We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Whale Watch Cabo

Whale Watch Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whale Watch Cabo offers several types of Cabo San Lucas Whale watching tours beginning in late November through April each year, coinciding with the migration of Humpback and Gray Whales. What makes Whale Watch Cabo unique: The smallest tour group sizes in Cabo at a maximum of 10 adult guests per boat We GUARANTEE Whale sightings or come again for free We offer the most departures per day: 8am, 8:30am, 11am, 12noon, 2:30pm and 3pm We have both sun covered boats (with onboard toilets) and Zodiac style more adventurous boats Each tour is led by a bilingual Marine Biologist We include all the tour photos for free We have marine microphones to listen to whales sing Some basic Whale Watch Cabo tour details: We offer small group and affordable private tours Our tours are a minimum 2.5 hours More about what sets Whale Watch Cabo apart: The truth is not all whale watching tours in Cabo San Lucas are created equal. Whale Watch Cabo is Cabo San Lucas's 1st dedicated whale watching company and the 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company in Cabo. Guaranteed Whales with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and educational whale watching tour company in Cabo San Lucas. Don't take our word for it, we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Cabo San Lucas on Trip Advisor since 2010 with Certificates of Excellence every year since we opened! Whale Watch Cabo is a locally owned and family operated whale watching tourism company offering the only sustainable and educational premium experience for knowledgeable travellers. We realise that most of our guests have traveled great distances to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. In respect and gratitude for choosing Whale Watch Cabo we have organised our operations to extend the best possible experience with; small groups, Marine Biologist and Naturalist Guides, comfortable boats, family friendly tours and FREE TOUR PHOTOS! As passionate stewards of this world renowned marine environment we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just, "a look at the whales". Whale Watch Cabo is Mexico's first Partner in the World Cetacean Alliance, The Los Cabos Whale Conservation Society and we participate in the Baja's marine mammal distress organization. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who are immersed in studying and documenting the whales lives and learning the intricacies of the marine ecosystem. Join us at the center of the Baja's highest concentration of Humpback whales where the Sea of Cortez meets the Pacific. Gray Whales are also regularly encountered as are other whales and dolphins (cetaceans), such as: Sperm Whales, Bryde's Whales, Blue Whales, Bottlenose Dolphins, Common Dolphins, Spotted Dolphins, Orca/Killer Whales, and many more. Whale Watch Cabo's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all marine wildlife in Cabo San Lucas, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill!
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I first contacted Whale Watch Cabo via e-mail before booking on-line, they responded promptly and answered my many questions. My husband and I booked the 8:30 a.m. group tour because we were told it was usually calmer, but a little cooler. There were only 2 other couples along with our guide and the boat captain. We loved the intimacy of a small group. It was actually the day before the end of the whale season, but I was thrilled that we saw one whale that we followed and saw surface three times! Our guide was so knowledgeable about whales and all the local wildlife. I only wish our 11 & 12 year old girls were with us, they would have loved it too. I was also so thankful that they took the time to e-mail me the beautiful pictures they took of "our whale" because mine did not come out nearly as well. Believe me, you want to be on a smaller, more intimate group tour like this one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heidifilippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback, we would love to have your children join us sometime in the future! We enjoy having families onboard, seeing them enjoy the company of whales together is something special.

Whale Watch Cabo specializes in our small group tours, max of 10 guests, because these are the types of tours we ourselves would like to go on. Add to that a knowledgeable Marine Biologist or Whale Naturalist Guide and we think our guests have a wonderful opportunity to experience some of the amazing marine wildlife of Cabo with a deeper understanding and appreciation.

Thanks again for taking the time to review our tour. Wishing your whole family many more wonderful whale encounters in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    44
    3
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“WOW, What an excursion!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked a group of 8 on a private tour in February. Some of the group weren't totally enthused before the trip. Well, after our excursion, that's all everyone talked about the remainder of our time in Cabo! First, let me mention how wonderful the staff is. Peter was our main tour guide and was extremely friendly and knowledgable. He talked about all aspects of the region and of course the marine life.
Within about 15 minutes of leaving the dock on a small but comfortable boat, we encountered humpbacks. And then for about a 1/2 hour or so, we watched as a calf breeched over and over and over. It was so much fun following the group of whales and then seeing the calf breech. It was hard to pull ourselves away to find something else to experience. We then saw a few Manta Rays literally flying out of the water, and then we traveled over a huge school of Rays, which you could see through the glass bottom of the boat. Then we saw a few grey whales too! The trip was over before we knew it. And to top it all off, since we booked a private tour, we were given at no additional charge, a flash drive with all the photos Peter took during our trip. Again, it was a wonderful excursion and you should not hesitate to book through Whale Watch Cabo. Peter was a big help with questions I had before I booked and he was a wonderful tour guide. So, book with Whale Watch Cabo, you CAN'T go wrong with this company.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank EastlakeOpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks very much for sharing your experience with us - we are always pleased to hear that we have helped enthuse our guests to whale watching 'our style'!

Private boat tours are very affordable, and will stay so, as we often have families on these tours and we want to do our part to inspire the next generation of ocean stewards, biologists and photographers. Our 32 foot boats allow us to approach the whales closer than larger boats are allowed to by Mexican law, enabling our guest a more intimate experience.

Cabo is still not yet well known for the amazing variety and abundance of marine life, and that makes for amazing encounters without having to travel for hours to find it. This makes finding whales, dolphins, manta rays, sea lions and more easily accessible and fun for our guests.

Thanks again for the positive feedback, wishing you all many more wonderful marine life encounters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The experience of a lifetime!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

On April 6th my husband and I joined Elisa and the crew of Whale Watch Cabo for an afternoon. The boat was small, but comfortable. The crew were excellent - showing concern for the comfort and safety of all the passengers and sharing their vast knowledge of the whales as well as the other marine life we encountered.

We started off from the main marina in Cabo San Lucas, and before even leaving the marina we were treated to the antics of a hungry sea lion, who had managed to get up on the back of one of the local fishing boats to beg for a free lunch. We saw many other sea lions, a sea turtle, sting rays jumping out of the water, and pelicans swooping in to steal fish from unsuspecting tourists.

After cruising past lovers beach, El Arco and Neptune's Finger, we headed into the pacific. We could see a whale breaching way off in the distance, and the crew asked if we were all okay with going out that far. Of course we were all good to go, but after a few minutes the captain made the decision to turn back because of the rough waters. They really believe in safety first.

We headed back into the sea of cortez, and cruised along the beautiful and rugged coastline. In a quiet bay we found a momma humpback and her calf. We watched them frolick in the water for awhile. Elisa filled us in on what they were doing. Apparently momma was teaching the calf how to dive before making the long swim to Alaska.

It wasn't long before the crew spotted another really active whale, and we were off again. 10 minutes later we were about 200 yards away from a massive humpback who was breaching and showing off. The strength, grace and awesome size of these gentle giants is unbelievable. We were so excited to be able to watch this display so close.

We watched the spectacle for a long time. Neither the crew, nor the passengers were really willing to leave until the show was over. Eventually though we had to head back to the marina. We had an amazing time, and learned so much from the staff. We highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DebSchwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experiences and recommending Whale Watch Cabo. We love hearing how inspired and happy our guests are!

We aim to ensure fun and informational tours, the sort of a tour we would want to go on ourselves. WWC is staffed by biologists, naturalists and professional photographers with a variety of backgrounds in research and study of marine wildlife. We believe it is this passion for the amazing marine life that lives here that sets WWC apart.

One very good point you have made that we like to emphasize is that, while we are a whale watching organization, our tours are often more of a marine wildlife tour with many species encountered by our guests. It is this wonderful environment that we love to share with our guests. It also keeps our staffs excitement level high, as with 75% of the whale and dolphin species known to be found in our water, we just never know exactly what we will encounter!

Thanks again for the wonderful review and recommendation. We wish you both many more wonderful whale watching experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent excursion!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a fantastic time getting close to those beautiful creatures! Alex is so knowledgeable - she made the experience so very fun and memorable! Highly recommended!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Azkabanholdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for the recommendation! We really appreciate the positive feedback and we know how lucky we are to have a wonderful guide like Alex(andra) to lead our guests in our explorations of where the southern Sea of Cortez meets the Pacific Ocean.
Wishing you many more wonderful whale watching tours with people who love whales like we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Trip”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Even though it took us 3 days to get to go out it was worth it. The 1st 2 days we tried but the winds were too strong and the boat could not go out. The experience of seeing a pod of Dolphins around us, Sea Lions swimming along side our boat and watching a mother whale and her baby surface numerous times was more than words can express. Our guide and driver were terrific and made the trip totally worthwhile filling us with lots of information and knowledge. I definately recommend taking this tour when available.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for the recommendation and the perseverance with the weather conditions! Very unusual for Cabo, in the last two years the harbor has been closed 7 times, 3 times were during that week!
The Sea of Cortez is one of the most biologically intact seas on the planet, still today! It is this wonderful diversity of marine life that we love to share with our guests.
While our tours focus on whales (of course!) our guides have multidisciplinary backgrounds, studying whales, dolphins, sea turtles, reefs, sharks, corals and more. It is this variety of backgrounds, knowledge and passion for all things marine life that makes each outing with Whale Watch Cabo unique, of course - combine this with the fact that on many tours multiple species of marine life are encountered and we feel Cabo offers our guests a special opportunity to encounter amazing marine life.
Thanks again for the recommendation! Wishing you all many more wonderful whale & marine life encounters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watch Cabo also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Whale Watch Cabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing