We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip”
Review of Whale Watch Cabo

Whale Watch Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whale Watch Cabo offers several types of Cabo San Lucas Whale watching tours beginning in late November through April each year, coinciding with the migration of Humpback and Gray Whales. What makes Whale Watch Cabo unique: The smallest tour group sizes in Cabo at a maximum of 10 adult guests per boat We GUARANTEE Whale sightings or come again for free We offer the most departures per day: 8am, 8:30am, 11am, 12noon, 2:30pm and 3pm We have both sun covered boats (with onboard toilets) and Zodiac style more adventurous boats Each tour is led by a bilingual Marine Biologist We include all the tour photos for free We have marine microphones to listen to whales sing Some basic Whale Watch Cabo tour details: We offer small group and affordable private tours Our tours are a minimum 2.5 hours More about what sets Whale Watch Cabo apart: The truth is not all whale watching tours in Cabo San Lucas are created equal. Whale Watch Cabo is Cabo San Lucas's 1st dedicated whale watching company and the 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company in Cabo. Guaranteed Whales with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and educational whale watching tour company in Cabo San Lucas. Whale Watch Cabo is a locally owned and family operated whale watching tourism company offering the only sustainable and educational premium experience for knowledgeable travellers. We realise that most of our guests have traveled great distances to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. In respect and gratitude for choosing Whale Watch Cabo we have organised our operations to extend the best possible experience with; small groups, Marine Biologist and Naturalist Guides, comfortable boats, family friendly tours and FREE TOUR PHOTOS! As passionate stewards of this world renowned marine environment we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just, "a look at the whales". Whale Watch Cabo is Mexico's first Partner in the World Cetacean Alliance, The Los Cabos Whale Conservation Society and we participate in the Baja's marine mammal distress organization. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who are immersed in studying and documenting the whales lives and learning the intricacies of the marine ecosystem. Join us at the center of the Baja's highest concentration of Humpback whales where the Sea of Cortez meets the Pacific. Gray Whales are also regularly encountered as are other whales and dolphins (cetaceans), such as: Sperm Whales, Bryde's Whales, Blue Whales, Bottlenose Dolphins, Common Dolphins, Spotted Dolphins, Orca/Killer Whales, and many more. Whale Watch Cabo's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all marine wildlife in Cabo San Lucas, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill!
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We saw a pod of bottle nose dolphins and over 10 whales. The highlight was when Elise (spelling) had the captain take us from the Sea of Cortez into the Pacific to see two mating groups - several males following a female. We were about 25 feet from the 2nd group. Beautiful! We learned a lot about whales from Elise too. Very knowledgable. We are planning another trip next year and plan to do another of their tours.

2  Thank kimmyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

We really enjoy seeing our guests returning for more whale watching experiences with us! That lets us know we are on the right track, offering quality experiences and encounters for our guests.
Whale Watching in Cabo San Lucas is defined by Humpbacks and Gray whales. In the case of the Humpbacks, we often see either Mother & Baby pairs (often with an accompanying Suitor or Escort) or/and mating groups of adults, the males vying for the attention of a female, quite spectacular action! The Gray whales here in Cabo can also be seen in mating groups, although they tend to be less dramatic and physical than the Humpbacks.
We look forward to sharing more fun, exciting and responsible whale watching with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 825 of 925 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

we saw many whales and enjoyed the trip with a very knowledgable marine biologist. The trip was educational and a lot of fun.

1  Thank petrofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

This time of the year the population density of whales in the area makes for excellent whale watching encounters. Whale Watch Cabo offers our guarantee, if we do not see whales, we will take you back out another day, space permitting, no additional cost.
All of our guides are knowledgeable and experienced Marine Biologists and Photographers, very passionate about the whales and love to share these encounters with our small groups.
Thanks for the positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

If in Cabo, take this tour.Saw Grey Whales mating while a curious Humpback would dive to watch them and then do spy hopping and blowing big spurts to get the females attention-guess he did not know that the Grays do it differently than Humpbacks. Also saw Marlins,lots of dolphins,sea lions,seals --lots of Humpbacks.Elisa was our tour guide -from Rimini,Italy---spectacular performance. Her passion for her work added so much enjoyment to our tour.

Thank 920Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Few people realize that the Sea of Cortez is one of the most biologically intact Seas left on the planet. Cabo San Lucas lies at the meeting point of the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific, the marine life here is simply amazing!
Whale Watch Cabo specializes in Marine Biologist led tours, as we know many of our guests not only want to see the marine life, but identify and learn a bit about what they are seeing.
Thank you for taking the time to share your whale watching tour, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Never expected to see so many whales in one place and so active. Ours was the only boat in the area and it felt like the whales were watching us and not the other way around. Trip of a lifetime!

Thank RegineToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We really love to get such wonderful feed back from our guests! We know what a privilege it is to do the work we do, responsibly introducing our guests in small groups to the amazing whales of the Baja.
Our Biologists and Captains training and knowledge often can make for unique experiences for our guests, this is what Whale Watch Cabo aims for.
Knowing where to go, how to approach the whales and what the observed whale activity means can lead to wonderful encounters beyond the ordinary.
Identify the right whales in the right moment and then when we really do end up asking ourselves, who is watching whom?
Thank you - we really enjoy knowing how moved our guests can be from these experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Booked the private trip for our family of four and Annika (sorry if misspelled) was our guide. She was great, very knowledgeable and entertaining. We saw whales up close for nearly all of the trip but never in a manner that was threatening to the whales. Sat in the same spot for about an hour while the whales played around us. After seeing other tour companies whose boats seemed overloaded, I was glad we spent the extra money for the private tour which included a memory stick full of pictures our guide had taken during the trip. Definitely a highlight of our week in Cabo.

2  Thank MetaHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter a, Manager at Whale Watch Cabo, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your whale watching experience with Janneke (you were very close!) and the wonderful whales of Los Cabos.
We run only two boats, one for our small group tours (10 guests) and one for our private tours. In all cases our biologist guides are taking photos for our guests and to compile Humpback Photo ID shots for our project with the Baja Whale Foundation.
These photos are included on the private tour or $30 (for typically about 100+ photos) on the small group tours. Often times the whales are putting on an amazing display and our guests leave with incredible images to share.
Janneke is the founder of Whale Watch Cabo, her enthusiasm and vision lead the company to be on the forefront of responsible whale watching encounters here in Cabo. She really is an inspiration to all of our guides, all of whom share biologist qualifications, extensive knowledge and enthusiasm for sharing wonderful whale watching encounters with our guests.
We hope you will have many more amazing whale watching encounters, wherever you may go, and of course, we hope to be able to share more great moments with you here in Cabo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watch Cabo also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Whale Watch Cabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing