We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ridge at Playa Grande
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tesoro Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viva Cabo Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cabo Pedregal Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Suites(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
371
84
28
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
371
84
28
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsridge poolbeautiful view of the marinamurphy bedmexican fiestathe pacific oceanfull kitchenbedroom unitwater taxihuge balconyadult poolpresidential suitemedano beachlobby bargrand solmaramazing vacationpools are greatnice resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 504 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in a 2-bed unit 'on the ridge'. It was more like a luxurious condo than a hotel or resort unit. There place was large with a fully furnished kitchen. The large wrap-around balcony had great views of marina and ocean. The pools were just perfect - heated in the winter with separate adult and kid pools. Plus a large slide between the pools that everyone seemed to like. The beach was beautiful but not swimmable due to currents. All in all it is a high quality resort with nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kenbehar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Kenbehar,
We are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit; I am glad that you enjoyed our services.
I agree with you, our rooms has luxury furniture, that makes you feel pamper during your vacation.
Come back anytime to visit us. We will be very pleased to serve you again.
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a very nice resort in terms of convenient location to downtown Cabo San Lucas, quality of rooms and amenities, pools, spa, etc.. However, I must report that my wife and I would not return to this resort for several reasons. 1) The staff is clearly trained in an annoying protocol that involves trying to sell you as many services and activities as possible prior to even providing your room key. Upon check-in, you are not given your keys or luggage, but instead are required to meet with a hospitality director prior to proceeding to your room. This individual is clearly charged with selling you as many resort amenities as possible, as well as selling you various activities and excursions. Additionally, staff members are charged with guiding as many visitors as possible to a "Marina presentation" for the purpose of selling resort property and timeshare interest. I would expect such treatment at a low-budget, all-inclusive resort...but was appalled to receive it at a so-called exclusive resort. 2) We generally purchase an inclusive breakfast option when staying at a resort, such that our morning routine is simplified. We did so at Playa Grande (Fyi our room was not cheap, as we stayed at "The Ridge at playa Grande), and were extremely frustrated to find that our inclusive breakfast was the "American Breakfast" which the resort defines as some toast and a tiny (our waiters words) bit of fruit. Again, maybe something I would expect at a lesser quality resort, but very surprising considering the price point at Playa Grande. We also eventually found that our complimentary drink coupons did not apply to the specific drinks we ordered at the bar, and endured the rude bar tender ignoring us after we informed him that one of our drinks was not what we ordered.
Subsequent to our early poor experiences, we did not dine in any of the resort restaurants, so I can't report on the quality of dining available. Visitors should be aware that although our impression on line was that the Playa Grande was a smaller exclusive resort, it is a actually a massive complex which includes multiple $$ ranges...thereby resulting in an overall feel of having very little privacy or exclusivity.
On the positive side...our room was a spacious suite, and materials, aesthetics, furniture, etc. were all very nicely done. The beach was very nice, although you should be aware that due to the undertow, swimming is not allowed on this section of beach.
On our prior visit to Cabo we stayed at the Hilton, not quite as convenient, but a much better overall experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I would have to say that this hotel is a solid 5 stars for many vacationers. It simply depends on what one wants and needs out of their vacation. First the good, the resort is absolutely beautiful and incredibly well maintained. It sits on an elevated ridge and from the highest pool you can see down one side to the Pacific and the other side to the marina. House keeping was essentially perfect and the food above average for a resort. It is also close to the marina and other restaurants and bars in Cabo. While you can't swim at the beach (too much undertow) it is visually stunning and nice to walk on.

My major gripe is that there is little tranquility. The lower pool complex is loud and crowded (we were there XMas week). Even though the resort looked nowhere near capacity, chairs were towel reserved early despite signs everywhere saying not to (this was simply not enforced). While I don't necessarily expect the best spot if I show up at the pool at 2 PM, I would like some spot especially when I am paying for a suite at $550. The lower pool complex was also very loud. This is simply not a place to enjoy a book while overlooking whales jumping in the Pacific. This is a place where hours of bad trivia contests and tequila volleyball are played to the soundtrack of blaring Katy Perry. It also has a huge timeshare presence with used car salesman-like types at times asking you if you would like to be an owner, again not what I want on vacation.

Ultimately despite the beauty I would not stay there again. Too little tranquility for the dollar and for that amount of money I have spent elsewhere I have been made to feel more special.

Tips:
-Rent a car, the beaches above San Jose are just incredible.
-The taco truck in the parking lot below the resort and near the market has incredible fish tacos
-I would avoid all inclusive as there is so much good food in town (Gordo Lele for example)
-Stop at Walmart at the way into town, buy water, beer and snacks, bringing food into the resort is not frowned on.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hivedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Hivedoc
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us as this helps us to constantly strive for excellence. I am sorry that we didn´t meet your expectations on this visit.
If there are any other ways to serve you even better in the near future please let us know it will be a pleasure to help you.
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Ridge earlier this month and our experience was largely positive. Some things could have been better which are mentioned below. Following are the main pros/ cons of the resort.

Pros:

1) Good location close to the marina and downtown Cabo San Lucas.
2) Good service overall barring a few misses.
3) Good food (in general) in the restaurants.
4) Resort is clean and well-maintained.
5) Rooms are spacious and have multiple good amenities.

Cons:

1) Lot of walking needed to get to the beach, marina and the hotel lobby.
2) Not clear directions on how to get to the various parts of the resort.
3) Service in the Calima restaurant and in some other places not that great.
4) Not on a swimming beach. Of course, this is well-advertised but we didn't realize how much of a pain it was till we got there.

Details:

Check-in/ Check-out:

The check-in was pretty fast and efficient. Juan Carlos in the front desk was very helpful and gave us a good room in Building C with views of the marina on one side and of the Pacific on the other side. Buildings B & E were closer to the marina and would have had problems of noise etc. as mentioned by other reviewers. However we were still disturbed by noises of partying going on in the marina on Friday night till up to 3 am.

The Concierge staff was not pushy about the timeshare presentation and just gave us an open invitation to the presentation the next morning which we didn't use. We were really happy about this after a long day of travel. Not sure if this is normal or if they gave us a pass as we were traveling with young children.

Daniel, the bell boy was very helpful and gave us general information about the resort and directions to get around. He also dropped us off at our room in a golf cart and saved us some walking that way.

The check-out was equally painless as they gave us the option of settling our account the previous night and gave us an Exit ticket to give to the bell boys the next day. All we had to do on the day of the check-out was turn in our cardkeys at the front desk and have the bell boys load our bugs into the shuttle to the airport. I did observe long lines at check-out and was thankful we had used the option of closing our account the night before.

Property:

The Ridge is fairly quiet and secluded from the Playa Grande resort and almost has a residential feel to it. It has restricted access in the sense that only owners and guests staying at the Ridge can access the resort which is good. The grounds are nice and well-kept and the pools are good too.

You do have to take multiple elevators to get to the resort which can be a little painful to remember all the floors and directions. Also the resort doesn't have an ATM onsite which seems odd.

Rooms:

The rooms at the Ridge were spacious, clean and well-maintained. Our room had multiple balconies with views of the marina and the ocean and 2 bathrooms which was a major bonus for us. The room didn't have a sofa bed but had 2 murphy beds (1 for Adults and 1 for Kids) and the kitchen was pretty well-stocked too. The housekeeping service and room service was great as well.

A couple of issues we had with the room was that we couldn't get hot water consistently through out the day and there was no washer/ dryer in the unit. The latter was a major minus for us as we are used to having in-unit washer/ dryer in most of the other condos/ timeshare type of places we have stayed at.

Marina Gate:

The gate to the marina is very convenient and a great short-cut from the Ridge to the marina without having to pass through the Lobby.

However there are no clear signs on how to get to the gate from the resort and some of the staff we asked about the directions weren't too helpful. Even after you get the directions, there is a lot of walking to be done to get to the gate. You have to take an elevator, followed by two flights of stairs to get to the street and then cross a road with vehicles zipping by to get to the Marina pier. This can be vexing for first-time visitors.

Deli/ Mini Market:

This is very convenient to get some quick things like veggies, fruits, dairy, food, clothes and souvenirs. They have most of the basic necessities covered. The prices are a tad expensive which is expected but the service (especially Rosa and Laura) is good.

Restaurants:

The restaurant at the Ridge was good in terms of food and service and also had good views of the marina. The American breakfast that was included in our package consisted of fresh juice, coffee, toast, eggs, hasbrowns, refried beans and a fruit plate that was both filling and delicious. We did tire of having the same breakfast towards the end and wished we had a couple of options for breakfast so that we could alternate.

The food at the Calima was also good, but the service could have been better/ friendlier.

Kids Club:

The Kids club at the resort has a bunch of activities for kids like Mini-Golf, Arts and Crafts, Pool Games etc. and Viridiana did a great job in keeping our kid engaged and entertained. They do charge $10/ hour or $25/ 3 hours or $50 for 6 hours including lunch.

Beach:

The beach is quiet and clean and we didn't have vendors bothering us which is all good. However the waves seemed pretty rough and unpredictable and there were multiple "No Swimming" signs warning us. This was a bummer for us although we were aware of it before.

The best option is to do a 10-minute walk from the Marina gate to Cannery Beach which is great for swimming and maybe even better than Medano beach. Of course, you do have to get to the Marina gate in the first place which in itself is an ordeal as explained above...

Pools:

The swimming pools at the Ridge were clean and uncrowded and the kids pool was very large as well. The waterslide was a great hit with kids and everyone had a good time here.

Fiesta Nights:

They have different fiesta nights on most days of the week. During the week we were there, they had the Mexican Fiesta, the Lobster and Seafood Night and the Beach Party at the Brigantine restaurant from Monday through Wednesday and they had the Italian Carnival and the Asian Fusion night at the Calima on Thursday and Friday respectively.

We only attended the Italian Carnival and it was nothing great. The show was ok, but the food was not all that good. There was a big line for the freshly cooked pasta section which could have been handled better. The service also was not all that great.

Wifi:

The Wifi cost is $12/ day or $60/ week but is generally reliable and fast for general browsing and checking emails. It is not all that reliable or fast if you want to play videos though.

Service:

The service for the most part was good through out the resort except for a few incidents.

Room Tip: Request for rooms in building C and avoid buildings B & E. Try out the Cannery Beach which is a short walk from the Marina gate if you want to go to a swimming beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Sushar,
I really appreciate you in taking the time to share your experience with others guests. Your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future to provide you with the excellent experience and service that you deserve.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Overall, I had a great stay at this hotel, however for the price, there are a few little things which they really should do better which would make guests visits really special, and make you want to return.

Positives:
The ridge pool is great (apart from kids in adults-only pool... see below)
Great location on the beach and also very close to walk to the marina
Good value drinks and sushi on happy hour at the pool bar
Spacious suites with nice views over the marina (although this can make it noisy at night with loud music).

Negatives:

The 'over 18's only' rule at the adults-only swimming pools wasn't being enforced, which was very disappointing. Teenage children and even babies were in the pool. Part of the attraction for couples is having the adults only area, so it's very disappointing staff weren't enforcing this.

Over $300 a night for a suite, and yet they want to charge you for wi-fi? Seriously? I stay in a hostel for $10 and wi-fi is included. It leaves a really bad impression that they want to charge an extra $12 a DAY for wi-fi.

Pool cards for towels - just generally annoying

No conditioner in the bathrooms!

Breakfast isn't clear at all. It's a buffet, and there are no menus anywhere/staff just direct you to the buffet. After having the buffet breakfast, we were told that we were on a different breakfast plan & should have ordered off a menu (wherever this was). We weren't charged extra, however surely the staff should make it clear when you check in that there are different breakfast options and let you know which one you have.

Overall, nice, but it feels like everything costs extra once your'e there, despite high room costs. Not sure if I'd rush to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mango212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations on this visit. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we handle things differently in the future.
We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback helps us to constantly strive for excellence.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews