We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tesoro Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabo Pedregal Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viva Cabo Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Siesta Suites(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,175)
Filter reviews
3,175 results
Traveler rating
1,688
977
293
122
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,688
977
293
122
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegocupcake cafecupcakeswhale watcher bartortuga beachwhite partyagave restaurantvip poolstones clubroyal elite membersfinisterra suiteswim up barmiddle poolocean viewtime shareentertainment teammichael jackson show
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,659 - 2,664 of 3,175 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2007

After spending 7 days at the Finesterra my wife and I are now planning our return. Overall this was a wonderful experience. The service was excellent. We stayed in the old section and the room was immaculate and cleaned daily. The pool area was clean and well maintained. The service from the pool bar staff was excellent regardless of where we sat. We ate all of our meals at the hotel as there just never seemed to be a good reason to leave. The marina area while quite nice is timeshare hell. You can't walk anywhere without being accosted by salespeople trying to sell you timeshares or water activities. We have traveled quite a bit and have never seen anything quite like it. The vendors are even allowed to wander through the waterfront cafes while you are eating and solicit you. A restaraunt manager struck up a conversation with us as we were enjoying a drink and then tried to sell us a timeshare visit.
The Finisterra is located on top of the hill overlooking the Pacific and the marina so you get a fantastic view of both. The food in the hotels restaraunt, the Blue Marlin was wonderful and priced right. I have paid much more for much less in other places. This is a great hotel for anyone looking for a nice quiet vacation with great service and wonderful food. I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mohacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

From the moment we walked in Finisterra we knew we were in for a great vacation! Our room was beautiful with a magnificent view of the pool/beach. I would recommend requesting a room on the south east end of the hotel away from the construction going on next door. The construction is loud in the morning, so if you like to sleep in, definately request to be away from the noise! I also highly recommend taking advantage of all the two for ones during happy hour! The service is great and the pool is awesome! We are definately going back to Cabo and making reservations at Finisterra again! Great place for honeymooners, or couples that want a quiet get away vacation.

If you are looking for activities to book we would also highly recommend the Sunrider sunset cruise. Make sure you book it with the concierge at the hotel upon arrival, and not with anyone in the airport, on the harbor or soliciting on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank keithmegspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Very average "western" Hotel for Mexican standards. You won't find carpeting, fridge or microwave in any rooms. Basic brick walls with gorgeous view to the ocean. Some rooms have no view. The fridge in the room has security seal. Once you break the seal, you must pay for ALL contents, not just what you used. It is better to purchase a large cooler and fill it with free ice from the hotel. Buy some bottles of whatever you like from a nearby grocery store. That way you can even take it with you if you have a car.
When entering the room, you have to place your plastic door key into a slot on the wall inside in the room. This will turn on the electricity in the room. This took a while of running around trying to ask why I don't have electricity in the room. If you have a car, you have to park it in the covered parking area. This has a great access to the four floors building, but a long long long walk and two elevator rides to the high rise that has eight floors.
It is illegal to swim in the ocean at any of the resorts or hotels in this area. They are very strict about it. There are very nice public beaches (about six) around the area, but you must use car or water taxi and none has any bathrooms or drinks or food.
This hotel closes it's poolside bar at 8PM sharply. This is the Sadly, this is the time when the air temperature is low enough to enjoy a beer outside at the bar next to the pool. You are out of luck.
There is a sign in the room, “Hanging any cloth article is prohibited on the balcony” that makes a bit had to dry wet swimsuits, we tried in the bathrooms, or in the room, but air-conditioned rooms are not the best to dry clothes.
Police is corrupt and even more than other parts of Mexico. They pulled me over a couple of times for no reason asking for $100, than $50 and my wrist watch. I recommend taking the rental agency sticker off from the car asap. Also, I had an AVIS car and had a flat tire on the first night. There was no spare tire in the car. It took a day for Avis to come out and provide me with another car. At end of the vacation, when returning the car, AVIS charged me $500 (yes $500) for the flat tire. I didn't know that even Avis is corrupt in Mexico.
So back to the hotel, it is very nice, but gets boring soon as you can't get to the ocean. and has no fun place to eat or drink. I like to just walk on the beach and get to play with Wave Runners or parasailing, or whatever, but here you have to ride bus or car where you can schedule / rent one, so it is like planning another vacation just to have some fun on the water.
By the way, the swimming with the Dolphins aquarium is just across on the street, but it costs $170 per person. It is a bit steep. They don't even let you see the dolphins unless you pay this amount.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Endre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Hotel Finisterra is a fantastic resort. Been here for 3 days now and staying for another two, and I loved it so much I wanted to use their free wireless internet to write a review about it. The staff is helpful and friendly, the complex clean and beautiful, it's a brief walk to down town and the marina, but far enough to still be relaxing and off the beaten path. Happy hours are great, the pools are awesome, and even though the beach is not swimmable (that part of the pacific has a deep shelf right at shore that is very dangerous for any swimmer), the water taxi to a swimmable beach is just 5 minutes and $4. If you want a beautiful, affordable, and non-spring breaker-ish type of hotel, then Finisterra is your answer!

Stayed: September 2007
7  Thank smalls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I, both baby boomers, loved our four-night stay
at the Finesterra in May. From our third-story balcony, we had beautiful views of greenery, three pools, and the Pacific Ocean. The crashing waves lulled us to sleep at night. Viewing stars and constellations was wonderful, either from the room or walks during late night.

Party-types may have found it too quiet, but we loved the atmosphere, a good mixture of all age groups.and characters.
Hotel staff was congenial and prompt when asked for assistance. Our room was kept spotless day after day.

Some construction was going on, which was annoying, but we left every day to explore the area, golf, or lounge on beaches across the harbor.

We would ask Finesterra come up with softer matteress or load up on spongy mattress pads.

Walking downtown is easy (you do walk down-hill for a few blocks) so wear comfortable shoes and maybe a sweater; nights can be cool.. Driving or shuttles are an option. We had a rental car, which is a necessity if you want to see anything besides downtown Cabo.

If you're not into time-shares, avoid the "free gift" welcome package.

Whale Watcher bar is beautiful, comfortable, and reasonably priced. A good place to entertain friends.

We only ate breakfast at the Finesterra, and it was delicious.. Too many places to visit during the day and night.

We would consider re-visiting the hotel, but the hard beds have to go.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Hollloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews