We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes sushi to a new level”
Review of Koi Sushi

Koi Sushi
Ranked #76 of 573 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Takes sushi to a new level”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and twin daughters were advised to try Koi Sushi by a man named Rick who gave us a tour of the new Playa Grande timeshares. We did not buy the timeshare, but will always appreciate Rick's recommendation as it was the best sushi experience of our lives. It's improbably located in the food court of the Walmart shopping center in Cabo San Lucas. With only a few tables inside a small storefront but many more outside the "restaurant", there's nothing that prepares you for the dining experience to come. We accepted the waiters advice (service was extraordinary) and ordered the chef's special. That began a seemingly never ending series of the most creative and scrumptious plates of sushi we had ever had, and we all have eaten sushi frequently in towns like San Diego and other great locations for this type of cuisine. The offerings were accompanied by such wonderful sauces that the little bowls of soy sauce remained untouched. Desert was complimented as was my extra plate of crab legs. There's so much more to say, but just go there and be amazed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BelizeSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    60
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was skeptical, even after reading all the great reviews. But this place delivered. We had the chef special, sushi plate, a couple of hand rolls - all were high quality. The amberjack and yellowfin especially. Great prices too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkim76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great sushi place!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were starving on our first night at Cabo, and went to walmart to buy provisions, we spotted this restaurant and since we love sushi, we were willing to try it. We were surprised on how good this sushi was! We ordered several dishes and all of them were great! Worth visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank karla014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just About Perfect Sushi”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Whatever is compromised for the Walmart strip mall location, is more than made up for with exceptionally fresh ingredients, original combinations, and to-die-for sauces. Gregorio, our waiter, was friendly, attentive and responsive. To top off the whole experience, the tab was less than $60, for two of us,after a 20%+ tip. It's obvious that the locals know what they're doing by choosing Koi as their favorite sushi place. We have eaten sushi at about every type establishment from Nobu down to grocery store sushi and Koi delivers fresh, original, and quality sushi, well past it's price point and to the level of being among the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sushi ever ! 10 star !!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

As other's have said, this place has best Sushi I have ever had.

Fresh ! really Fresh food ! i ordered chef special as was suggested by the server(Really friendly). The portion was huge and prices were affordable. If this plate was served in any upscale restaurant then it would cost $30-$40 per plate. The fish tasted sweet, it was that fresh. Never before had a sweet fish.

AWESOME !! 10 star !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NishPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Sushi also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Koi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing