We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT IS WHAT IT IS.... VALUE...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Suisun City, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“IT IS WHAT IT IS.... VALUE...”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The wife and I spent 4 nights here with a bunch of friends. A friend of our found a groupon for this place and considering the size of our group (about 10) we figured it would be an agreeable place that would fit everyone's budget. And thus our decision to stay here.

Cabo has a lot of fabulous and luxurious resorts. If luxury is what you're looking for then this is obviously not what you are looking for. This place is for the traveler looking for value.

THE FACILITIES
I have to say the resort was very well maintained for it's age. The grounds were kept very well.

We had a harbor view room with a good size balcony. However, the rooms were realtively small and they had no tables! Basically it was a bed, a TV, and a dresser drawer.

There is no tub. Just a shower, a toilet, and a sync. Something needs to be done about the water pressure and shower head. The water felt like a laser!

THE FOOD
The restaurants are exceptional value. The food was delicious and service great. They were kind enough to cook up some fish that we had caught fishing (of course for a fee). The Whale Watcher Bar had a nice view.

THE POOL
This has to be where I have the most to complain about.

First off, it seems this hotel has a deal with a cruise ships where cruisers book a visit to the pool here as an offshore excursion. They get a buffet meal and use of the pools. Why would a cruiser pay for this offshore excursion beats the heck out of me? The first couple days we were there the Disney Cruise ship was in town. Needles to say there was a bunch of kids running around splashing us we ate next to the pool.

Second, the pools were cold. And so were the jacuzzis for the most part. I only saw the jets working on one of the jacuzzis the whole time we were there and it was as we were leaving.

LOCATION
Great location. A short walk to all the restaurants and clubs.

CONCLUSION
In conclusion, it is what is is... VALUE.... if you are on a budget or just looking for a place to not spend a lot of money while you are partying in Cabo! This is it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kngjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,485
    899
    258
    113
    89
See reviews for
590
1,286
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Finisterra. We have been going for 12 years and yes do have a timeshare so we get one of the wonderful Ocean view rooms. There are a lot of truths to the other reviews. We too are dissapointed with a number of the amenities that have not been kept up. However, the positives are as follows; location, location, location. The rooms are old but still very large and accommodate our family of 5 well. The service and people at Finisterra are wonderful. The food at the Palapa is great for a low price and the drinks are reasonable especially during the famous 2-4pm happy hour. We too hope that the new owners put some money into the resort and make it one of the best in Cabo like it used to be.

Room Tip: MAKE SURE you get a room in the main hotel area that faces the Ocean. The rooms are much nicer. DO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just came back on a trip with a friends over the weekend. Purchased through Groupon. A couple of comments:

1. They don't take AMEX.
2. After checking in they were not clear where our rooms were - so we were roaming around the property looking for our rooms. With our bags.
3. Hotel gets bombarded by Cruises 3 x a week - so be prepared for Kids from every direction from the Disney Cruise ship
4. They put us in a double bed room after it was requested that we have a single bed.
5. Bathroom was small and difficult to maneuver around.
6. Every time I went to cash out my bill they always said that my room is booked under Peggy. I am not Peggy and stop asking me why the room is under my name - Call the front desk and figure it out yourself.
7. The Pools are FREEZING. I inquired about this before i went on the trip and reservations said that they pool has been fixed and is now heated. Funny thing is - no one wanted to go to the pool because it was too cold. Even the Jacuzzis were cold!
8. Showers are horrible - you feel like you're getting pierced and the restrictor needs to be removed from the shower head.
9. The food is ok - and doable - margaritas are strong.
10. Friends got charged $40.00 for not returning their towels to the towel lady. Imagine leaving from your vacation and getting hit up for 40 USD for forgetting to return towels. "Hope you had a nice stay - you forgot to return your towels - we're charging you $40 bucks" (Insert foul language here).


All in all I would not stay here again. If it wasn't for the distance from town and the company - i would have moved or been miserable. You get what you pay for from the groupon.

Room Tip: Ask for the Marina Side...heard the rooms are newer over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Gracias Beverly,

We have tried hard to improve in many of the areas that you mention in your review. All of our client’s comments are welcomed and taken into consideration in order to better our service.

As you can tell we are just starting to go over the Trip Advisor responses and have seen better satisfaction of our guests as time passes.

We hope you have the chance to stop by during your next visit to Cabo to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have ALWAYS stayed at the Finisterra over the years of traveling to Cabo. We haven't gone in about 5 years and just came back. We stayed for six nights. Everything is starting to get older. The beds were HORRIBLE! Rock hard along with the pillows. Low lighting in the bathrooms, couldn't see a thing. Very disappointing. Ate at the Whale Watcher bar one time. I ordered Chicken Enchiladas, had about 3 TINY pieces of chicken in it. Food was VERY disappointing. We walked next door everyday for Breakfast at the Playa Grande Resort and sat right on the beach watching whales breach, llstening to harp music, great food. At the Finisterra only one jacuzzi was even close to warm and it was occupied ALL the time. The rest were cold. Staff at the desk and door were friendly and kind as always. No gym/spa faciliities. It was just sold to new ownership, time will tell. Its going to take alot of money to compete with all the new resorts. We will definitely be staying elsewhere next trip to Cabo. Its sad that they haven't kept up with the demand. It used to be a four star in my book, it is now a 2, maybe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Debbie R,

Thank you very much for your comments and indeed we are aware of the points that you mention. That is why since the new company took over, changes have been made in many areas and there are still more to come.

Please take a minute to view some of the most recent comments from other guests where you can read the improvements made and the ones to come in the near future.

We hope that you make the time to stop by and see the new SANDOS FINISTERRA LOS CABOS All Inclusive Resort during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Well the owners and new managers (Sandos) have apparently decided that including the Finisterra in cruise ship tours is more important than supporting those who have supported this resort over the years. About every other day the pool and the Palapa are invaded by a bunch of freaks off of cruise ships. We have never seen the likes of this!!!! As a timeshare owner for about 20 years we are appalled.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Pacific and others have a Marina View If you don't care about w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Battman125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Gracias for your comments.

We certainly appreciate all the input we get from our valued guests and particularly from vacation owners that have been with us for many years.
One important thing to point out is that we have a raltionship with the Cruise companies for more than 6 years and regluarly on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and certain Fridays we have groups of people that want to enjoy the beach, pool and hotel facilites during their stop over at the port.

This has been monitored with guest’s surveys and comments and the majority seems to enjoy the ambiance and livelihood they bring for a few hours. Normally our resort has remained as very quiet and low key.

With the new improvements, the new SANDOS FINISTERRA LOS CABOS All Inclusive Resort will be a very appealing option especially for the former vacation members that have been patient for many years in hopes to see more funds injected to the resort.

Please take a moment to view some of the recent comments. We look forward to your next visit
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Went up to the Whale Watcher bar to see if we could catch sunset and some whales. It was happy hour so the drinks were 2 for 1. We enjoyed the view and saw a couple of whales off in the distance breaching and having a great time. Well worth the trek for happy hour with the whales!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatordogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations for views, spacious rooms and an interesting property layout. We enjoyed the walk across the bridge to the Whale Watcher Bar, beyond the waterfall and the fabulous views of the marina. We arrived late and were annoyed that our request for a room on a high floor in the Palapa Beach Club turned out to be on the 3rd floor, but the desk attendant was very polite in telling us they would try to move us the next a.m. BUT we were very pleased with our pool/ocean/beach view and our spacious tiled deck, so we opted to stay where we were. ALL of the Palapa Beach Club views are supposed to have a good view of the ocean/beach and I think that is probably true. Marina views would also be okay. Some of the photos on this hotel website really SUCK and do not do the hotel justice! Yes, (as per some of the Trip Advisor reviews that we read), parts of the hotel are a little tired, but the rooms are exactly what the photos show...ceramic tiled, spacious and clean. The pool deck lounges are the only thing we thought DESPERATELY needed attention, as the fabric was quite worn and the pool towel 'gestapo' would only allow you ONE pool towel at a time, so it was difficult to cover up the unsightly and worn lounges. The Spring Breakers were quite well behaved and mostly congregated at the pools closest to the beach, so we enjoyed our 2 for 1 drinks at the pool every afternoon. We loved the Whale Watcher Bar and ate appetizers there a couple times...my husband thought the men's restroom was the coolest because one entire inside wall was the stone mountain! We used CABO TRANSFERS for our airport transportation (recommended by the hotel) and were very satisfied. You can call an 800 number and speak to them and if you don't want to use paypal, you can wait until you arrive and pay them cash. I was a little concerned they may not show up to retreive us from the hotel after we paid cash up front, but they arrived right on time for our departure. We took the TROPICAT catamaran sunset cruise one night. They serve unlimited drinks (even frozen White Russians!) and heavy appetizers, but it is NOT a BOOZE CRUISE, so we were very happy with our experience. We also enjoyed taking the water taxi (about $3 per person) to Medano Beach for breakfast at The Office, which was fun. Your table is outdoors in the sand with lots of umbrella cover and the food was good, with great service and reasonably priced ($8). The beach vendors are not allowed into the restaurant area, so you get a little repreive from the constant requests for purchases. PAY ATTENTION to all of the reviewers and AVOID the time share agents...the 90 minute promise is a fallacy and you will be there for AT LEAST 3 hours! The time share hawkers in the airport were very deceiving and one guy kept standing in front of us telling us he was the airport manager and he had to see our transportation voucher over at his desk. We fell for that...even though our transportation company warned us about it and we finally caught on and escaped! Hotel Finisterra exceeded our expectations...it is not a 5 star hotel, but we were very happy with their value and anytime we had a housekeeping need, it was dealt with immediately. We loved the quaint short walk among cobblestones (sorta) up the hill to the hotel...it was very private and relatively quiet. When we wanted action, we walked to the marina boardwalk or downtown. Adios!

Room Tip: Request a high floor in the Palapa Beach Club for great views and more quiet...nothing lower than fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katdod50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,237 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing