We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVE Hotel Finisterra!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreview, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We LOVE Hotel Finisterra!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My Sailor and I renewed our vows on our 5th anniverary on the beach thank you to Lupita, the absolutely BEST wedding coordinator EVER! The ceremony took place at 5 pm and we received a standing ovation after the ceremony from everyone watching, the love of my live was dressed in his US Navy dressed whites. All the guests at Finisterra thanked my loyal and loving husband for his service. The entire staff at Hotel Finisterra is the BEST! Trust us, you won't be disappointed, the staff, service and food are top notch! See you in October for Sammy Hagar's birthday bash!!!

Room Tip: Please choose the Pacific view in January - March for whale watching and Marina view in the Fall. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinisterraLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you FinisterraLovers!

Thank you for sharing your unique experience, we are certain that this will help others to choose our venue for their wedding.

Your ceremony is still talked about by our staff! What a wonderful event and indeed all our guests that witnessed were impressed and we even received a couple of enquiries for future ceremonies. Lupita and her team is getting a lot of recognition for their superb work for ceremonies.

We look forward to your return in October and by then you will see all the new improvements fully operational.

Gracias from all of us at Finisterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    855
    245
    112
    89
See reviews for
540
1,205
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

i Went to this Hotel and is such a beautiful and calm place, so is the people working there. I did stretching and acquagym everyday and i got to meet my favorite staff person known as crazy joel.He totally made my vacations worth it.Thank you everyone for such a beautiful time and special thanks to Joel who always has a smile on his face and look forward too seeing you again in the near future .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you Natalia,

We always appreciate gusts that take a moment to share their experience during their stay with us. Joel is a great asset for the hotel and is an example for the rest of the team. Our goal is to surpass our guest’s expectations with dedicated service, passion and love for what we do.

Looking forward to your prompt return to your home in Cabo, the Finisterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is under renovations with great plans for it. The noise was not a factor. we asked for a king bed and sofa sleeper and got two double beds, we werent happy about that but dealt with it. The fridge didnt work but the concierge gladly got a ice chest. over all its an average place in a great location but they have very big plans and are in the process of renovating. Three pools one warm but thats all that was needed. they will be taking out one pool and putting in an infinity pool and a pool with a water slide. Waters and staff were very friendly. Our pool waiter Abraham was great! Very attentive and friendly. The animation team was great as well, Crazy Joel, Edgar/chocolatay and Bow wow entertained us very well with activities and were also friendly. It's really nice when they take the time to get to know you and be friends. The food was rather expensive but I noticed all of Cabo got that way recently. Food was presented well and tasted wonderful. next to the hotel restaurant you have views of the marina and the pacific. Showers had a steady temperature no problems there. The hotel is in the perfect location to the marina and within walking distance. As always in Cabo you must deal with timeshare people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Laceypony1
Thank you for taking the time to write a very objective review.

We are getting great comments about our entertainment staff and we look forward to more and new improvements all around the public areas as well as rooms and restaurants.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Bc Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Switched from the hotel from hell to the hotel in paradise!!! Right on the Pacific Ocean with a fabulous view from all rooms and if you want you can just watch the whales from your balcony.
Check in was easy, pools were fabulous with NO fighting for places to sit by the pool or on the beach. Food was great, our was breakfast included and it was all you could ask for. You can get all inclusive for $49 a day per person, make sure your travel agent really stipulates this on the check in forms because some people were having problems when they said they had paid for all inclusive already. The only draw back we saw was pressure with the Time Share People of the new owners, but if you said no thankyou right away to any of it they don't bother you after that. We stayed for 6 nights and would definately come back again to this Hotel. Thank you Eduardo at the front desk for all your help, and Sofia was wonderful also.

Room Tip: All rooms were facing the Ocean and had great views. I would say the higher up the better view, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canucksrule_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Canucksrule_13

Thanks for your comments. Whale watching season is a highlight for us and many clients are in amazed when they see the whales jump right in front of the resort
We are trying hard to bring good service and make memorable experiences during your vacation. Regarding the special discounted rate for the Meal Plan that you are describing that is normally offered only to Finisterra Members, so you got a great deal.

About the All Inclusive Plan, it will be in place by May 1 2013. We did have some early bookings that were offered our Deluxe Meal Plan and that is handled directly with their travel agencies.
The popularity of Finisterra is coming back and we see high levels of occupancy and expect more return guests as we continue to improve.

Hope you come back to stay with us for your next Cabo trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

First off, the reason we stayed at Hotel Finnisterra was soley due to the rate we were offered, $57/night including taxes etc. That said, if I was to pay $200+/night like most other beach front resorts I would not be so kind on my rating or feedback.

We received that extremely low rate because of construction at the hotel. Apparently, Sandos (Spain) has purchased the facility and they are doing some much needed upgrades.

The Good: The location, the view, the pools, the spas, the beach. All are what you expect to find at a Cabo beach front resort. Very clean and well kept property both inside and out. The lady that cleaned our room did a great job every day. Eduardo at the front desk; After one night in what is probably the most aweful room we have ever stayed in, Eduardo switched rooms for us and put us on the 5th floor where they had already upgraded to new mattresses (everything else was still old). The beach was awesome and not crowded at all. No vendors.

The Bad: The rooms (old hard mattresses, dated/beat up and missing furniture). The rooms are very old style, like Motel 6 layout, not the modern open floor plan of other cabo resorts. The construction noise. Roberto at the front desk flat out lied to us about construction. The prices on food/drinks. We have stayed at many resorts in Cabo and by far, the prices for food and drinks around the pool were the highest we've seen - 190 pesos for a pretty weak shrimp cocktail. 2 of the 3 pools were cold and only a couple hot tubs were warm.

The location is very good and a short walk to the marina and/or the Collectivo (city bus) stop. The Collectivo is running about 10 pesos/person and will take you any where you need to go.

Net net, if you can get this place for $100 or less per night you should be happy. Be sure to ask for an upper room (5th floor or higher) for a newer mattress. If you are looking at paying more than $100/night, I would suggest staying somewhere else like next door at the Playa Grande.

Room Tip: Stay 5th floor or higher for a newer mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1percentkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear 1percentkids,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to address some of the points that you mentions.

The rate that you had was an error on our behalf since that is a per person rate and we had to honor it since it was given to you by mistake. You can see that our current rates in the internet run from $112 to $165 and up whit the exception of midnight promotions that offer stays below $100 for low occupancy nights for Jan and Feb.

As you mentioned, our remodeling and conversion to All Inclusive will be a major task and will of course cover the refurbishment of the rooms soft and hard goods. We already have some work done in the 2nd and 5th floor and more to come as we get closer to our May 1 deadline.

Regarding our food and beverage we monitor the competition on a regular basis and we assure you that we are within range of other resorts in Cabo San Lucas. You can read from other reviews about this.

As you well stated, our location, beach and value are the highlight and our strongest assets. We invite you on your next trip to Cabo to take a look at all the changes and improvements that we will have available.

And if you happen to stay next door we will like to read your comments regarding room rates, food pricing and overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was my first time in Cabo, i had an over all great experience! i definately would return again , the staff were great and i loved the food . What i loved the most was going for my morning stretches on the beach at 10 am. I found it invigorating and lots of fun . Our stretching intstructor was wonderful and so much fun, Joel you are the best !!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brooke67ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Gracias!

You know you will always have your spot at the 10am class for stretching as well as your lounge chair facing the Pacific!

Pass the word out and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I emailed the timeshare assistant several times asking to change my reservation to add a night, something I have done in the past (and I agree to change to hotel room) but cannot get a response. I had to actually ASK for my 2013 bill and that DID arrive. I even tried the "Contact Us" link on their web site and over a month now have not heard back. When the timeshare office personnel changed last spring things went to hell trying to get anything!.
All inclusive for a resort in walking distance to town is stupid. There are so many great places to eat in San Lucas. I wonder why the local businesses aren't up in arms.
I have been going annually to the Finisterra or more than 10 years. What a disappointment to read what is happening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Wayne E,

We apologize sincerely for this lack of response. We can gladly accommodate your extra night at the hotel section of the hotel.

Please email us your dates to the following mails: reservations@finisterra.com and reservaciones@finisterra.com

We also set up a section informing the Finisterra Members of the current status at our web site

Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing