We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“All Inclusive Not For Us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All Inclusive Not For Us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staff and service were exceptional starting with ELizabthe, Eduardo & Miguel at the front desk. Alvaro, Jorge & Freddy are bellmen that are second to none. Rocelia & Lorena took special care of our room. Norma, Bow Wow and Joel provided great service at the pool.

We don't recommend the all inclusive as their are restaurants within walking distance. Alcohol consumption has increased with the new all inclusive offering along with noise into the late night hours.

While new owners are trying to upgrade, the place has seen better days. Rooms are dated with 20 yr. old couches and some missing furniture. Location is great.

Room Tip: Request a room with all furniture that is supposed to be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you Cal 1942,

We do get several members of the vacation club that feel that the All Inclusive concept is not for them and we fully respect that.

On the other hand, after a conscious market research and industry trends more and more travelers are finding out about the benefits of staying at All Inclusive Resorts. Mainly for the savings this brings to their overall budget and by discovering the high quality in food & beverages as well as entertainment that our Sandos Resorts as well as many other chains bring offer to guests.

We hope that during you next visit to Cabo you give yourself the time to stop by and see all the changes and new additions that we have in place.

Thanks for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    768
    222
    102
    80
See reviews for
467
1,039
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Location, location, location. Nice beach in front of the hotel on the Pacific side (no swimming), an easy walk to the bay side for swimming beaches and activities, and a short walk to the marina and shopping. The rooms and grounds were kept very clean. All the staff was very friendly, especially Jorge and Norma at the Palapa and Marino at the Blue Marlin. Downsides? Construction noise, lack of a screen on the sliding door (to keep mosquitoes out), and noise from the heat pump from the hotel unit next door. I wasn't sure how good the all-inclusive was going to be since there are currently only 2 restaurants but there were plenty of food choices - especially at the breakfast buffet. All and all it was a good stay. I may stay there next time if I ever make it back to Cabo so I can see what has been added with all the construction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrygunGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

As soon as we arrived to our room, we could see whales off the shore! We dodged the person who wanted to sell us a timeshare. They hounded us as soon as we checked in. The front desk could not find our reservation, so I recommend bringing a print out of your reservation with you. All that being said, we had a great stay. It is walking distance to the marina. The hotel is under construction, but it is barely noticeable. We did eat at the restaurant, which is overpriced, but convenient. The pools are very chilly and the hot tub was barely warm, but we spent very little time there. The room was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSpangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife, my son and I went to Finisterra March 9-17. When we booked in December, the all inclusive package and grand opening was to have occurred by March 1. The hotel not only honoured the all inclusive package by providing a la carte meals in la Palapa and the Blue Marlin, but also provided complimentary massages. Meals were excellent and for no additional charge the chef prepared tuna steaks for us (which we caught on our fishing trip).

Though there was some construction, we found it to be background noise and easily tuned out. There was no construction on the weekend or at night to interrupt sleep. We found some of the construction interesting to watch, with new cabanas being erected on the beach, and cement being pumped up three stories.....we'd never seen this before. We look forward to seeing the whale watcher bar and additional restauants once completed.

I misplaced expensive Maui Jim sunglasses at the pool, and was very relieved to have them returned....much to my surprise. Thank you to the honest bartenders and houskeepers for turning them in.

The resort is exceptionally clean and many improvements are being made. Though still in the process of being modernized, we have absolutely no complaints for the price we paid and for the excellent treatment we received. I would suggest higher internet bandwidth for those guests needing to keep up with work. Though I could access the internet, the lack of bandwith made any download very slow.

We will return and feel a loyalty to Sandos for how we were treated. They exceeded our expecations. We have never eaten as well as we did at Finisterra. The choice of fruits, cheeses, breads, meats, eggs, seafoods, drinks etc. for breakfast were incredible. The La Palapa menu included one of the best ceasar salads I have ever had (especially topped with the calamari) and our nightly trip to the Blue Marlin for steak, lobster, Sea Bass, Pasta, desserts including the flambe.....Six star meals every day!

The location is excellent and provides the best of all worlds. The ocean is magnificant to watch and the sealife is abundant. The beach provides a wonderful carefree environment, away from the vendors of town. If needing some city excitment, a 10 minute downhill walk brings you to the marina with hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants. When we left Cabos at 4 a:m the town was still busy! The energy of youth is contagious and very fun to watch.

In particular, we would like to thank Ricardo at the front desk, Norma (and her blue Nikes) for her ever present smile and attention to keeping us well hydrated and satisfied.... to Alexandro's daily attention and Marino at the Blue Marlin - we consider you a friend. Thanks also to all who work behind the scenes to keep the resort running smoothly. Having been to many resorts, we can attest to the fact that staffing at Finisterra is exceptional.

We had a wonderful time. Thank you,

Your Canadian Friends, D, V and A

Room Tip: We enjoyed overlooking the ocean and watching the boats, whales and beach activity from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWS154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My daughter and I took a trip to Cabo during her spring break. The hotel was conveniently located one block from the marina. We walked everywhere. The room was clean, spacious and had a wonderful view of the pool and ocean even on the first floor. There is construction just behind the main building so the lower floor was much better to buffer the noise. We slept every night with the balcony door open. There was no need for air conditioning in March.
The hotel environment was laid back but the main pool offered great activities if you wanted to participate. Poolside offered Zumba, volleyball, trivia, water aerobics, etc during the day for your enjoyment. The lower level pool was more for kicking back and lounging.
The hotel offered dining by the pool which I thought was similar to good bar food. The swim up bar was nice if you didn’t want to get out of the water. I was not impressed with the evening restaurant; the food was OK but really overpriced. We found much better dining along the marina.
Overall, I would stay at this property again; great location, nice rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful and nostalgic. It is the only hotel that overlooks the Pacific Ocean and the Cabo San Lucas Marina. Ask for Freddy, George, Oscar, Ramon, etc at the front esk to help you with anything, The La Palapa is fantastic.. Get the fish tacos or nachos. In the afternoon watch the sunset at the Whale Watcher Bar. Yes, during the winter, they are there!

Room Tip: Enjoy yourself thoroughly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just came back from a week stay at the Finesterra! We 'the sisters' were there from March 13th through the 20th. Do NOT let the reviews fool you! This is a top notch resort. And yes - we were on the 5th floor and traveling on an all inclusive plan. And yes there is construction, but it is not distracting at all. We enjoyed watching the progress, one stone at a time. This team is working hard to bring the resort back. The service and food is impeccable. Alejandro in the Blue Marlin is the best waiter of all times. For breakfast, sit in Jensen's section. The grounds are immaculate. The location is perfect. The pool entertainment by Crazy Joel is outstanding - thanks buddy, and we miss you! Bingo!! Ismal at the swim up bar was a welcome joy every afternoon.

The only thing that could have been better would be a sofa and coffee table in the room. I know you will get there though. The refrigerator did not work, but of course I knew that before we went. This was also not a problem for us.

Thank you for the best time ever!

Room Tip: 5th Floor or higher. Some newly remodel rooms have sofas and coffee tables. Some do not. If this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury...
#13 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#12 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing