We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Getaway”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This resort was wonderful. The rooms were spectacular, the restaurants were awesome, and it is just outside of Cabo if you decide to see the sights. We spent two out of our three days exclusively at the resort, and the other going into Cabo to see the sights. We didn't have any complaints at all about the resort. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hpfontento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    87
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
212
554
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Mitchell, KY
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a last minute decision because of weather in Jamaica. Booked last Monday and we arrived 2 days later on Wednesday. We were immediately greeted at the airport with an Esperanza hotel employee. Once we arrived at the resort, I couldn't believe how beautiful it was. We ended up being upgraded and had the pleasure of staying in one of the villas and we were provided a butler. His name was Arturo and made our stay even better. The views, the staff, the food and accommodations all exceeded expectations for us and we will definitely go back. Thank you for everything Esperanza and Arturo!!!!

Room Tip: If you can stay in the residence side of the resort..I highly suggest it as I felt all the views wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Kathryn B,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us.

It is great to find out that you decided to come to our fabulous destination last minute and enjoyed a memorable experience. Arturo and the entire team are motivated on hearing about your excellent experiences.

Come back again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Marc Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our week at this resort was wonderful. The views are spectacular, the room was spacious and very well appointed. This is a first class resort, so expect everything to be expensive. We had been warned of this so we were not surprised. The menu and bar prices are high and they add a service charge on top of every transaction. There is a spa and gym, the gym offers several classes but they do fill up so check into them early in your stay if you are interested.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with a dipping pool but had visitors every day cleaning the pool and doin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetoexplore16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear ExplorewithSO,

Thank you for sharing your experience and great comments with the great Trip Advisor audience.

We are delighted you enjoyed your week with us. As you mention one of the may great assets of Esperanza are the spectacular views, the construction was carefully planned to showcase the best images nature provides us with.

Thank you for noting our fitness classes. We offer a very comprehensive set of complimentary classes each day and are delighted that our guests are passionate about attending them.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Marc Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our vacation at the Esperanza Resort in Cabo San Lucas was the most flawless luxury experience I’ve ever had. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. While we were checking in and distracted by the jaw dropping views, we were served refreshments, making the whole process seamless. We were then escorted to our casita. The casita was wonderfully equipped with every amenity you could want and the wi-fi was super- fast. They actually cleaned our room twice a day. We had dinner at the hotel the first evening with a table that faced the ocean. At this point, I felt like a king. Beautiful views of the ocean and iconic rock formations. The smell of the fresh ocean breeze just has a way of inducing relaxation. The food was fantastic. Not sure I've ever had such delicious food and I live in NYC. The interaction with the staff was pure pleasure on every encounter. Everyone was happy. One day we went to El Arco and did a jet-ski tour. It was really great but even greater to come back to our Jacuzzi on our personal deck at Esperanza. It was hard to leave our casita but when we did we made our way to their beautiful ocean view pool. It was so well managed and never too crowded. The snack bar service is outstanding as were the chips and guacamole. The four days we spent were like being in paradise and honestly, I never knew this type of place even existed. My advice to anyone who is thinking of going is to do it!!! It’s worth every penny. We booked on classictravel.com as they have Virtuoso rates that include extras we couldn’t get anywhere else online.

Room Tip: As I said, my advice to anyone who is thinking of going is to do it!!! It’s worth every penny. We bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Billy C,

I am thrilled to find out that your truly enjoyed your vacation.

My entire team and I are delighted to receive your glowing review and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests and their experiences here at Esperanza. Every detail is taken care of with great passion and enthusiasm, so we can provide the best luxury quality services at all times.

Please come back and visit again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Marc Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Like Spinal Tap's amp. Five green dots aren't nearly enough to do this place justice. We've stayed at five-star resorts in the past -- in Jamaica, Belize, Canada, and even just up the highway from Esperanza at another place in Cabo -- and they're almost always incredible and mind blowing. Well, Esperanza takes it a step further, which we didn't think was possible. The staff is by far the friendliest and most eager-to-please anywhere, and they seem to love working at the resort as much as the guests love staying there. The grounds are freakishly beautiful, the food is insanely delectable (especially the crazy gourmet vegan options, which Esperanza treats as art rather than an afterthought), the pools are Trumptastic, and the high-class gym/spa/yoga facility really hits the spot after a night of top-shelf tequila tasting (which we did at one of Esperanza's oceanfront bars -- the one appropriately named "El Bar").

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizardo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Lizardo76,

We are all truly delighted that you have loved staying at the resort and thank you for your terrific comments.

As you mention our team constantly gives their very best each and every day in order to ensure our amazing guests enjoy their stay. Yes, we all really LOVE working here!
We look forward to having come back to visit again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Marc Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A trip to Esperanza is unlike any other trip you will take. The setting combines a desert landscape with beautiful beaches. There are numerous pools overlooking the incredible beach. The setting is fabulous, but what really makes Esperanza stand out is the people. The staff are all genuinely kind and there for you at every turn. You will feel like part of the family by the time you leave.

One of the other main draws to Esperanza was the incredible dining options. Being vegan I so appreciated the vast array of foods offered at each restaurant and the caliber of cuisine was outstanding. Chef Cerda is truly talented and each plate that comes to your table will be a work of art. I almost cried when it was time to leave, because the trip was so spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear JenE2013,

Thank you for your kind words my team and I are pleased to know that you truly enjoy the high quality services we provide at the Esperanza combined with the spectacular views.

Executive Chef Gonzalo Cerda is always happy and is ready to make sure that our appreciable guests have wonderful experiences coupled with our excellent cuisine. He is very pleased to know that you really enjoyed the vegan offerings you tasted and that these exceeded your expectations.

I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Marc Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

There is no other hotel to stay at if you visit Cabo. We vacationed at Esperanza for a week and it was absolutely the best trip we have ever experienced in our lives.
Not only is the resort the most gorgeous place on the planet, but the staff is so friendly and accommodating, it's unbelievable. My boyfriend (now fiance- thanks to the ambiance of this romantic hotel!) is a surfer. His car would be waiting for him at 6:30 each morning, surfboard packed by the staff and cold bottled water in the car waiting for him. This is one tiny example of the thought, care and level of excellence that this hotel exudes. Chef Cerda and his team prepare dishes the way you want them, they accommodate special diets like gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan, and the food is incredible. We will go back every year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Heather G,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Esperanza! It is amazing to find out that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Congratulations on your engagement! I am very pleased to find out that we provide the perfect ambience for that special moment with your fiancé.

Our Executive Chef is delighted to know that you enjoy his excellent dishes as well as all the luxury services in your days staying at Esperanza.

My team and I will be delighted to welcome you back anytime!

Warmest Regards,

Marc Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
3.4 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Property: Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing