We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and suite - service soso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I loved the hotel. loved my "palpata suite" I believe thats what is was called. Room 30 was amazing private jacuzzi on balconey. Breakfast and mexican night were to die for. The spa was expensive and I did not get the massage i was looking for as I had a blazing headache and the therapist massaged my feet for 45 mins as I was begging her to please do my head. And at dinner we waited 45 mins for our water to be refilled i finally got up and did it myself. The hotel itself is 5 star rooms 5 star. Showers and bed were great. If you are going the not leave your room and spend time with each your loved one and spend time outside the resort golf fishing etc . and want to be ultimately relaxed this is your place

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misscx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

This resort is excellent and has fabulous accommodations. But be prepared it is not a beach resort and the food is expensive and marginal in quality. Service is below par for the price. If the Ritz Carlton trained the staff this would jump to a 5 star but as of now whoever is the GM needs to get on the ball. They could make so much more with better training and great food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RSTT3959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsperanzaDM, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

I was so sorry to learn about your experience with the service and food during your recent stay at Esperanza. At our level we should always provide a superior experience and I am so sorry we were not able to meet those expectations. I would like to personally speak to you about your visit and would appreciate it if you could contact me directly at:

jzavala@esperanzaresort.com.mx

Best,

Javier Zavala
General Manager
Esperanza Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We recently stayed at Resort Esperanza for our honeymoon, which unfortunately was just three too-short days. We absolutely loved our time there.

The Esperanza would be a beautiful place to stay no matter what, but the staff is what really put our visit over the top. We initially booked into the Esperanza for a foodie event they were having, a favorite chef of ours was staying there for a few days and doing dinners and cooking classes. Shortly after our reservation, the hotel contacted us to let us know that the dinner we'd hoped to be a part of was not going to happen - the chef would unfortunately be gone. But we'd already booked our (non-refundable) flights! When we expressed our great dismay, within 24 hours the hotel had reached out to us multiple times and put together a custom plan that included upgrades, cocktails with the chef and an elaborate private dinner on the beach our first night. (They call this dinner "A Night to Remember", and we will definitely always remember it!) They were incredibly accommodating - Victoria was our hero, and she checked in with us frequently during our stay to make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

We travel a lot for business, so we know the difference between "good" and "great" when it comes to hotels and resorts. The Esperanza staff just kept hitting the right notes with us over and over, going out of their way to please us and remember what we liked.

Of course, I have to touch on the location. The Esperanza is a few miles out from the center of Cabo San Lucas. Initially I was worried about this, assuming we would want to spend a lot of time in town. But when we visited downtown our first day, and saw how touristy it has become (it is very focused on the incoming cruise ships and beach drinking scene) we decided to stay and enjoy our slice of heaven at the Esperanza instead. With several small private beaches and some amazing rocky bluffs that the waves to crash against, the view was fantastic, and the pools and room decks are incredibly comfortable. Our room had a picturesque view and a hot tub on the deck - I highly recommend making use of both the pool AND the private hot tub.

The Esperanza's food was delicious, even for this former San Francisco foodie - Gonzalo Cerda, the executive chef, has a style that emphasizes the local seafood and tropical fruits. The fruit soups in particular blew me away, I had to have them every chance I could get! I don't expect to find anything quite like those again where we live now, in Los Angeles.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Esperanza. I can't recommend it enough if you're looking for a getaway and don't need to stay in the heart of downtown. You'll love the scenery, the food, the staff, and how relaxed you become.

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with a deck hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markdeloura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

FAMILIES PAY ATTENTION - Do not stay here unless you like paying hidden costs, grossly inflated prices, a terrible beach and a pool environment that does not cater to children.

We just returned from a week's stay with our two children ages 7 and 9. The accomodations were extraordinarily costly, but we wanted to treat ourselves and our kids. We were shocked to see the absolutely outrageous prices for everything - from the food, to the pool bar, to the spa. Be prepared to pay $13 for a margarita at the pool bar and to pay $8-10 for a children's beverage. But, don't think you can pay with your credit card - no, no. You need to put it on your room because then they add an extra 10% to everything you charge to your room, that's in addition to gratuity.

The restaurants are more of the same - absolutely outrageously priced food and beverage. One of their "special" nights is a Mexican buffet - for $62 a person. For mediocre Mexican food. Don't think you can just leave the property and eat down in Los Cabos because every taxi from the property will cost you 1.5 to 2 times what it should cost. We know this because this is our third trip to Cabo. We were absolutely outraged at what the taxi drivers were charging out of the hotel. But you can't negotiate because they call a taxi for you so it's take it or leave it. One night we came home from dinner out in Los Cabos and the taxi driver tried to charge us $50! We argued with them when we got out of the cab and the bellmen were of no help. We threw a $20 at the cab drivers and stormed off.

It's more of the same at the spa - outrageously priced mediocre treatments.

The beach is terrible - rocky and no place for kids to play in the water. Don't think your kids can just go to the pool. The best pool on the property with the infinity pool looking out to the ocean is the "adult only" pool. We were reprimanded for taking our kids here.

Lest you think we are not well-traveled, we have stayed in some of the best resorts in the world, such as the Broadmoor. We don't mind paying for quality and know what quality and value is. This isn't it - stay here and they should have a sign that says, "Bienvenidos to the money pit."

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SabinaH32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsperanzaDM, Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear Sabina;

I was so sorry to learn about your unsatisfactory experience at the resort. Your feedback is important to us and we are taking immediate action from the items you have outlined.

Family Travel has been a successful component at Esperanza as well as the food and beverage experience for all of our guests. I have our food and beverage team looking into the pricing and quality and specifically what we can do to make our menus kid friendly both in pricing and variety.

The taxi situation is unfortunate and we are always working with local organizations to try to find better pricing and options for transportation in the area.

We have many families like yours who come to the resort and have developed three pools for families and children, I understand your disappointment when your children were not allowed to use the one pool we designated adults only. The three family friendly pools include amenities like a swim up bar, floats and other features that kids have enjoyed but will revisit those pools to see if there are other amenities that could add to the family pool experience.

Your experience was not at the level we are known for and we are looking into all of the areas you have mentioned. I would like the opportunity to personally speak to you about your stay with us to ensure we continue to improve the guest and family experience at Esperanza.

Javier Zavala
Hotel Manager
011-52-624-1456400
jzavala@esperanzaresort.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We did our honeymoon at Esperanza in mid Oct 2010. Here is our take for interested travelers:

- Service: excellent service at all levels. Every person we came across was a delight and complete professional. We can't say enough about the gentlemen who staff the hotel pool. Constantly smiling and waiting to bring you ice cold beer or mixed drinks. They also bring little freebies around every hour or so (popsicles, fruit skewers, etc.). Each room is assigned a personal concierge who checks in on you each day.

- Infrastructure. Fantastic grounds, rooms, pools. All world class in our estimation.

- Location. If you don't want to leave the resort, the location is perfect. Cabos is about 15 mins away and a 20 dollar ride. San Jose (I am told it is a much nicer town that Cabos) is about a half hour away and roughly a 35 dollar ride.

Spa. Is quite lovely and the treatments were wonderful. I only wish we could have received a treatment each of our six days, but you pay a premium.

Billing/Administration: No problem in anyway. The don't nickel and dime you. Billing was clear and easy to digest. No hidden fees as i could ascertain.

Food: a visiting chef (Gregory Danko) prepared a memorable five course meal on Friday and Saturday nights. We took Friday and were given arguably the best table in the house. We probably won't live long enough to have another evening like this. We did the "evening to remember" where you're seated in a special table on the beach. It was quite nice. We felt like were on a date from the bachelor show. Memorable, but quite expensive. But we knew what were getting into. BREAKFAST: it was included in our package. It is fantastic, and a great way to start the morning each day.
Comments: one night we sought to eat in the main restaurant without reservations. They said we couldn’t have a table so we ate in the bar area. We stayed for several hours and noticed that only ten to 20 percent of the main restaurant tables were ever filled. No biggie, but a little gripe to document.

Room Tip: a tip: ask for a room that doesnt face the sun in the morning. it gets quite hot and it is hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM2117NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was a relaxing vacation, and boy was it fantastic.

The people are just so anxious to help you. The rooms are beautiful, and the food fantastic.

You won't be disappointed at this hotel. They pick you up at the airport, and take care of your bags while you relax. It has good internet and tv connections etc. A joy to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marlene616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsperanzaDM, Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Dear Marlene, thank you so much for your feedback, we are thrilled the you had a fantastic stay with us and the staff and service at Esperanza exceeded your expectations. Its feedback like this that the entire Esperanza team appreciates hearing and continues to inspires them to deliver excellent service to our guests. Thank you so much for the sharing your experience on Trip Avisor. If i can personally assist you with a future reservation please feel free to contact me directly, we would love to welcome you back soon!

Javier Zavala
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have only been to Cabo this one time so I have nothing to compare against. BUT, let me say this, if you could imagine what your dream Cabo San Lucas resort would be like, THIS IS IT!!! From the moment you arrive, it is obvious that not only is it a breathtaking resort, but you know it is truly 5 star. We were fortunate to have booked a great deal through a luxury discount site which made it even better :) The check in is seamless, actually they escort you right to your room with no hassle. Within 5 minutes there is fresh juice delivered to your room and within 15 minutes they have complimentary chair massages for you on the balcony. Now that is a welcome! It's things like this that set the tone for your entire stay. LOVED the rooms. They all have gorgeous ocean views with large balconies (even a hammock!) and doors that slide completely open which was divine (there were no bugs!!!) The style feels like authentic baja but has a slightly modern twist. The very large marble bathroom has a fabulous open shower with two shower heads a great view of the ocean, a deep soaking tub and two sinks. The bed was comfy and overall the room was very large, comfortable and perfectly appointed. The pools are some of the most beautiful infinity pools I have seen and the pool side service is IMPECCABLE. The staff anticipates your every need-no need to ask for anything. That is what 5 star is all about. The concierge was also excellent, he came to us by the pool every day to see if we wanted any dinner reservations in town or to book any excursions. His recommendations did not ever disappoint. The food at the resort is also quite good, especially the breakfast which we still say is some of the best breakfast we have ever had. Hand written thank you notes and little treats would await in our room, always making us feel like appreciated guests. We will definitely return to Esperanza!

Things you should note: The only flaw with the resort is that all though the beach is pretty with all of the rocks, its not really swimable but the rocky cliff side setting is what sort of defines the resort, so I was more accepting than I would normally be. You do need to rent a car or hire car service to get to downtown cabo. The marina, shopping, bars and restaurants are 10-15 min away. If you are like us and like to leave the resort for various activities and dining you should figure in that extra cost. The resorts has very nice luxury SUV cars that can take you and then you can just grab a taxi back.

Room Tip: All casitas have an ocean view, but some located closer to the beach. They also have rooms with infi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christieloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,001 reviews
3.4 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,015 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
4.3 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,800 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $750 - $2,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing