We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“RUN !!! Do Not stay here if you can possibly change your reservations” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Bothell, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“RUN !!! Do Not stay here if you can possibly change your reservations”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a recent stay at the Hotel Finisterra in Cabo. We DO NOT recommend that people stay there. If you have the opportunity to change your reservations, do so.

The staff are extremely nice, they just don’t have anything to work with. This review is not a reflection on them. These issues are management issues.

It is hard to figure out whether this, once grand, property is failing on life support or dead with someone trying to revive it. The issue range from the property being a ghost town, availability of food and beverage, the price of the food once it is available, lack of maintenance in the guest rooms and deterioration of the facilities to the extent that sliding doors in the room take all the strength and weight one can muster to get them open. Another challenge is, once you cut your rates to the level they have, you attract a clientele that might not even be able to afford the trip, were it not for these cut rates. Listening to drunks fight in a room was an interesting experience, followed shortly by the sound of projectile vomiting. Not your average Cabo Resort experience…

Of particular note our experiences were:

- In a pool area that could easily seat 500, the most ever observed was 11.

- In a restaurant that could seat 200 we were often the only guests. On one occasion, there was another couple there.

- No coffee (or food) is available before 8 AM and there are no coffee makers in the rooms.

- When you do find coffee it will cost you $5 USD per cup in the bar at 8 AM. However they serve no food until 10 AM and then it is only a limited lunch menu. To get breakfast you have to go up 7 stories, cross a bride, go up several more stories and then you can find a good tasting breakfast, albeit quite expensive.

- Have your wallet ready if you go to dinner - a simple dinner of local Mexican food and an ice tea for 2 people cost $62 USD before tip. This is about double what it would cost at any other resort in Cabo.

- This facility has not been maintained in years. Light fixtures are rusting in the rooms, the shower curtain bar was barely staying mounted, there are electrical grounding issues in some of the fixtures – you can feel current flow when you touch the metal fixture and the linens were not of Motel 6 standards.

- The lack of maintenance has lead to corrosion issues that present a danger. The sliding doors serve as a secondary exit to the room. That said, the door was initially corroded shut. Once I was able to get it to open, it took all my strength to open it again. It was on the track, just simply corroded to the point of failure.

All or a significant part of this property needs to be shut down until it can be brought up to reasonable safety and maintenance standards.

We booked through Expedia. We were shocked that they would list this property, in its current condition. Interestingly enough, we posted a review of our stay on Expedia, at their request, and they have yet to post our review.

If you value your vacation time, do not stay at this property. It is not a place to go and enjoy your time away.

Room Tip: Choose a good room by going to another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnKen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear AnnKen58,
We thank you indeed for your comments. As you well state in your detailed description we do have several issues regarding refurbishments, updates, remodeling, more food and beverage options, better hours of service and menu variety and pricing.
This are all the reasons why Sandos Hotels and Resorts saw a property that regardless of the legendary status and great location was in need of help in order to bring out all the potential that it has and that many happy guests have shared in this forum.
It is not an easy task and this is why we have extended our conversion date to March 1, 2013. We will have a total of 5 restaurants 5 bars and new and improved rooms and facilities.
During your stay we were running at close to 50% occupancy on the Ocean View Section that has 190 rooms (Our remaining 98 rooms from the original section and our Bay View rooms are closed due to the remodeling) With 3 pools, private beach and walking distance to town you were witness to the relaxed and peaceful ambiance Finisterra is famous for.
If you are a Cabo regular and have an opportunity to stay at some of the Marina hotels that have similar price range you will be able to notice the difference in our facility and grounds as well as ample spaces and dedicated staff. If you can make some time during your next visit to stop by and see for yourselves the improvements made, maybe you will be able to share them here as well.
Best regards and thank you kindly again, we value your time for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    800
    231
    105
    84
See reviews for
493
1,109
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not because it is bad, but because the new owners are making it something that we do not want. For 20 years, we have faithfully traveled to this hotel - and we are grateful that we have had the opportunity. Hands down, this is the best location in Cabo. You can walk the quiet Pacific beaches without interruption from vendors or you can walk into town to visit the many restaurants around the marina and beyond. This trip, we were coerced into a timeshare presentation - which takes 3 hrs rather than the promised 90 min. It is sad to see that the new owners are so disconnected to what Cabo fanatics love. We do not travel to Cabo for fancy restaurants that require formal attire, nor do we want activity directors (we would take a cruise instead). Our family could care less about yoga classes and water aerobics - we want to lay by the pool and enjoy a beer. Our timeshare guy went on and on about how upset the current hotel timeshare owners are and he just did not seem to get it. They would have liked the hotel to keep current - new linens/decor and general maintenance - they did not want it to be gutted, changed to a private 5 star and the price increased dramatically with the soon to be mandatory all inclusive. They offer "members" wait staff, and advise that hotel guests won't have them - what?! Even if the hotel guest is paying top dollar for the all-inclusive plan. Cabo is a place to get away from the rules of "home" - changing Finisterra to be so upscale that you have to carry formal wear and take out a small loan to visit, is not what we have in mind. Besides, we love to visit the restaurants in town - that's half of the fun. Sorry to see these changes - we will miss it here tremendously.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eims4gsds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Eims4gsds,
We truly thank you for sharing a very warm and candid opinion of your experience during your recent stay with us.
As you well state, the Hotel Finisterra has a unique location and has established a casual “Cabo Home” feel that made us popular for many decades.
Regarding the presentation that you had; the timing depends greatly on the level of interest as well as the questions and details our representative’s share during your time together. Since the Sandos concept is new to the area we brought along some of our best staff from Playa del Carmen where we have very successful operations at Sandos Caracol and Sandos Playacar (that you can check in our web at sandos.com
Part of the presentation is to share some of the benefits that the new members will enjoy, but maybe your impression that our hotel guests that come for an All Inclusive Vacation will not have waiters to attend them might be mistaken. You may be referring to the new Whale Watchers Lounge that is located above the famous Whale Watcher Bar that will be exclusive for members.
Cabo is a destination with many faces: casual, relaxed as well as formal and classy. As you know Los Cabos is famous from having some of the most expensive resorts and restaurants in all of Latin America that will rival any world known destination. This is why we are offering several options for dining that will range from our casual beach ware Tortuga Beach Restaurant & Bar or the new Don Diego Lounge that will offer casual Buffet breakfast ambiance overlooking the Bay and featuring Themed a la carte dinners with our new open air kitchen. The famous Palapa Restaurant and Pool Bar will continue to feature snacks, Mexican and seafood. Maybe what you recall from the presentation was the formal Blue Marlin restaurant for a new gourmet experience.
Regarding the upcoming activities like Yoga classes and water aerobics we have 3 pools where space will be respected for those who do not want to participate in the activities, but you must agree with us that there are many other families that will like to have them.
Regarding the comments from current members we are trying to “get it”. We will try our best to balance the Finisterra feel with the new and improved Sandos experience.
We hope that you give us the opportunity during your next visit to Cabo to see what we have accomplished from listening to comments like yours and others.
Best regards and best wishes for this Holiday Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We selected Hotel Finisterra based on a package deal with US Airways. The location was good, just a short walk to the Marina down the hill. We were given a large clean room on the second floor. Unfortunately for us, there was a massive generator for the nearby property 50 yards from us the hummed all day and night. The property is on a lovely private beach, but water is unswimable due to the bad rip tide. This did not bother us as we walked to Madano beach daily. We did attempt to have a relaxing day by the pool, but had to cut it short due to a number of inconveniences. 1. drinks were overpriced and poorly made. 2. We could not charge the drinks to our room since they had no record of anyone staying in our room. 3. Although there are 3 pools, one with a swim up bar, the pools were taken over by 10-12 children. I would recommend having 1 pool designated for either adults or children only. Our room was first cleaned only after requesting it be cleaned after 2 days.

Other inconveniences experienced during our stay included, although our room was recently renovated, the light next to the bed did not work, we could not take a shower since the metal shower pull on the spickot (?) was bent and unable to pull up. After reporting these items to the front desk, they were repaired same day. The most aggrevating part of our trip was the nonstop barrage from Sophia trying to get us to attend a timeshare presentation.We heard every sob story, and told us by going would help her with her boss (blah..blah...blah). Each time we said no, she would ask why. She could not take no for an answer. They call her a Conciege, however, this is far from it. Conciege are supposed to assist and help clients, not the other way around. We arranged several activities in Cabo, but arranged for them outside the hotel.

Our fondest memory regarding service during our trip at Hotel Finisterra was the superb sincere service provided by Miguel at the security gate booth. He was outstanding. So helpful, and friendly. He deserves a raise!
Although our first experience at the hotel was not ideal, it has potential, and we may return.

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd flr on the western side are closest to a large generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibs_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sibs_Travels
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay. It is helpful and we have taken action regarding Miguel and Sofia as far as sharing your comments with them.
Miguel was very pleased and has always been very attentive and will have a great future with the company. Regarding Sophia she had a meeting with management and will be monitored.
Our intent is to have as many guests hear from themselves and on a firsthand basis all the things that Sandos has to offer with the Royal Elite program and have a fair opportunity to be some of the first to take advantage of all the pre opening specials.
We are taking action regarding the Kids pool and we are reviewing our no cash policy for the wait staff by preparing a document upon check in to advice guests of this fact. Also we are looking at ways to have a functional form to charge to the room or open a “tab” by the pool.
We sincerely hope to have you visit us again in the near future so you can share with all of us your “before and after” experience.
Best wishes for you and yours during this Holiday Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

After visiting the Finisterra on our recent visit to Cabo, we have found that the "new sales associates" are very courteous but in a nice way tell the current Finisterra owners like second class citizens. If you do not elect to trade in your current ownership to Finisterra for Sandos, they offer you no maintenance fees for the remainder of your ownership. However, you will not be able to use the full facilities and if you elect to use the pool while you are staying there you will have to bring your own beverages and food to the pool as you can not purchase any drink or food at the resort. Makes me want to stay there! Oh and you can not use any of the restraunts while you stay there. If you elect to stay there and pay their all inclusive fees, because you are not a Sandos member they double the fees which would range from $120.00 to $240.00 a day per person and you must buy for the entire time you stay there. Not my cup of tea . . . . they can have there ALL INCLUSIVE. They also will not give you anything for your ownership so guess it's my loss their gain. They just will not get any possitive feedback from me, on the contrary, I will tell everyone I can to stay away. To bad Finisterra is one of the best locations in Cabo for access to the city and many fine reastraunts for dinning.Sandos may have good intentions but should treat the remaining Finistera owners with better respect. Mark from Oregon

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Playa Grande they treat you like royalty
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mark F,

First of all we would like to thank you for the review as our clients’ opinion is what matters most to us as a growing company.
Since Sandos took over the operation of the Finisterra Hotel, one of our main priorities was to ensure the satisfaction of our Finisterra Members, given that we understand the fondness that you have towards the hotel after coming back every year and for that reason our goal is to provide you with the warmest welcome.
We are very sorry that you got the idea that the Finisterra Members were going to be treated as second class citizens, but sadly, this information could not be further away from the reality and on the contrary, as the serious company that we are, we are respecting your inventory under the terms and conditions that you had before, improving and remodeling the hotel’s facilities and common areas to be sure that not only our Sandos guests, but our Finisterra Members as well, get the service they deserve.
On top of this, we would like to clarify that as a Finisterra Member you are always welcome to use the restaurants and bars in the hotel as long as you cover the corresponding consumption cost like it has always been done. In case you want to take an advantage of the complete All Inclusive Services which not only includes food and drinks but also includes waiter services, access to the gym, access to the Spa, and entertainment activities in the hotel along with others you can feel more than welcome to cover the All Inclusive Rate which will be a fair competitive price for the market.
We would like to invite you; in case you have any questions regarding the hotel services and all the changes that are being made, to please contact the same Finisterra members customer service e-mail that you have always used , so that this way it is not posted on the website and confuses other Members and we will be also able to give you a more personalized attention service.

We will keep working to improve your experiences so that next time you visit us, you will feel fully satisfied and more.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have always loved the Hotel Finisterra except that many times the pool has not been heated. We come down there to relax in November and since the beach is unswimmable, we always look forward to hanging out by the pool. Sometimes the pool is a decent temperature, but many times it is way too cold to go into. I love the rooms and the staff are all awesome! The pools are beautiful and they would be perfect if they would just take the chill off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Becky,

Thank you for your comments. We are aware of the pool temperature issue during the winter months. This far November has had excellent weather and is one of our best months overall weather-wise.
We are taking action and we are currently working with the Jacuzzi hot tubs and also the heating for the main pool next to the Palapa Bar.
As the conversion to Sandos Finisterra All Inclusive for our March 1, 2013 date advances, more improvements will be in place.
We look forward to hearing your comments after your stay.
Saludos and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

All returning members to the Finisterra and new arrivals need to be warned that they will be greeted and continuously pestered by Royal Elite Timeshare Group who are working on behalf of Sandos Resorts. Their intentions are to convince you to sit through a ninety minute (which turns into a 3 hour) presentation. Sandos is turning The Finisterra into an 'all-inclusive' resort where you can purchase 30 year memberships which include 'room, food and beverages'. During the week I was there, I heard several different stories from those who attended the presentations and concluded that no one really knows the facts of what is really going on. From three to fourteen restaurants and a night club? What is the real truth. The people who actually purchased a 30 year package paid approximately $15,000 for 30 years (they can use 2 weeks per year). They said that included the weekly 'maintenance fee', but you still have to pay $198 per week (which can increase by 2% per year) for 'operating costs'. Just different terminology for 'maintenance fees'. In addition, they will have to pay anywhere from $80 - $140 per person per day for food and beverages (that's not been determined which makes it challenging to comprehend why they can't provide a potential purchaser the exact amount). If you purchase a one bedroom unit, then you will have to pay for three people per day at the rate of $80 - $140 EACH. Average that amount to $100 per day, per person for seven days and it adds up to $2100 per week for three individuals ... just for food and beverages. I'm disappointed to see timeshares turning all inclusive in Cabo San Lucas as it is truly a haven for some of the finest dining experiences in all of Mexico. I would NOT recommend purchasing an all-inclusive package at this rate, especially when all-inclusive packages including airfare for a five star resorts in Cabo can be as low as $700 per week per person. That's including airfare!!! The numbers I quoted above are from a couple who actually purchased a one bedroom package. The advantage they have is accumulated air miles that will cover their transportation to and from Cabo. The new Junior Suite I viewed displayed inexpensive furnishings, draperies, bedding ... and that's it. The same pink paint and tiled floors. As a travel consultant for Expedia, I viewed other resorts during my week in Cabo and can honestly say Sandos has a long way to go to make Sandos Finisterra a five star resort (as advertised with Sunwing and Westjet Vacations starting in March 2013). I find the location is the most redeeming quality, but the rest is yet to be seen.

Room Tip: Ocean view Only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VancouverTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear VancouverTripper,
We are sorry to see that your post has been to warn people about a perception you have and not to tell people about your Vacation experience at the Finisterra. I will try and clarify all your points in order for readers to understand the nature of the circumstances. Nevertheless, most points can be cleared with a bit of common sense, for example your pint regarding the number of new restaurants where you mention there could be thirteen… well clearly this is impossible as to have thirteen restaurants you would need a resort of more than 1500 rooms. The Finisterra currently only has 300. Regarding the hotel rates it is impossible for any resort to provide exact rates as they always vary depending on season and specials that are being launched at any moment. Something, that as a travel consultant for Expedia I am sure you are well aware of. Regarding the rate, with Royal Elite you are not buying the unit, you are buying the right to the Member discounted rate plus all the benefits of being a Royal Elite member. If you want to read current members testimonials all you need to do is go to our more developed sister resorts (Sandos Caracol and Sandos Playacar) here on Tripadvisor and start reading reviews where you will find many satisfied members.
We have spent many years investing in the Royal Elite product and I think you will find it is amongst the best value for money in the Market. The Finisterra is a new product for us, and it will take some time and investment in order to get it up to the level of our other resorts. For this, we ask you all for some patience. Rome was not built in a day, but good things come to those who wait.
We are a small company compared to others so we cannot invest in entire hotel refurbishments in one go. Instead we make continuous improvements until we get everything the way we like and I think out attention to detail and continuous innovation is appreciated by people who visit our resorts as we always have something new.
We are not sure what Junior Suite you viewed but the new units are currently being built and there are none to see. They are totally new with natural luxury materials and everything you would expect from a luxury resort. Our aim is to continuously invest and turn the Finisterra into one of the best products in Cabo.
When the resort opens as Sandos Finisterra in March, it will have; all new Royal Elite rooms with a private pool and bar overlooking the Marina. A ¨village square¨ opposite what is now the convention center with sweeping views of the Marina (At night this village square will have entertainment and live music, lounge areas etc). A state of the art Spa with Gym with the best Technogym equipment overlooking the Marina. The Whalewatcher suite will become a Royal Elite VIP Club for members only. The convention Center will become a Luxury Buffet for breakfast and dinner with special themed nights (similar to Sandos Cancun). The current Whalewatcher Bar will become a Sports Bar and disco at night. Blue Marling will remain the same for now. The Pool Palapa will host Mexican A la Carte in the evenings. Also to the right of the pools next to Capella there will be a new snack bar during the day and a casual no reservation dining experience on the beach for the evening. The pool next to the beach will also have a makeover.
This is merely phase one for 2013. We expect to make many more improvements year on year in order to keep our customers satisfied. If any of you have any doubts about our objectives as a company please read up on our other resorts. We are in the business to make customers happy in order for them to return year on year in order to enjoy the Sandos Experience.
If you have any doubts please do not hesitate in contacting us,
Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We bought our first timeshare at the Finisterra in 1994 and have bought three more weeks since then. All of our weeks were in the "old" section--our favorite place despite aging problems and minimal updating. Never have we been disappointed with the cleanliness of our rooms nor the helpfulness of the staff, many of whom have been at the Finisterra since we started coming to Cabo. The staff has remained positive and are some of the kindest, most helpful we have met. We consider them friends, and hope the new owners realize that the employees are what have kept things running (not the owners) despite all of the negative comments that have been posted. Please do not let any of them go! They have ALWAYS made our visits wonderful, despite the lack of maintenance in some areas. Employees can only do so much without funding from a politician owner. But we all overlooked problems because of them!

Our biggest fear now is that we will be forced to buy into an all-inclusive plan for our meals. Besides loving to cook, I and my husband love to patronize all of the easily accessible small restaurants downtown. We will be asking the new resort owner to please not force us into the all-inclusive meal plans. If one is staying on the corridor, then it might make sense; for those of us staying at the Finisterra, this does not! Rather, they should offer discounted prices to owners, and maybe we will then voluntarily choose to eat one or two meals a day at the resort. We love the happy hours (best drinks around), the Finisterra Nachos are the best in Cabo, and the calamari at the pool are super!

As I said, it's been a great time; I hope it will continue to be so until our contracts expire.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Slovak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Sharon WI,

Thank you kindly for your comments. As you can read from other responses we will have the option for our current members to stay with their actual program with no obligation to purchase the new All Inclusive program.
But at the same time, we invite you to take the time to learn where we are heading with Sandos and all the benefits that this will bring the new members. Many that had similar feelings and perception as the value of the All Inclusive program once they see for themselves the savings and improvements being made are convinced that it will help them save and still have the freedom to go into town and enjoy it.
We hope that during your next visit you can take the time to hear and see for yourselves.

Best wished for this Holiday Season and see you soon in Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#58 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Res...
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing