We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small boats, Knowledgable Guides, GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whale Watch Cabo

Whale Watch Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whale Watch Cabo offers several types of Cabo San Lucas Whale watching tours beginning in late November through April each year, coinciding with the migration of Humpback and Gray Whales. What makes Whale Watch Cabo unique: The smallest tour group sizes in Cabo at a maximum of 10 adult guests per boat We GUARANTEE Whale sightings or come again for free We offer the most departures per day: 8am, 8:30am, 11am, 12noon, 2:30pm and 3pm We have both sun covered boats (with onboard toilets) and Zodiac style more adventurous boats Each tour is led by a bilingual Marine Biologist We include all the tour photos for free We have marine microphones to listen to whales sing Some basic Whale Watch Cabo tour details: We offer small group and affordable private tours Our tours are a minimum 2.5 hours More about what sets Whale Watch Cabo apart: The truth is not all whale watching tours in Cabo San Lucas are created equal. Whale Watch Cabo is Cabo San Lucas's 1st dedicated whale watching company and the 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company in Cabo. Guaranteed Whales with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and educational whale watching tour company in Cabo San Lucas. Don't take our word for it, we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Cabo San Lucas on Trip Advisor since 2010 with Certificates of Excellence every year since we opened! Whale Watch Cabo is a locally owned and family operated whale watching tourism company offering the only sustainable and educational premium experience for knowledgeable travellers. We realise that most of our guests have traveled great distances to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. In respect and gratitude for choosing Whale Watch Cabo we have organised our operations to extend the best possible experience with; small groups, Marine Biologist and Naturalist Guides, comfortable boats, family friendly tours and FREE TOUR PHOTOS! As passionate stewards of this world renowned marine environment we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just, "a look at the whales". Whale Watch Cabo is Mexico's first Partner in the World Cetacean Alliance, The Los Cabos Whale Conservation Society and we participate in the Baja's marine mammal distress organization. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who are immersed in studying and documenting the whales lives and learning the intricacies of the marine ecosystem. Join us at the center of the Baja's highest concentration of Humpback whales where the Sea of Cortez meets the Pacific. Gray Whales are also regularly encountered as are other whales and dolphins (cetaceans), such as: Sperm Whales, Bryde's Whales, Blue Whales, Bottlenose Dolphins, Common Dolphins, Spotted Dolphins, Orca/Killer Whales, and many more. Whale Watch Cabo's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all marine wildlife in Cabo San Lucas, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill!
Eden Prairie, MN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Small boats, Knowledgable Guides, GREAT!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were on a boat with 9 other passengers. We saw other boats with 20+ passengers blaring on a bull horn.

The guide was a marine biologist. The company go out of its way to respect the whales and their calves. Whales are so big you don't need to be on top of them to enjoy. 2 Persons $136 USD

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNMIKEEdenPrairie_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback - we feel good to know people enjoy our tours and are happy to recommend us.

We do have a unique approach to our tours. We have small groups, Whale Biologist Guides, guidelines for respecting the whales and we are actively collecting data for the Baja Whale Foundation Humpback Whale ID catalog.

While there are many approaches to managing a boat around whales, depending on what the whales are doing, we have found our non-invasive philosophy has led to longer, more natural encounters with whales that are not stressed by our presence, but often intrigued and pass by our boats out of curiosity, or at least continue with their natural behaviors, and these are encounters we all feel good about.

Thanks again for the positive feedback - The normal price is $85 USD per person, book online and there is a 20% discount, which is $68 per person. We handle all of our bookings through our own website to ensure accurate reservations for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    45
    3
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Highlight of our Cabo Experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our extended family of 6 (3 couples) booked an afternoon private tour, and were disappointed when it had to be canceled at the last minute due to rough water. However, the staff was right there at the dock to explain and we rescheduled for the next morning and it turned out great. Our guide Peter was very friendly with lots of interesting info. He not only found many whales, but also a school with a few hundred dolphins shooting across the water. It was a fantastic thing to see.This was a great experience and we highly recommend Whale Watch Cabo. Our boat was very comfortable and looked to be nearly new, and the safety equipment appeared to be of high quality. I appreciated their honesty in rescheduling rather than taking us out into bad conditions. I thought this tour was well worth the price. Thanks, Peter, for putting us all at ease, teaching us about whales, and making the trip a fun and memorable experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank racer1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for the review - we always consider fun and safety to be the primary concerns when running our tours to encounter the whales. We know rough water, the boat bouncing around is not fun, and always prefer to reschedule people for a better experience.
It was my pleasure to share the wonderful whales here in Cabo with everyone, the extremely active and high flying pod of Common Dolphins was an added treat as well! You just never know what will show up here in Cabo.
Thanks again for coming whale watching with us, I enjoyed getting to know everyone and I wish you very many more wonderful whale watching encounters in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“The only whale watching tour guides to use.....”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

In 2009 we went on a cruise where Cabo was a 1 day stop. We went with another whale watching tour. In February 2012, we decided to come back to Cabo, again on a cruise, but this time the stop in Cabo was 2 days. I wanted to try another tour and this was the first, but certainly not the last, time we went whale watching with Whale Watch Cabo. It was such an amazing experience, that this year we decided that instead of a cruise, we needed to fly to Cabo and stay for several days (ended up being 7) to really be able to enjoy all there was to see. For me, the main thing in Cabo to see is the humpback whales. I was able to go out whale watching every day, sometimes multiple times a day, to see these magnificent creatures, the way they should be seen. All of the staff, Peter, Janneke, Alex, Elisa, Santos and Nacho went out of their way to make sure all of their guests had an amazing and educational experience. Not only did we see many whales, on various trips we saw sea lions, fish, jumping manta rays, sea turtles and dolphins. Their boats are the perfect size and allow for a safe and comfortable adventure. In my opinion, the jam-packed zodiac style boats, or the huge party barges, are not the way to enjoy this type of trip. I cannot wait until next year when I can plan for the three day trip to Cabo Magdalena Bay and Loretto.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your experiences whale watching with us here! It was wonderful to have been able to share so much with you, we have found quite a few guests coming on multiple tours this year - this of course relates to many more opportunities to encounter whales and see more of their wild activity wether it is mating competitions or mother & baby whale pairs.
It is always wonderful to meet other people who share a similar passion for the whales and marine animals! Jacques Cousteau called the Sea of Cortez, "The Worlds Aquarium" a name it still lives up to today with so many species to encounter, you just need to come out to see them, learn about their amazing lives with our guides and enjoy the feeling of being close to nature.
Thanks again for sharing these wonderful whale adventures with us, we look forward to seeing you both for the Best of the Baja experience next year! Kind regards, from all of us at Whale Watch Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring experience!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our group of seven took a private whale watch boat with Whale Watch Cabo at 8:30am on Wednesday, March 13th, 2013. We were with Elisa and Hector during our two and a half hour excursion. I have to say, it was phenomenal from start to finish. The boat was immaculate, and had cushions on the benches for comfort (although many of us spent a great deal of time standing up and in the bow, oohing and ahhing over the whales and various other things we saw), as well as a small washroom on board.
At the beginning of our trip, we went out to the Arch and the “Window to the Pacific”, saw sea lions on the rocks, and also took a moment to look through the glass bottom of the boat at the numerous fish below. Immediately after, we passed out in to the Pacific, and saw whales. I have been whale watching before in Southern California, but this was an entirely different experience, as we saw baby whales breaching, mother whales and their escorts, a sea turtle, and a young hammerhead shark. After we watched the whales in the Pacific for a bit, our group decided to head in a different direction (Sea of Cortez), in search of another group of whales. It didn’t take us long to find them!
I would highly recommend a tour with Whale Watch Cabo. Elisa and Hector were absolutely amazing. Hector positioned our boat perfectly for great views, but respected the whales and their space. Elisa was very easy to talk to, and was happy to answer the many questions we had. We not only saw lots of whales last Wednesday, we learned a great deal about them as well. Part of our package included a memory stick loaded with all of the photos Elisa took during our excursion, and I would highly recommend purchasing this with your group tour, or taking a private boat with the photos included. I took a number of photos myself, but for those who just wish to sit and enjoy the whales, this is a great way to have your tour recorded on photos to look at for years to come.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 519snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback - we are lucky to be 4 Biologist Guides with excellent Captains, all of whom love the whales, the wonderful marine life here in Cabo and sharing these experiences with our small groups!
Many times we almost consider our tours to be Marine Wildlife tours, as although we focus on the whales, we always stop and visit the sea lion colony, the protected reefs of the Cabo Marine Park, the sea bird nesting sites along Lands End and often encounter dolphins, sea turtles, marlin, shark and leaping manta rays on the tours as well! All of that doesn't happen every tour, but the Sea of Cortez is one of the most biologically intact bodies of water on the planet and Cabo, situated at the meeting point of the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific draws many species and some days incredible abundance of marine animals.
Thanks again for the positive feedback, Elisa & Hector are both happy to read your kind review and all of us at Whale Watch Cabo wish you many more wonderful whale watching encounters, here or anywhere else you may travel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Tour and Guides”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very professional and knowledgeable guides. Elisa is a Biologist who is also a fantastic guide who clearly has a lot of passion for the ocean and all of its wonders. We enjoyed our tour very much and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn a bit more about whales and ocean life in general. We were fortunate to encounter Humpback Whales, a mother and her baby playing in the waves, so majestic! Thanks so much for making our tour enjoyable Elisa.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonkieMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your whale watching experience with fellow Trip Advisor users. We feel very lucky to have such a great team of Biologists and Photo Pro's leading our tours to responsibly encounter the amazing whales of Los Cabos.
Whale watching in Cabo is comparable to just about anywhere in the world, with the whales often close to shore, fairly calm seas most days, lots of sunshine and a healthy growing population! We believe that the most important aspect of whale watching is to ensure the whales are not stressed by our actions, so we follow guidelines to ensure non-invasive interactions. A close second in importance is having guides that are knowledgeable, able to point out different behaviors, explain what the whales are doing and share knowledge of the whales amazing lives.
Third in our list of importance is giving something back to the whales. So our team is not only creating the first database of whales sighted in the Los Cabos region, but we are pursuing training to be able to free whales we find entangled in fishing gear.
Thanks again for sharing, the whole WWC team wishes you many more wonderful whale watching encounters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watch Cabo also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Whale Watch Cabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing