We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice and relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here just after New Years in Casa Del Sol, which is a residence with access to the resort amenities. The resort is beautiful, very quiet and relaxing. Both restaurants, the more casual La Palapa, and the signature Cocina Del Mar both have beautiful oceanside outdoor seating and the food was great. The pool was quiet and well laid out. The beach was a long stairway down and quite empty. It wasn't a swimming beach as it was quite rocky at the shoreline, however it is close to larger beaches and close to the town. The service was top notch and I would recommend this hotel for both a romantic stay or stay with friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithnewhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Keithnewhook,

I appreciate your review from your recent January visit. I’m happy that you enjoyed our resort amenities and restaurants!

I hope you will both have the chance to try out Esperanza’s suites in the not too distant future.

Please come see us soon!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    80
    26
    19
    12
See reviews for
179
471
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

You can get tired walking from one end of this place to another, but the grounds make it worth while. We stayed at one of the 4 bedroom casitas and the decor was beautiful! A massive house complete with a full kitchen, spacious bathrooms in each room, washer and dryer, even a built in BBQ. The staff is very friendly and quick to offer suggestions. The food was also amazing (best flan) and the pool staff was so sweet. We always went to the main pool overlooking the ocean since it was a little more lively than the others. I saw atleast 3 other pools but they seemed too quiet..probably best for people with kids. On our last day I stumbled upon another gorgeous pool overlooking the beach at the far end of the hotel but didn't get to enjoy it since I was leaving that day.

Must take a walk down on their beach. There are crabs along the rocks everywhere! Quite a sight to see :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDolceVita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear La DolceVita22,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us!
Yes, our 4 bedroom villas are very spacious and comfortable.
Our team enjoys what they do and I’m delighted that you were well taken care of throughout your visit.

We hope to have you back very soon!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The archetecture, the landscaping and four magnificent. pools assured us that we were never overcrowded. The use of space and the sea front makes the property appear larger than it actually is.The bar and dining rooms are fantastic with great sea views along with excellent food and drink.
The staff is very friendly and well trained in the tradition of Ritz Carlton. The villas are roomy, well appointed and wide open with lots of sliding glass doors. We have stayed in eleven different resorts in Cabo over the years and there is no comparison to Esperanza; it is the best by far.
It is expensive but weel worth it

Room Tip: The higer the floor the better the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeD1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear JoeD1957,

Thank you for your detailed review! I'm delighted you find us to be the best resort in Cabo.
Our staff enjoys what they do and this is seen in their day to day activities and interaction with our guests.

We look forward to having you back very soon!
Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

'WOW' this is what our 19 month old daughter said every morning when she woke up and boy she was right.

Esperanza just screams perfection. From the beautiful villas, lush gardens, excellent food, friendly/attentive staff...... The list could & does go on & on.

We stayed in a fabulous well appointed 3 bed villa which had the most amazing sea views and looked across two fantastic pools.

Everything was catered for by our own private butler (Jorge) who looked after every little detail from our coffee being prepared first thing in the morning, dinner reservations in the evening and everything else in between.

The dining options were just wonderful from various themed nights, fine dining and a 5 star in room dining menu (which we used quite a bit being here with our daughter).

We just loved how relaxed we were at Esperanza, the service was always top class but at the same time so refined.

A few reviews have mentioned cost but in my eyes, you get what you pay for. You will NOT be disappointed if you pick Esperanza for your next vacation and the one after that.

I would like to thank the whole team as it wouldn't be fair to just pick out one or two. Thanks Esperanza for making our honeymoon very very special and giving us memories that we will keep forever.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear PW1981,

Thank you for such a heart felt response! Your baby daughter could not have said or understood it better. WOW is what we aim for every day, all day. The Esperanza team strives for the very highest standards of service and guest satisfaction in everything they do and I’m thrilled that we exceeded you and your family's expectations.

Please do come see us again very soon!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Thank you Esperanza for a spectacular week stay! My husband and I had the opportunity to take some alone time and stay at Esperanza! They had a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean, (it was whale season), so every morning when doing yoga on the beach we watched the whales come by! The Fitness program and Spa was 1st class!!! We love travel/luxury and to workout every morning on the beach and the movement room was enchanting .....then followed by a couples outdoor massage and jacuzzi....magical!!! We got to experience paddleboarding, kayaking, tequila tasting, salsa dancing..... We look forward to another week at Esperanza , this time we will bring our children! The staff also were so kind and engaging..I truly enjoyed speaking what little Spanish I know!! Thank you for making our trip 100% spectacular!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Luxuryluv,

Thank you for your thank you! It is wonderful to receive such wonderful comments.
Our whales jumping right in front of Cocina del Mar, our signature restaurant is a something we never get tired of! Our fitness program that includes anything from boot camp to spinning classes is also very energizing and I’m thrilled that you enjoyed our movement room.

Please let me know when you would like to return with your family. Our 2, 3 and 4 bedroom villas are perfect for family visits!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The bathrooms are open, tiled, also with views. There are even hammocks on the exterior patios of each room! The property is on a hillside, so expect to get a little exercise as you walk from your room down to the beach and restaurants and back. You'll need that to burn off the calories you consume; the restaurants offer creative cuisine with a local flair. We enjoyed the whale-watching from the open-air restaurant perched above the beach. Most impressive was the service. After being met by our own personal concierge (and a frosty libation) we couldn't help noticing how friendly the staff was; everyone we passed greeted us with a smile, and the service at the pool and the restaurants was immediate and thorough. The one draw-back for us as beach-walkers is that there isn't a lot of beach and what there is is rocky. However there were great exercise classes at the gym and even a couple down at the beach. Too bad I didn't get up early enough to partake!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USNomad257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear USNomad257,

Our team was delighted to receive your raving review! I’m thrilled to hear that you and your friends enjoyed everything from your suite to our creative cuisine! Yes, our spa fitness program offering relaxing yoga, energizing boot camp and TRX at our Spa and beach is one of a kind. Our whales this time of year truly are magnificent and I’m happy you got to enjoy.

Please do come see us again soon. We’ll be sure to have another Esperanza Cabo Cucumber Margarita upon arrival!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We chose Esperanza primarily because of our past positive experiences at Auberge du Soleil in Napa over a number of years. In general it met or exceeded our expectations, especially in terms of the services, maintenance of the grounds and quality of the resort amenities. We rented a comfortable villa with our adult daughter and son-in-law. The dining options were solid, but not outstanding. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, but perhaps a little short on advice for activities beyound the usual. In total a very safe choice for premium accomodations for Cabo.
No surprises and very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I'm delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and exceed them in terms of our Esperanza service! We love to receive feedback from our Auberge Resorts fans.

We hope you'll return for another relaxing stay!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Property: Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing