We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience 7/13-7/17/2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience 7/13-7/17/2013”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have never been to Cabo before, so we really had no idea what we were doing. Finnisterras a beautiful hotel, great views, great restaurants but most of all great staff. The staff made us feel very welcome. Freddy from front desk, Norma one of our servers and crazy Joel for entertainment were all so nice and helpful! Alejandro also helped us a lot during breakfast! Everyone who worked in this hotel were fantastic! The rooms were clean, everything was well organized! I would definitely come back to this hotel again!

Room Tip: 7th floor is where dinners are all served, but all of the floors have perfect views. We stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    891
    256
    113
    89
See reviews for
582
1,267
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this Terrific Hotel in a relaxing Junior Suite with a Panoramic View of the Pools & Ocean. The location is close to town, Marina, Modano Beach, Mall, Restraunts, Clubs, everything in walking distance. The staff is Very helpful, kind and hard working. We were treated like Royalty. I Encourage U all to leave Common Courtesy Tips. Don Diego Restraunt is very Gourmet with a view. Breakfast Buffet is terrific.The Adult & all Beverages never end. The rooms, swimming pools & entire property is extremely clean. See Juan for all Activities or Excursions for discount deals. You lightly hear Construction, the tide is louder. The Entire Trip was well Worth my pay and I encourage others to experience an enjoyable Vacation for the value.

Room Tip: Our room was Non Smoking side, 5th floor, facing pool and Pacific Ocean. Awesome View. Clean, quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7Mares_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We are owners @ this resort. The only people I can say went out of their way to make our stay pleasant were Freddy the bellman along with other bellman (can't remember name), Rudolfo @ pool very attentive, good customer skills. Otherwise, From the moment @ checkin and checkout Eduardo @ front desk was not pleasant, very rude. @ first he could not find our reservation, had no compassion in helping us. @ checkout he would not give us a printed reciept then when he did, he wouldn't give me reciept showing a zero balance. I felt intimidated to go to front desk and ask for help. The bellman were more helpful. The concierge was glad to chase us down everyday until we went to her presentation and turned them down on making a new timeshare purchase. After that she would not look @ us and could care less what we had going. The pool was not very clean. After swimming we would have a stench on us. We all got skin/flesh disease that came from dirty pool/loungers/towels that are not disinfected. It's red/purple looking splotches all over our bodies. There is NO pool service!! No one will come take your order. You have to go to bar to order drink. They won't allow food @ pool. You're allowed to order and eat in pool restraunt but cannot take food out to pool. Not to mention prices have gone up and are ridiculous @ pool bar. The new gym is nice. although you cannot remove cups with water and towels from gym. They offer all inclusive service but if your not participating they frown down on you and treat you second class. They make you wear bacteria collecting wrist bands during your stay to identify you are not all inclusive. Overall I don't feel like returning. I will trade my timeshare and stay elsewhere for remainder of contract. If they want us back they need to change customer service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princessfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments,

We are very surprised to read about the situation in regards to our towels since this is the first comment we read about it.

We have completed an expensive renovation of our third pool and worked on our pool filtering systems with regular maintenance, It is odd that none of our hundreds of guests has mentioned this. Could this be some type of allergy or reaction to sunscreen?

Regarding our vacation club we have worked diligently to make the introduction of our new program as easy as possible and proof of this is that over two thirds of previous Finisterra owners now have upgraded their memberships. We fully respect those who want to continue with their original program due to time remaining of the program or their personal plans.

Our front desk staff will get a copy of your comments and we will continue to strive for excellence in all our areas. As you can read from other guests they have positive comments about our staff but we can certainly continue to improve.

Thanks again for sharing and we truly hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary @ Sandos Finisterra & were very pleased with the excellent food & service provided to us by the staff. Norma was our preferred waitress as was our bartender Rodolfo. Crazy Joe is one of the best entertainers we have seen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tabira1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent five days at this hotel and were very impressed. The staff was excellent and went above and beyond to be helpful. The restaurant chef was also exceptional. My husband caught a marlin and they prepared us a dinner with the fresh fish that was better than any restaurant in New York or San Francisco. The resort was private and beautiful. It was located close to everything, the town and the marina, a short walk. It is not a kids type of place, it's very romantic. We thank Eduardo at the front desk for everything he did for us. Professional, caring and a gentleman! Eddie and Lucia

Room Tip: "Ocean view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucia_fmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Got to the hotel on 7/2 saw a pile of cement in the middle was already a little bit taken back. Since we got there late they had stopped working, However I was waken by the beautiful sound of tile cutting at 8am. I notified front desk they said they can give me a older room with two beds which is not what I paid for. I spoke to Ramon the sales marketing director and he offered me a deal rest of my days in the upgraded hotel room for 250.00 I was fine with that. He promised me minimal sounds. Come Thursday about 2pm we hear drilling on top of the roof and since we were on the third floor it woke us up from our nap and I called Ramon he came down and said hes going to stop the construction I said ok. Friday it was still a problem however we were at the crappy pool with moody bartenders. However Saturday was the final straw. Again drilling started on our roof sounds like a machine gun in your ear. I went out told the workers we are sleeping and he answered he is working which was rude and extremely ignorant. I called Ramon no Answer so I sent him an email asking for my 250.00 back the sounds are worse than before we upgraded. Went downstairs the manager said that they can give us 30 min free massages. At the same time I got an email back from Ramon stating he will refund me however the front said no refund So i refuse the massage and fled a fraud and lie of service, which they will lose. Anyways point of my story is stay away from this garage hotel. It sucks, sounds are everywhere, management does not know how to cater to their guests and own up to their mistakes Never going here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laman818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your mail Robert.

I also have the mails where we advised you ahead of time of our current condition and we did our best to serve you. Your asistant was able to get one of our lowest promotional rates and needless to say you did enjoy all of our All Inclusive service, meals drinks, gym and spa facilities and I did offer you to change to a different hotel location. You told me everything was fine, that you loved the place and liked the food and service.

We even gave your friends a discounted and extended day pass converted to dinner pass in an effort to complement the noise distractions.

We have a good reputation and Trip Advisor as well as Expedia. Both companies are well aware of clients that try to use their forums in a way to damage a property.
We are ranked in the Top 5 Expedia producers for the destination and we have 4 out of 5 possible points in Trip Advisor. Well above Royal Solaris where you told me you have stayed.

We know we are not perfect but our attempts to meet your requirements unfortunately are now being used against us.

You know that the cost of your basic discounted package was a great deal for what you received, not to mention the special discount offered to your friends, the extension and courtesy dinners and extra use of the rooms.

If you are a business person I trust you will do what is fair.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Finisterra for 2 days at the end of May. We were a little dubious as there were reviews good and bad but we gave it a chance and we are SO glad that we did. The rooms had the most incredible view and were completely new. Super comfortable King size bed (and we booked the cheaper room). Spa bath in the middle of the room. When you arrive you are welcomed by the most lovely reception guys you will ever meet.
The Italian restaurant is amazing. Even in Italy I didn't get Caneloni this good. We had it both nights. It was my birthday on the first night there and the Ceasar in the restaurant organised me a special birthday cake with Happy Birthday written on the plate. Such a sweet touch that they didn't have to do.

The most amazing service we have ever received in any hotel/restaurant etc was that of JESUS in the other restaurant, Don Diegos, and where you eat you (incredible) breakfast. He was welcoming, friendly, genuinely interested in us. We popped in here on multiple occasions purely for his fantastic service. He truely made our stay so amazing and we still talk of him and the hotel to others heading to Cabo. He is absolutely perfect at his job. Make sure you ask for him to be your server. He is tops!
Even the gent (I cannot recall the name of Im sorry to him) who took our bags to our rooms was so friendly and welcoming. Amazing people.
The shower in the room was huge and was cleaned spotlessly each day.
We had room service which was NEVER too much trouble at any time of the day or night.
Truely worth staying here. Maybe ask for one of the new rooms on the hill.
The pools are great and even the service by the pools is exceptional.
The breakfast is honestly mind blowing and incredible. Every fruit you can imagine. Cereal. Yoghurt. Hot meals. Pancakes. Rice. Curry. Cheese. Pastries. Granola. The list goes on and on and on. Unbeatable.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the new rooms on the hill. They are so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganAndTristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,012 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
793 reviews
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,540 reviews
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
548 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing