We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Surpassed what I expected. The views are tremendous and the assortment of pools all have attached restaurants or some type of food option. You can watch wales cavort in the ocean from several of the pools while you bake under the sun (or a huge umbrella carefully managed by attentive staff members. Props to Edgar by the hotel pool for his amazing service). Free exercise classes are offered during the day which can be quite intense. Do the "Beach Boot Camp" with Modu, who is possibly the most in-shape human being we have ever seen, but who won't push you to exhaustion. The classes will make you feel less guilty as you eat tons of great quality, fresh Mexican dishes and drink from an extensive collection of tequilla. Capped it off with a steam every day in the spa (which is free to use). Only real criticism was partaking in their Mexican fiesta night dinner which we thought was overpriced (though it was an all you can eat buffet). Just back in NY and miss Esperanza already.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Greetings from Sunny Los Cabos!

It is wonderful to hear that our team at Esperanza surpassed your expectations.
December is the perfect time of the year to see families of whales showing off right in front of Esperanza!

Yes, Modu's classes are awesome! Our complementary TRX, boot camp, yoga, and other classes are a perfect way to stay healthy or unwind during your visit.

I'm glad you enjoyed our Mexicansimo, which also includes fireworks and mariachi within this theme night.

I hope you stay warm in New York. We look forward to your next visit to Los Cabos!

Yours Sincerely,

Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    80
    26
    19
    12
See reviews for
179
471
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at Esperanza in Cabo for our recent honeymoon in August, and the entire vacation was incredible! Everything, from just lounging by the pool, to our private, candlelight dinner on the beach, was simply amazing! I have been to the other high-end resorts in Cabo, and in my opinion, Esperanza is the best. We enjoyed it so much, we just went back a week ago! (early December). The hotel amenities, rooms, restaurants, room service, grounds, pools, spa, etc. are outstanding, and everyone that works at Esperanza goes out of their way to make sure the hotel guests are happy and well taken care of! I highly recommend Auberge Esperanza to anyone thinking of visiting Cabo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarySF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Congratulations on your recent wedding! Esperanza is certainly the perfect place to spend a relaxing and romantic honeymoon.
I'm delighted that you returned again for your December fix! You can't beat Cabo weather this time of year. Sunny and 70 degree weather! Perfect for lounging by the pool or beach or spending time at our outdoor spa!

The entire Esperanza team looks forward to seeing you both on your next visit!

Warmest Seasonal Wishes,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Auberge Residences which is on the Esperenza property but not part of the Esperenza hotel. While Auberge guests have access to all the amenities of the hotel guests (yoga classes, trx classes, etc. - free of charge), we were rewarded with a 4 bedroom, 3500 square foot single level condo with spectacular views and the comforts of a Ritz Carlton or a Four Seasons hotel (bedding, appliances and interior design are first rate). Three bedroom, 3000 sq foot residences start at $675 per night or $4725 per week. So if you compare that with a hotel "room" at the Esperanza, you can figure out where you get the better value. You can find out more info at puntaballenaluxury.com. I would highly recommend that you rent a car in Cabo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joemalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Wonderful to hear about your recent November visit to our Auberge Residences!
Yes, our 4 bedroom villas are very spacious and perfect for a family looking to get away for rest and relaxation.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed our "plush amenties" and we hope you'll return very soon!

Warmest Seasonal Wishes!
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went there with another two families last year summer. Been meaning to post but never got around it. When you walk up to the hotel the first view is breathtaking. The hotel rests on a cliff and the views are of sea of cortez and the pacific ocean. You have a beautiful view of El Arco from the dining area.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The mattress is on the softer side which we didnt care for but the other couples with us loved it. We prefer a firmer mattress.

The hotel is EP plan hotel. Dinning is pretty steep by any standards. Food is good and I would say if you are looking at staying here you would expect to pay 300/meal. All in all we loved it. I would return..

Room Tip: Any of the suites are perfect.. Higher you are the better view you have of the ocean. Lower suites h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mastifflover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thanks for your great comments. I'm delighted your family and friends enjoyed Esperanza this past summer. We certainly hope to have you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

3 nights in a villa with wall to wall sliding doors opening to deck and private hot tub. Bed and settee were very comfortable. Grounds are immaculate; pool and beach nice and private. Restaurants were varied, all very comfortable, with good food and views. We did yoga each morning with Blanca, then had a great, full (un-yogalike) breakfast following. The beach was not a great swimming beach - a little rocky, but swimmable and pretty, and private. Spa was first class. The staff was very attentive, very courteous, and very plentiful. Made us feel special - and celebrated my wife's birthday in a memorable way. Resort is 10 minutes from downtown Cabo, perfectly apart from the crowds, but easy to get to them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am delighted that you experienced an "outstanding" visit to Esperanza, an Auberge Resort!
Our staff was thrilled to hear that your wife enjoyed a memorable birthday celebration.

We hope to have you both back at Esperanza very soon!

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is my third trip to Esperanza in 18 months and I'm already reserving the next one! Where else can you watch the sun both rise and set on a perfect day with the most unspoiled of views? Nestled just between Old San Juan and Cabo the resort is stunningly beautiful and incredibly well appointed and maintained. The food is fresh and relevant, the tequila is abundant and the Staff could not be more gracious and accomodating no matter what area of the resort you are using.
The Spa is an oasis within the oasis and the fitness center is large, modern, and fully equipped. There is a jewel of a pool that goes on forever above a strip of beach.(And is totally seperate from the family pool.)
Lastly, the rooms alone are worth the trip. Wake up in your suite to views of the ocean and your own "inifinity" hot tub which can be seem from the picture window inside your mile wide walk-in shower for two and giant tub.
Esperanza is yet another gem in the Auberge family of jewels...

Room Tip: Ocean view Junior Suites are worth the extra dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Wow, what a great review! We love to hear from some of our biggest Auberge Resorts fans!

Our entire team here at Esperanza was delighted to receive your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends at Esperanza in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed last week for our second time at Esperanza. First time was in January and now in November. Everything at Esperanza is top notch. Everyone is there to assist you in anything you need. I had planned on proposing to my girlfriend and wanted to make is special. Mr Diego Weiss helped me make it unbelievable. He suggested I do it on Thursday night, as they have fireworks those nights. He arranged for a private table overlooking the ocean at the Concina del Mar. He had the executive chef Gonzolo prepare some dorado that we had caught the day before. The table area was all lit up with candles. It was so romantic. All of the staff was aware of what was going on, all except for my girlfriend. As dessert was brought, I proposed as fireworks went off over our heads.They even had a heart shaped firework. Couldn't have been any better. Diego and his staff went above and beyond. I couldn't thank them enough. A day we will never forget. If you have a special night coming up, ask for Diego. He will take care of you.
Thank you everyone at Esperanza for making our stay the best it can be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I'm delighted you enjoyed our "over the top service" here at Esperanza! I'm glad that Diego, Gonzalo and our entire team helped to make your engagement proposal an unbelievable occasion!
We would love to have the opportunity to help plan a spectacular wedding as well! Please come see us soon.

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Property: Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing