We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and very friendly staff, wish I can avoid their presentation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good location and very friendly staff, wish I can avoid their presentation”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We just came back from Cabo and stayed 4 nights at Cabo villas. It is a very good hotel located at a fantastic location (if you want to be slightly away from downtown and marina but yet close enough). The view is great and beach is right at your foot steps. Three pools and a jacuzzi (gorgeous view). Plenty of food choices and even having Baja brewing company right on site. This hotel is also only a few foot steps away from "The office" and "the mango deck"! and a lot more eating/drinking places, we really took advantage of that.

Happy hour deals at the pool for most part of the day and delicious margaritas as good as you will find anywhere. Very friendly staff, big room and comfortable. We had a good time here. I only wish that this is one of those location where there is no membership/timeshare.
We found out that they have "members", who bought into the membership program and automatically get the great rooms, and there are "renters", who would get assigend the "surprise room" with parking lot view or lower level with no view etc.
We ended up agreeing to a presentation and take the upgrade so we have a partial oceanview and a 1 bedroom instead of a studio in those surprise location. But the presentation was quite a hard sell.
After being there, now I understand why lots of people comment about the lack of good views in the room. As i would guess most of us are "renters" and those are the lower level inventory rooms.

The staff however are all very friendly and courteous, and after getting over shock of the presentation, we did have a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: if you can put up with the presentation, ask about an upgrade opportunity :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Cynthia C,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location in "The Heart of Cabo", within minutes of Medano Beach, the marina, shopping, and as you mentioned, numerous restaurant options. Sounds like you had some great dining experiences around Cabo Villas.

The majority of our guests are members of the resort, however we welcome many hotel guests as well. Room locations are not pre-assigned and can be affected by availability.

We do invite hotel guests to take a presentation tour to share the benefits of membership and showcase the entire property. Hotels can decline at any time.

Thanks again for your comments, we were happy to serve you during your relaxing vacation to Cabo! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    324
    123
    97
    101
See reviews for
307
445
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

If you are looking for the best of the best locations in Cabo San Lucas then look no further. Cabo Villas offers beautiful accommodations, we stayed in a 4th floor 1 bedroom suite with an amazing view. This was our 30th wedding anniversary and without a doubt we choose the right place. The marina and shopping are only a short walk. Wonderful restaurants all around, but the Baja Brewery on the 6th floor is one of the best views of the arch, not to forget their great selections of beers. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Baja Brewery and enjoyed each visit.
We can not thank Wendy enough ! We began exchanging emails weeks before our trip and Wendy helped with questions about our room, transportation, dining, and more. To top off our celebration, Wendy sent a beautiful surprise to our room on the day of our anniversary. THANK YOU WENDY from the bottom of our hearts. You created an amazing trip of a lifetime at beautiful Cabo Villas.
I would like to say thank you to every staff member. There was always an "hola" "how are you today".
We look forward to our next visit to Cabo Villas.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxBeachBum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear TxBeachBum2,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa. Happy 30th anniversary!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our location in "The Heart of Cabo"! As you mentioned, the marina and shopping mall are just minutes from your doorstep, as well as the delicious food selections at Baja Brewing on the rooftop terrace and Baja Cantina on the beach.

We appreciate your kind words for Wendy. She was happy to assist you with your vacation details. We will be sure to pass on your compliment.

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you for your 31st anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Thank you Cabo Villas family for being our home away from home. Kudos to the staff at Cabo Villas!!! Wendy at the front desk made our check in run smoothly. Felix, the kind bartender on the beach, made sure that we were well taken care of. Salvador, the wonderful waiter at Baja restaurant was very accommodating. Julio in Sparitual Spa was very patient. Cindia gave a great massage. For all those who were not mentioned ensured that we had the best anniversary ever, thank you again. We will see you soon!!!!

Room Tip: The hotel is in the heart of everything! You can swim at the beach in the warm, clear water. The act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2vacation0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Love2vacation0810,

Thank you for your praise regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa. We are so pleased you are a part of the Cabo Villas family.....and happy anniversary!

Our staff family prides itself on providing a "home away from home" atmosphere, and looks forward to greeting members year after year.

We appreciate the kind words for our staff, we will be sure to pass along the compliments to them.

Thanks again for your comments, can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Pros: very close to beach and town. Shuttle service to and from airport was very good. Servers on Beach at the resort were outstanding love them all specially Jose Garcia and Felix. These two guys are the best I have ever seen and they would do anything for you. Remember tip them good as they make very little. I already miss them. House keepers did a wonderful job on rooms. Rooms were very quite. Good internet connection In room.

cons: way to many steps and hard to get from one place to the other at the resort, The resort will add tips and charity on to your ending bill. Take it off unless you did not tip anyone at the resort. Poor views of ocean, Pools way to warm to swim in. We only could take the ocean temps which was also very warm this time around 85 degrees. Restaurant on roof, poor service, high priced food. A real flop, don't eat there. To many other places to eat. Time share offers were very poor don't sign up you will regret it. OMG the activities center at the resort has only one person working at it and it could take up to an hour to get help, fix that please. Rental car service on site is very expensive. Get a rental car a block away and save hundreds of dollars. Front desk at times was very unhelpful. Except for sat or Sunday where they add a person, Gym at resort very small and some of the equipment was not working.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are hard to get one and no rooms on the first and second floor have them. Hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Marin K,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa. We appreciate hearing the aspects of the resort you liked, as well as the areas where we can improve.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our outstanding location in "The Heart of Cabo", as well as the amazing service at Baja Cantina, housekeeping and a quality Internet connection.

Thank you for your concerns, please allow us to address those;

Due to the layout of the resort and the land available, steps were necessary to connect the common areas. For those who would like to avoid the steps, ramps are also an option.

The "Behind the Scenes Fund" goes directly to those staff family members who do not have direct contact with our members and guests, and $1 per day goes to the wonderful children at the Los Cabos Children's Foundation, whose primary objective is to treat children in the Baja who have serious illnesses such as cancer and heart issue. These two donations are not mandatory and can be subtracted from your bill.

The water temperature of the pools tends to increase in the summer months due to the outdoor temperature also increasing. And as you mentioned, the ocean is usually 85 - 87 degrees in the summer months, which can be a little too warm for some folks.

Baja Brewing Company on the rooftop terrace is a third-party business, however we maintain open communication with their management. We will be sure to pass along your concerns.

We invite all of our guests to attend a presentation tour to share the many benefits of membership, and welcome new members to the resort family every week.

We apologize for the length of time in the Activities Office. We appreciate your patience. Our Activities staff provides numerous members and guests assistance each day and aim to provide detailed and thorough service.

Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here during the first week of July. I love this place normally. Great location. we purchased a one bed exec. here a few years ago. This trip however got off to a bad start. After checking in around noon we were given the ground floor on the front with practically no view. I actually changed our entire vacation plans so we could have a ocean view when I booked. The hot tub didn't work until 3/4 through the vacation. The a/c in the master bed room was so noisy that we had to turn it off before going to bed.
We decided to just accept things as they were and get on with our vacation. However I was very upset when one morning when leaving the resort 2 employees chased after us demanding where we were going and what are room # was. Really!!! It was none of there business where we were going.
The pools really are in need of help. They have a very rough concrete and stone surface on them. That really are painful. The main pool has a shallow entrance with at least a 2ft drop off to get into the actual pool without any kind of hand rail. For those of us who have bad legs, you have to shuffle around on your butt so as not to hurt your knees getting in and out.
One other thing that was more of a nuisance than anything were some silly little bugs. Millions of them that just swarmed around the windows on the balcony and door ways all in the shaded areas. The resort attempted to spray for them' but there were too many.
Went to the Fiesta. No buffet. The menu was limited and expensive. I had the seafood casserole. Which was awful.. Entertainment was ok. I have been to better.
For our last night we went to the Office. The food here was Awesome! I wish we had gone here before. Other restaurants we went to were Tiki Bar excellent Fish and Chips ask Luco a cute little waiter for the English version. Hacienda Cucina on the beach and Jacks at the Marina. Went on the CaboRey dinner cruise. Very good.
Overall we had a wonderful vacation and will be back. You can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Book early. Ask for high level Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seattlebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear seattlebrit,

Thank you for your comments regarding your July stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to hear you enjoy our location in "The Heart of Cabo", just minutes from numerous dining, shopping and entertainment options.

Thank you for the feedback regarding your unit. Room location is not pre-determined and is based on availability with the type of unit you own. The maintenance will continue to check and update the Jacuzzi's and air conditioners.

We apologize if two employees asked you where you were going as you left the resort. That is not a common practice and we will look into the matter.

Thanks also for the concerns with the Infinity Pool, as we value the input from members and guests. As a reminder, Cabo Villas has three swimming pool options, which allows the members/guests to choose the pool of their liking.

Unfortunately, summertime in Cabo does include bugs. And they don't stay in one particular area, they tend to be all over Los Cabos.

Baja Cantina is a third-party business, however the resort is in regular communication with their management. We will be sure mention your concerns regarding the Mexican Fiesta Night, food quality and value.

Glad to hear you enjoyed a number of other restaurants in the area. Cabo definitely has some amazing dining options!

Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

the resort and the staff at this resort are awesome...they catered to our every need... and at the upper pool bar, the bartender Gabriel is the greatest....the room was the greatest awesome view, bed was great, the maids were always very helpful....we also had a spa treatment witch was the most awesome 90 min. ever spent while on vacation

Room Tip: all rooms are good but i would recommend the 1 bed room suite with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purple_hazze_racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear purple_hazze_racing,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

Sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation in Cabo!

The Cabo Villas staff family takes pride in providing a "home away from home" atmosphere, and are happy to serve you. We will be sure to pass on your praise to bartender Gabriel.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the amazing views from your room of the Cabo San Lucas Bay and Land's End, and that your bed and maid service were great.

Many of our guests at SPARITUAL feel the same way you do! The spa treatments are incredibly relaxing!

Thanks again for your comments. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice place here, the only real annoying this is the fact that I couldn't get my room key without listening to a sales person try and hustle me for $20 to go to a time share pitch. Very annoying since you just arrive to a hotel after a plane ride and you are tired. Other than that place was affordable, centrally located in town, clean, staff was friendly, and food was good. I do plan on going back, this place was worth it. I would recommend you try it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Christopher A,

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to hear you feel Cabo Villas is a great value for your vacation dollar. Our main goal is to provide the most enjoyable stay possible in our "Heart of Cabo" location.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and the dining options at Attitude Restaurant, Baja Brewing, Baja Cantina and the Pool Grill.

We do invite guests to take a presentation tour to share the wonderful benefits of membership at Cabo Villas. Guests can decline the invitation at any time.

Thanks again for your remarks, we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#20 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
#1 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Property: Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 138 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing