother you, you may want to think of somewhere else. They will try to have you attend a presentation on purchasing points, time, whatever. This is the norm for vacation resorts in Mexico so don't get upset. Just say no if you are not interested. My partner and I said yes to the presentation because we were interested in the property and wanted to see what they had to offer. They will try to entice you with offers for discounts on excursions, so if you are willing to sit through the presentation and say no at the end, you will get a good deal. Its never 90mins, its longer but they are a bit more relaxed than other places we've been. Yes we did buy time here, but only after we discussed it alone and figured it suited us. Not all the facilities were open as some are under renovation. Now to service. I gave them an average rating because it was not consistent. It totally depends on your server in the restaurant, and how busy they are. Expect Don Diego to be the most visited restaurant on the property at this time. Blue Marlin (Italian Cuisine) was open 1 night out of the 8 we were there. They have 3. Don Diego (themed dinners)' Agave (Baja California Cuisine or kind of a pub version of Californian and mexican dishes) and Tortuga (lunch only, with pizza's, bagels and other snacks) We tipped our attentive waiters, bartenders, room service attendants and housekeeping staff well only if service was good. Average or below average service was not rewarded. When we ordered room service, we were always told 20-30 mins. It was more 60 - 90 mins. One instance, I ordered room service and it didn't come for almost 90 mins. When I called and asked KINDLY when we should expect it, the woman on the phone sounded annoyed with me and even quoted my room incorrectly. When I said my room number she began to argue with me. Then she said 20 mins. It arrived in less than 20mins after that phone call. We were just not used to feeling that we were in the wrong when we've stayed at many other hotels without any such incident. Maybe it's because we don't speak Spanish. I don't know. I did notice that service was better for you if you did but that could just be my perception. Either way, perception is what customers all base decisions on. Be prepared to wait longer than they tell you it will take. Over all, We really enjoyed our stay there. We did buy time after all. I myself am going to take up Spanish, because I think its a beautiful language and it wouldn't hurt. I can't wait till everything is all done and the place is running at 100% or close to. They just need to bring up the level of customer service in the restaurants and room service and perhaps have staff who's English is as good as their Spanish. Perception will increase and people will be happier. Vacations should be stress free at the resort. You'll get enough when you leave the resort to shop in the Marina area. Its Mexico so expect your business to be "asked" for. To the new owners of the Finisterra property, may I suggest posting when your restaurants are open and for what. It will make it a lot more enjoyable for your guests if they know what they will be doing when they stay there. Perhaps also have a web application to reserve a dinner spot at Blue Marlin along with when it's open. We missed out on the Italian, next time. Great Property and very beautiful to stay at. The newly renovated rooms across the bridge are amazing. The main part of the hotel has standard rooms and were what I expected. We'll see you next year.

Room Tip: Ask to make sure the fridge works, no trees in your view if you as for and Ocean view and on a highe...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank airlineguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Airlineguy2,

Thank you indeed for taking the time to leave such a detailed description of your experience with us.
We value all of our guests and particularly well seasoned travelers like you. The input you give us is very important and we have already shared it with our Team Leaders in order to find ways to improve our weaknesses and strengthen those areas, particularly in Room Service.

We have already taken action and started to see the improvements in room deliveries. We hope that your comments can help future visitors to consider our resort as the ideal spot for the price and value that we offer as the “Best All Inclusive in the Heart and Soul of Cabo” the new Sandos Finisterra.
Best regards and hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have never been to Cabo before, so we really had no idea what we were doing. Finnisterras a beautiful hotel, great views, great restaurants but most of all great staff. The staff made us feel very welcome. Freddy from front desk, Norma one of our servers and crazy Joel for entertainment were all so nice and helpful! Alejandro also helped us a lot during breakfast! Everyone who worked in this hotel were fantastic! The rooms were clean, everything was well organized! I would definitely come back to this hotel again!

Room Tip: 7th floor is where dinners are all served, but all of the floors have perfect views. We stayed in th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this Terrific Hotel in a relaxing Junior Suite with a Panoramic View of the Pools & Ocean. The location is close to town, Marina, Modano Beach, Mall, Restraunts, Clubs, everything in walking distance. The staff is Very helpful, kind and hard working. We were treated like Royalty. I Encourage U all to leave Common Courtesy Tips. Don Diego Restraunt is very Gourmet with a view. Breakfast Buffet is terrific.The Adult & all Beverages never end. The rooms, swimming pools & entire property is extremely clean. See Juan for all Activities or Excursions for discount deals. You lightly hear Construction, the tide is louder. The Entire Trip was well Worth my pay and I encourage others to experience an enjoyable Vacation for the value.

Room Tip: Our room was Non Smoking side, 5th floor, facing pool and Pacific Ocean. Awesome View. Clean, quite...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7Mares_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We are owners @ this resort. The only people I can say went out of their way to make our stay pleasant were Freddy the bellman along with other bellman (can't remember name), Rudolfo @ pool very attentive, good customer skills. Otherwise, From the moment @ checkin and checkout Eduardo @ front desk was not pleasant, very rude. @ first he could not find our reservation, had no compassion in helping us. @ checkout he would not give us a printed reciept then when he did, he wouldn't give me reciept showing a zero balance. I felt intimidated to go to front desk and ask for help. The bellman were more helpful. The concierge was glad to chase us down everyday until we went to her presentation and turned them down on making a new timeshare purchase. After that she would not look @ us and could care less what we had going. The pool was not very clean. After swimming we would have a stench on us. We all got skin/flesh disease that came from dirty pool/loungers/towels that are not disinfected. It's red/purple looking splotches all over our bodies. There is NO pool service!! No one will come take your order. You have to go to bar to order drink. They won't allow food @ pool. You're allowed to order and eat in pool restraunt but cannot take food out to pool. Not to mention prices have gone up and are ridiculous @ pool bar. The new gym is nice. although you cannot remove cups with water and towels from gym. They offer all inclusive service but if your not participating they frown down on you and treat you second class. They make you wear bacteria collecting wrist bands during your stay to identify you are not all inclusive. Overall I don't feel like returning. I will trade my timeshare and stay elsewhere for remainder of contract. If they want us back they need to change customer service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Princessfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments,

We are very surprised to read about the situation in regards to our towels since this is the first comment we read about it.

We have completed an expensive renovation of our third pool and worked on our pool filtering systems with regular maintenance, It is odd that none of our hundreds of guests has mentioned this. Could this be some type of allergy or reaction to sunscreen?

Regarding our vacation club we have worked diligently to make the introduction of our new program as easy as possible and proof of this is that over two thirds of previous Finisterra owners now have upgraded their memberships. We fully respect those who want to continue with their original program due to time remaining of the program or their personal plans.

Our front desk staff will get a copy of your comments and we will continue to strive for excellence in all our areas. As you can read from other guests they have positive comments about our staff but we can certainly continue to improve.

Thanks again for sharing and we truly hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary @ Sandos Finisterra & were very pleased with the excellent food & service provided to us by the staff. Norma was our preferred waitress as was our bartender Rodolfo. Crazy Joe is one of the best entertainers we have seen.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tabira1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
928 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 118 in Los Cabos
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,258 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $244 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing