We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Property, Top-Notch Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Esperanza is situated on an incredible overlook above a gorgeous cove just east of the famous rocks of Cabo San Lucas, which are visible at a distance. The view from the balcony of our oceanview casita was so postcard-worthy, we couldn't help but smile every time we glanced out. Personally I am willing to pay for this "special" feeling on a special trip. The service itself was uniformly outstanding, with lots of warm smiles and genuine attention. A few small things we appreciated: free bottled water *and* free soft drinks in the room; surprisingly prompt food and beverage service at the pool and on the beach; free and *very* fast individual wifi in each casita; free morning yoga class; top-quality Precor treadmills (lots of 'em) in the fitness center; the double infinity-edge "adult pool" that's got to be the most picturesque and relaxing spot on the property. Tips: (1) if you have a balcony spa, pre-set it to 100 degrees or so. It takes forever to heat up from the default temp (90). (2) eat breakfast outside at Cocina del Mar, simply gorgeous (and great service). (3) pay extra for a middle-floor or top-floor ocean view. (4) I didn't try them, but others in our group said the poolside fish tacos were the best ever.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Glenn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Glenn90,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review! It sounds like you and your friends had a very special visit. I’m thrilled that our team provided outstanding service and genuine attention and smiles throughout your entire stay.

We trust you’ll return again soon to try some of Chef’s delicious fish tacos at the pool!
All the best to you and your friends.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
There are newer reviews for Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wow. I mean, is there anything else that needs to be said about this property? No, but then that wouldn't be a very helpful review, would it?

We were lucky enough to be the guests of some friends who had a four bedroom villa. It's unlike any other place I've visited. It's the height of luxury and comfort. But the attitude is relaxed and welcoming, In other words, it's heaven.

We took advantage of the kitchen stocking service and there were some amateur chefs among our group, so we ate most of our meals in the villa. The kitchen had absolutely everything we'd need and a huge grill, and with our amazing view, there was little else we could have asked for. But we did enjoy the mexican buffet night with mariachi and fireworks, it's a must!

The pools, oh the pools. The staff, the wonderful staff. The views and the grounds and the bars, it's all so wonderful.

I hope to be lucky enough to go back someday soon!

Room Tip: We didn't stay on the hotel side so I'm not going to be any help there.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gretchenenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Gretchenenders,

I’m delighted to hear that you had a “heavenly” stay at Esperanza, an Auberge Resort. Our team loved reading your great review and knowing that you enjoyed fabulous service throughout your visit and got to spend some relaxation time at our pools and bars as well.

We look forward to having you and your friends back soon!

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our second trip to Cabo and our second stay on this property. Last time we enjoyed a residence so didn't get a true feel for the resort, but this time we were in a villa in the heart of the resort. The resort itself is enormous without feeling overwhelming and impersonal. There are many pools to wander, including an adult pool. Bars and sitting areas to enjoy the ocean view. The restaurants are all delicious and the wait staff is super accommodating to ANY request. The spa layout is phenomenal. It is so tranquil and peaceful. I could've just checked in there and not gotten a single treatment-although that is not what happened. We enjoyed a beachside dinner with bonfire that will be in our memories forever. I can't imagine going back to Cabo and not staying here again.

Room Tip: I can't speak on the individual rooms, but can't imagine any being less than exceptional.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristip_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Cristip_2010,

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your recent summer visit to Esperanza. June is a lovely time of year in Cabo and it sounds like you enjoyed our ocean views and beach to the fullest!

I agree our romantic dinners with the waves crashing in the background are top notch as well as the tranquility of our Spa.

Please stop by again soon on your next visit to Cabo!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Esperanza Villas with three other couples.
If you are planning a trip to Cabo, try Esperanza.

We were not in the hotel but the Villas next door. The villas are impeccably outfitted with every thing you need and beautiful furnishings . The pools are wonderful, the views of the sea of Cortez are breath taking.

Try the Palapa bar-restaurant, best margaritas and guacamole.

The hotel spa is phenomenal. You are treated so well and the services are some of the best I have had.

When staying here you don't need to leave the premises.

The best part of The Esperanza resort is the service. First class, friendly, and so accommodating.

All the restaurants are wonderful too.

The one and only draw back is the price. The villas can be as much as $3500 per night (4 bedroom home).
Try the hotel the rooms are just as wonderful. Go on the off season and they usually upgrade you.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calgirlsanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Calgirlsanjose,

Thanks for sharing your great review on Trip Advisor!

I’m delighted that you and your group of friends had a wonderful visit and thoroughly enjoyed Esperanza’s service and amenities at our Residence Club.

We trust you’ll return again soon in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Expectations are always high when staying at an Auberge Resort. This was our first visit to Esperanza, but not our first stay at an Auberge resort. We had arranged airport with the hotel. The driver was there waiting for us in a beautiful air conditioned car. Our concierge Gabriela met us and immediately whisked us to our room along with our luggage. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a beautiful suite. The room was well equipped with everything we could possibly want. The grounds are beautiful. The restaurants all have "perfect" views. Menu's offer something for everyone and true to Auberge resorts, you can always ask if you don't see it and most likely they will find a way. We also visited the spa. It is peaceful and the services we received were excellent in quality. Next visit I will do more at the spa. We enjoyed a salsa lesson and a yoga lesson on the beach as well. The teachers were all professional and patient as we are novices at both. We did experience one hiccup which is the true test of a resort. We had a room issue late at night. One phone call to housekeeping produced someone who immediately took care of the problem. Yes, you will pay top dollar for your stay at Esperanza. In my opinion it is worth it. Just go into the town of Cabo one day and see all the people, and hear all the noise and you will look forward to coming back to your oasis.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Linda R,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughtful comments from your recent visit to Esperanza, an Auberge Resort! I’m glad that Gabriela and our team were able to exceed your expectations and that a true Auberge stay was provided on all ends.

We look forward to seeing you both again at your “oasis” in Los Cabos.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I spent 3 days with a friend in a 2 bedroom villa. We were on the top floor, close to the ocean. Everything was perfect. The staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. The weather was perfection as well, which always helps make a vacation memorable. We just relaxed at the various pools all day, where they would bring around free smoothies for you to try. The adult only infinity pool is to die for and one of the most beautiful settings, as the waves were quite large and crashing onto the rocks below. We slept like logs with our windows opened. We also treated ourselves to spa treatments and I can honestly say they were some of the best I have ever had and I've been to many of the top spas in the world. It's very quiet, not much to do unless you are big into golf, except relax in a very low key environment, but that is what we were looking for. We didn't even go into the town of Cabo, just stayed on the property except one night we went to dinner at One and Only resort, which was also lovely, but more buzzing and glitzy. We were happy to return to the relaxed vibe at Esperanza. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 bedroom villa in the private residence side of the resort and not in a hotel room. w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsonsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Wilsonsumner,

Thank you for sharing your great comments from your visit to Esperanza’s Residence Club!

I’m glad that we provided a perfect stay and that our entire team was gracious and accommodating throughout your visit.

We trust you will return for a relaxing visit very soon!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

GO! It's 5 star all the way and that's coming from a discerning traveler! We're stayed at O&O Palmilla and Ventanas and they are all amazing but there's something a little more laid back and comfortable about Esperanza. The views and the resort overall are just beautiful! Plus, it's a foodie paradise. Enjoy!

Room Tip: get the terrace ocean view casita. Worth the splurge!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Sctomlinson,

We enjoyed reading your 5 star review! It sounds like you have both become passionate fans of Esperanza and we appreciate your loyalty.

Please let us know when you will be returning, to your “Cabo home”. Our Esperanza team will be waiting with open arms!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
920 reviews
3.4 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
928 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,756 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $700 - $2,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing