We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice rooms but louder on the marina/harbor side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice rooms but louder on the marina/harbor side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Ridge is a 'private' area w/in the Playa Grande Resort with it's own restaurant (The Ridge) and pools (2- small adult pools & 1-kids w/slide). Our package included free breakfast that had to be redeemed only at the Ridge restaurant. Although there is a full breakfast menu (eggs, pancake, waffles, fruit, meat, bagel w/ salmon and other typical Mexican breakfast options), the free breakfast was limited to eggs, toast, sweet rolls, coffee or tea and juice. No bacon, sausage, hash brown, fruit or extras. (FYI, The Ridge lunch menu was burgers, salads, nachos, tacos, etc. No dinner here.)

We had a marina/harbor view which came along with sounds of traffic (bus turnaround right below), and jackhammers from construction). We didn't hear anything with the doors closed which was great; however going out to the patio to 'relax' was not an option. The view was more so of the bus turnaround and the naval base across street with the Marina in the background.

The entire resort was beautiful. The room smelled fresh and was very nice, large & clean. If you stay at The Ridge, you also have access to Playa Grande restaurants and pools which are much larger with water aerobics, music, volleyball, etc. There were a few quieter areas to choose from as well, either poolside, by jacuzzi or overlooking the beach.

It is not only a bit of a walk between The Ridge and Playa Grande (hilly, cobblestone walkways) but the elevators did not correlate to the floor you were on since the property has been added on to over the years and is very hilly. Not only was the distance a bit annoying, it was confusing to get to/from The Ridge to/from Playa Grande. I'm 38 and my husband is 42, so it was definitely doable just took more planning since it wasn't quick to 'run back to the room' if needed.

After one full day comparing The Ridge to main Play Grande area, we requested a room change to Playa Grande. We spoke with many people who had done the same thing and general consensus (21 - 50+ aged people) was that it was better to stay in Playa Grande vs. The Ridge. We liked our room at Playa Grande better, although it was almost identical to The Ridge rooms and we were much happier in this location overall.

We also changed to all inclusive meal plan after 1 full day since the prices are so inflated for food & drink that it was just easier not to have to think about it. We kept track and compared and in the end it was basically a wash.

Room Tip: don't overlook the marina, it's noisy if you're out on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apple_Jax5536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guests from Seattle, Washington:

On behalf of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are important tools for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide with you an even better experience at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    61
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
136
126
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked at the Ridge and while the rooms are wonderful, the pool is great and the staff is great, make sure you are not in a room overlooking the harbor and the naval base. It is extremely loud because there is a local bus turnaround right below the rooms and the naval base has training early in the morning and in the evenings. Request the opposite side of the complex above the pool or overlooking Playa Grande and the ocean below.

Room Tip: See above for information on where to request a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrdirsteins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guests from Park City, Utah:

On behalf of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are important tools for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide with you an even better experience at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were initially disappointed, as we had booked two rooms at Solmar. We were looking forward to our Pacific view and the ambience of Solmar. Our disappointment soon left, as we were put in a beautiful 2 bedroom suite in the Ridge at Playa Grande. The room was great, and the all-inclusive from Solmar was extended to Playa Grande. What a wonderful place! It takes a little walking to get around, but it is worth it! Beautiful infinity pools and spas...excellent restaurant and bar. When is my next trip to Cabo and Playa Grande!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea of Cortez side are a little loud, but worth it. Turn on the fan or put in earp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guests from Roseville, California :

We appreciate your comment concerning your stay at the Ridge “Loved the Ridge!” and we thank you for choosing Solmar Hotels & Resorts for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!

For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from The Ridge at Playa Grande and from always sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are owners at the Ridge and have been visiting since 2007. Each year our time there becomes more special, as there are constant improvements in the already numerous amenities. The only thing better than the view ( which is nearly impossible to beat ) is the service and genuine kindness from the staff. LOVE THE MENU at The Ridge Restaurant! Miguel, our host at the Ridge Restaurant is truly a gentleman and his demeanor creates an environment that makes the Ridge feel like a Home Away From Home. Roberto, Enmundo, Daniel, Violeta, Luis....there are so many of you that make our visits special - We thank you all and we look forward to many more years of beautiful visits to Cabo and The Ridge.

Room Tip: We feel building C has the best views, offering Marina, Lands End, Ocean, and/or Pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdunkle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guests from Greensburg, Pennsylvania:
You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “Sophisticated Home Away From Home”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff of the Ridge: Miguel, Roberto, Enmundo, Daniel, Violeta, Luis...
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been coming to Playa Grande since 2006 and have always had a great experience.The staff are friendly and very attentive.if you want something just ask , and if it can be done they will try to make it happen. We caught fish during this trip and brought it to chef Jesus on the Ridge,where we were staying,and asked him to prepare it for us.Well he totally blew us away! The fish was blackened, grilled, tempura, sashimi, sushi with several delicious dipping sauces and salsas and the presentation was beautful. The best part was having it all delivered to our room.I would like to thank Juan, who was our waiter and helped to facilitate our wonderful dinners for nine people on two different nights.And a big thankyou to Jesus, our chef, for an outstanding experience. You really made our vacation special!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbrner17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guests from Carmel, New York:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “absolutely fantastic!!!!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at The Ridge Luxury Villas Playa Grande your home away from home!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first stay at The Ridge at Playa Granda. For those new to this location, the Playa Granda is the resort that is built on the Pacific Ocean side and the "Ridge" is a resort that is part of the same resort, but literally attached at the lobby and then constructed and connected by elevators and buildings to the top of the "ridge". From the infinity pools located atop of the "ridge" you can see both the Pacific Ocean and the harbor. This is an amazing view from any angle. The maid did an outstanding job with the room every day. The pools were clean and just the right temp. There was always open chairs by the pools at the ridge which was different then where we have had to get out early to reserve chairs with towels. The service from everyone was outstanding; in particualr Miguel the host at the restaurant at the ridge which is poolside. We stayed in a one bedroom and brought our 5 and 7 year old boys; they simply loved the waterslide and pool at the "ridge". One day we went down to the Playa Grande main resort to check out the pools; they were fine, had many more people in them, but no water slides there for the kids. The food poolside was good; not great, not bad, but doable. You might want to make a run into Cabo to get waters and other snacks for the room. There are many places to eat and everyone will have their favorites. It is a short walk into town for food or to catch a water taxi out to lover's beach. There are plenty of activities if you want to keep busy. You have to pay extra for internet access; for access to the exercise room, for access to the mini-golf area, and the full breakfast we bought in our package was literally the same (eggs anyway you want them) everyday. We suspect this was intended to get us to upgrade to the all inclusive meal plan; which we did not do, and likely is only a good value if you drink a lot of alcohol which we don't. This was our third time to Cabo San Lucas and the nicest place we have stayed in terms of room, view, pools, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top of the "ridge" near the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests from Lynnwood, Washington:

Thank you for your comment “The Ridge at Playa Granda, January 2013”““Great stay!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at the Ridge at Playa Grande your home away from home!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the balcony, we overlooked the marina. Out the front door, we could watch whales in the Pacific or the Sea of Cortez while soaking in a hot tub and drinking margaritas. Our room was clean, spacious and had one of the best views we've ever had!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breadbaker5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guests from Westerville, Ohio:

Thank you for choosing The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and for your comment “Wonderful view!"
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#22 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#12 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#14 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Property: The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas
Address: Av Playa Grande 1A, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Every stay at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande comes with a 4 Diamond Resort rating from AAA. It’s easy to see why. The Ridge lives up to its name. It is strategically perched on a nautral rock ridgeline that just happens to offer one of the most stunning views in all of Los Cabos. In one direction is the mighty Pacific Ocean. In the other, the enticingly blue Sea of Cortez. That’s not all. The Ridge is a stone’s throw from the hustle and bustle of the Cabo marina and just minutes from the shopping, dining and nightlife of downtown Cabo. The Ridge is also the perfect starting point for fishing, snorkeling, jet skiing, beachcombing and cruising around El Arco, the world famous arch.If you want to stay close to home, The Ridge offers three infinity-edge pools. One is connected to the children’s pool by a spiral waterslide. Another features a swim-up bar. Doesn’t that sound like heaven? A cool beverage and a tasty appetizer while you relax in an infinity-edge pool.For more formal dining, there are several first-class restaurants in the resort., including The Ridge, a popular choice for all-day dining and Mediterranean dishes. You also have access to the restaurants at the sister properties of Playa Grande and the Solmar Resort. For the ultimate in dining experiences, you can even have your meal prepared in your suite by a private chef.Of course, The Ridge is a full-service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge At Playa Grande Luxury Villas Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing