We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tesoro Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabo Pedregal Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viva Cabo Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Siesta Suites(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,175)
Filter reviews
3,175 results
Traveler rating
1,688
977
293
122
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,688
977
293
122
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegocupcake cafecupcakeswhale watcher bartortuga beachwhite partyagave restaurantvip poolstones clubroyal elite membersfinisterra suiteswim up barmiddle poolocean viewtime shareentertainment teammichael jackson show
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,407 - 2,412 of 3,175 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a disappointment! I had really been looking forward to staying here as we have stayed at the Playa Grande next door several times. This is not a place if you have mobility problems as there is a steep hike up to the resort from the marina area, there is supposed to be a shuttle, but it wasn't working when we were there.
This was obviously a gorgeous place in the past - but it is really run down now. There is construction happening as the hotel has been taken over by the Sandos group and the resort should be beautiful when finished. Our room was shabby to say the least, but what a beautiful view. Nothing worked in our room - and there were leaks under the sink in the kitchen and in the bathroom. Although someone was sent to fix the leak nothing changed... and we spent the time with towels on the kitchen floor . I don't think they are bothering in keeping up with maintenance - just waiting to do the renos (which didn't help us any!). I asked the timeshare sales man (that is ANOTHER STORY) if any of the rooms had been renovated yet - and he told me no - they were working on another area of the room, however talking to someone at the pool - she told me her room was beautiful and modern!
The best part of the resort was the pool - absolutely gorgeous and hardly a soul around it. All inclusive was optional - I don't know where anyone who took that option ate as there was only the pool bar/palapa and the Whalers Bar that appeared to serve food - which was mediocre. However, the Whalers Bar (at the top of the resort) had happy hour from 5-6p.m. and was a beautiful place to watch sunset. I would love to stay there again once the renovations are complete but it will become a mandatory all inclusive which we don't do - such a shame as there are so many great restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susiq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Susuiq101,

Thank you for your detailed comments. We appreciate your opinion and we are sorry that you feel disappointed with your stay.
As you mention we are working with a property that has been open for decades and the renovations are being focused primarily on the original section that dates back to 1969. Also we are working with some of the rooms in our Hotel Section where we are getting many visitors using Internet Booking Engines that have had a pleasant stay.
For our Finisterra member units, we are leaving those at the end since they will also get a detailed facelift. We want to wait to have the new “Finisterra Suites” in the Original Section done for the members to see the finished product with the conversion by March 1, 2013.
In regards to the All Inclusive program we are confident that once people see the quality of our Food and Beverage program, the variety of our a la carte menus and most of all, the great overall savings, our guests will be happy to have all their regular meals and drinks taken care of and will still be able to enjoy the town. We just ask you all to be patient and wait to see our finished product.
Best regards and we look forward to your next visit either by staying with us or taking the time to tour the property after March 1 2013.
Have a wonderful 2013 and best wishes for this Holiday Season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been coming to Cabo and to the Finisterra since 1989. Obviously, the resort has seen better days and I was there to experience them and witness the slow, gradual almost erosive-like decline. The hot tubs haven't been working in years. The Pacific Ocean is at least 10-20 degrees warmer than the pools. The food is mediocre at best. Ice machines on each floor, yet it's a crapshoot as to which of them will be working. Previous ownership lost interest in the property and moved on to other ventures.

However, the resort still has its charms. The bellmen have been with the property for eons. They remember your name and other family members who have travelled with you in the past. Check-in is easy, honest and quick. Contrast that with the cluster-fuc* which is check-in at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. Each time my wife and I come back to Finisterra, which is every year, we are welcomed like family and we feel "at home". It is like visiting your favorite Aunt's place and she has painted or maintained her home in years, but it still harkens back to great memories from the past. Close to town, close to restaurants, beautiful beaches and the resort still has charming beauty like an ancient roman ruin. Built on a great piece of property with views to both the secluded Pacific Ocean and on the other side of the ridge, the bustling marina.
The Finisterra may be grand once again. New owners, new money and promises of a long overdue renovation.

I went through the timeshare presentation and against my better judgement, bought into it. I was able to rescind the deal without much trouble. Thank you Kathya!! Anyway, I bought because I am sentimental about the old Finisterra and they are promising to restore it. The killer for me was the mandatory all-inclusive. Finisterra is ideally situated to enjoy the many fine restaurants in Cabo and all inclusive is not out bag. Thus the rescision. If the new owners do half of what they say they will do, then the Finisterra will be saved, although as a differnet animal. An all-inclusive one. We have 5 years left on our contract and we will continue to stay at the resort and see if the promised updates are delivered. I'm sure all of you have heard empty promises from timeshare guys before, so we will see. If their lips are moving, then they are lying is one way to look at it. Time will tell. I'm cautiously optimistic. Visiting again in January for a guys golf trip at Diamante. Some of us are staying at the Finisterra. I will report back. Keeping my fingers crossed........

Room Tip: For timeshare 715 and 615 are nice. Otherwise the hotel rooms are all pretty much the same. 7th floor has bridge/walkway to restaurant and whale watchers bar.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The staff is half asleep except for the bellhop. The rooms are boring and everything is usually broken. The walk to anywhere is far. The beach is never used and the food is expensive. You have to go to the lobby for internet. No coffee anywhere. It was so much different from any other place I have stayed. Booooooooooring!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Stacssea
Thank you for your comment. We are working in room upgrades and more amenities and entertainment with our conversion to Sandos Finisterra by March 1, 2013.
Many guests are happy with our closeness to town and the clean and private beach that allows for endless walks. Some guests have commented that compared to other hotels and restaurants in town our price and quality was comparable.
We are indeed a quiet place. Hope you stop by during your next visit so you can see for yourselves the upgrades and improvements made.
Best wishes for the Holiday Season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a few days during the Thanksgiving Holiday and regretted every single moment. Starting with the high pressure annoying guys trying to convince you to sit down for a 90 minute brain washing session to try to make you buy a timeshare. These people just don't understand the words NO THANK YOU. The pool water was ice cold and there is no friendly atmosphere. The prices for food and drinks are sky high and terrible in taste. The only good thing about this place is the location. I feel sorry for all those dumb people that buy into the hype that the new all inclusive will be better. My recommendation, wait and see. If you see good reviews then by all means buy in but not before. Send a message to the owners of this place, you try to take advantage of people, we will not come back and will tell everyone about it.

Room Tip: Just STAY AWAY. Not worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ockapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear OcKapin,

Thank you for your review. We respect your point of view but would like to comment briefly on a few points.

If you were one of many guests who enjoyed a very attractive special discuonted rate compared to other similar properties in the Downtown Cabo area you should know the following.

We are the only resort with a Private Beach on the Pacific Side with three outdoor pools and walking distance to town that offered rates under $100 US per night for Thanksgiving week.

We feature three outdoor pools with different temperatures, the middle one by the Palapa bar is heated and we also have 4 Jacuzzis that work and have hot water. We are surprised you did not enquire or found out during your stay. Many return guests are commenting that these are some of the first things they noticed.

Regarding our pricing for food and beverages, we have made a survey on surrounding establishments (hotels and restaurants) and aside from your opinion, we do get many complements on our food quality, portions and price.

We only ask you to be respectful when using this board when referring to our valued guests and members; that for many years visited Finisterra and now are being introduced to all the benefits and values of the Sandos Royal Elite program. Please abstain from calling them "dumb", we have many professionals, business owners, entrepreneurs, lawyers, doctors, retired armed force officials, professors and other successful people that we consider part of our family and can make their own decisions. That is why we already have many new members who have welcomed the new concept and continue to endorse us with friends and family.

We know that a major change as we are embarking will take time to be understood and embraced. But we operate very successful projects in Cancun, two in Playa del Carmen and three in Spain and we are certain that once all the new improvements are in place, many will come back and become our best sponsors.

Whenever you are back to Cabo and stay in another resort, give yourself a few minutes to walk along our property. We´ll look forward to your opinionated comments by then.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have been owners at the Finisterra since 1997, but didn't go last year.
After reading some of these reviews I have tried several times to contact the new management to reserve a unit for next year or at least get some information.
No response whatsoever.
It appeqars they are more interested in selling to all inclusive buyer than taking care of the existing owners

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank ret44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Member,
We understand that as a Finisterra Member you feel a little confused in regards to all the changes that are going on in the hotel and we assure you that we are doing our best to improve all of the hotel's areas and units to provide you with the best service when you come visit us. We are sorry that you feel like there has been s lack of communication and for this reason we would like to provide you with the correct contact information which is: "asist_timeshare@finisterra.com" and as soon as they get your e-mail you will immediately receive a response.

Best wishes for this Holiday Season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews