We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at the Ridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ridge at Playa Grande
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My first stay at The Ridge. I have stayed at Playa Grande and Grand Solmar on several occasions. We were not disappointed. Our 2 bedroom suite overlooked the marina. One unique part of the suite was the dome in the master. We were on the top floor.

Saturday night was not loud at all. You do have to hike a bit. You will have your share of excerise by the end of the week. Overall, not a bad experience at over looking the marina, but I enjoy the beach vista more. On a return trip will have to try the beach view at The Ridge.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CM1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guests from Austin, Texas:

On behalf of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide with you an even better experience at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas.

Our best regards from sunny Puerto San Lucas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 468 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Ridge in building E, Rm 3421. Our balcony overlooked the Marina, the Naval facility, the Grand Solmar construction entrance and the infamous barking dogs protecting the Land's End property. The two bedroom Presidential Suite was nicely appointed and the view of the Marina at night was nice. However, if you do not like walking and are a light sleeper, this is not the place for you. The clubs across the Marina boom electronic music until 5AM which is when the dogs start barking. We figured out that if we kept the AC on all night, we could overcome the partyfest with white noise. After that we were OK. We are runners and very fit, but the constant up and down to get to our unit from the lobby was even tiring for us. BIG TIP: The street door to the Marina from units D & E at the Ridge is open only from 12PM to 12AM. Keep your visists to downtown and the Marina and you can save a lot of hoofing. Outside of that, you walk all the way around. Adds 15 minutes. Also, if you are OK with a rock scramble and some beach hiking, you can get to Divorce Beach, Lovers Beach and El Arco from Solmar Beach. Also, if you rent a car, you can self park, you do not need to valet.

Room Tip: Stay away fro buildings D&E if you are a light sleeper. Get into one of the higher units near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiji80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guests from Long Island, NY:

On behalf of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide with you an even better experience at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a incredibly beautiful place! Perfect location, a short walk down the hill and you are in downtown Cabo. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff was so helpful! Right from the beginning with Manny, who helped us with our bags and told us about the Mexican Fiesta. The Fiesta was very entertaining and a great way for my kids to see some Mexican traditions. We had amazing service from Joel from Acapulco at the pool bar! Loved getting to know him! We also loved talking with Julio, also from Acapulco, at the Playa pool bar. Julio remembered our favorite foods and was an awesome waiter! Everything about this resort was incredible. Can't wait to go back....

Room Tip: The higher floors have amazing city views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KakerLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guests from Cabo San Lucas, Mexico:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment "One of the best resorts we have been to!” and for choosing The Ridgeat Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went for one week in November, 2 families - 4 adults, 3 kids. We stayed at the Ridge unit 3022, building C - 2 bedroom 3 full baths, 2 living rooms, dining room, kitchen, many decks. There was enough room for another family. The place was beautiful. The food was excellnt. We did 4 days on the all-inclusive plan. We have been to Cabo at least 10 times and this was our first time at this resort. Never once were asked to do a timeshare presentation - that never happens. We snorkeled, scuba, beach, pool, spa, pirate, ship, fish, nightlife we almost did everything. There is so much to do in Cabo that you need more than 7 days. Everything about the resort was great. Kids had a blast the loved kids club and the waterslide and pools. We even had some adult time by the adule only pool. You can not swim at their beach but a short cab ride or nice long walk to Medeno beach, where happy hour is all day starting at 9 am.
We like to stay right in downtown Cabo. This was a great location.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Ridge Building C room 3022 had views of the Marina and the pacific ocean. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnehmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Guests New Jersey:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “Better than expected!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want a Cabo City view and see night lights and hear the Marina Clubs streaming music and mix in fireworks too, check out The Ridge. The rooms, food, infinity pools and service are off the chart superb. It is a perfect place for adults and if you want to bring the kids, they have a special swimming area for them while you relax! It's the best for everyone.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the music streaming from the clubs on the Marina, ask for a room overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justbreathe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guests:
You really make us very happy with your lovely comments.
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at The Ridge at Playa Grande!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and i just got back Saturday from a week at the Ridge. The hotel was 10 times better than expected, the service was outstanding, the food was excellent, the room was in great location with a view on the marina. No swimming at the beach on the Pacific side but that was fine with us, great for walks. I do not recommend this hotel for someone in a wheelchair or not able to walk a lot. there is LOTS of stairs. No free wifi service unless you picked a signal from the Marina. We had all inclusive which i recommend if you drink a lot and there is enough variety in restaurant and food to have something different everyday. The mexicain Night and the beach Party were great for entertainment. We did not get bothered by timeshare people at ALL. We would go back tomorrow if we could. Thanks to Raciel, Miguel, Monica and everyone that made our stay SUPER!

Room Tip: Go to playa Grande if you are in Wheel Chair. Not the Ridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Falkenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guests from Mobile, Alabama:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “The best time ever!”

We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!

We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.

On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The best location to be close to town and in walking distance to everything. The resort has it all and the Penthouses are over the top. The meal plan is only worth it if you stay on resort and like to over eat. We like to go venture and all of the food around town is over the top fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guests from Camarillo, California, United States:

Thank you for choosing The Ridge at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.8 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,931 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge at Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge at Playa Grande

Address: Av Playa Grande 1A | Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $255 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge at Playa Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge at Playa Grande, a AAA Four Diamond resort, sparkling like a polished jewel on the coast of a shimmering blue sea. The world-famous Arco in Cabo San Lucas is but a stone’s throw away, and a white-sand beach stretches like a pristine path from your villa door to the ocean’s shore. Dramatic views are everywhere you look at this exclusive luxury resort. The collection of elegant villas all feature authentic Mexican decor and the personal touch of our award-winning architect. The Ridge at Playa Grande gives you a choice of one-bedroom Master Villas and two-bedroom Luxury Villas. All villas feature well-equipped kitchens, spacious living rooms, full-size baths, and upscale finishing touches. These villas include flat-screen TVs, Internet access, premium quality linens, and all the privacy you desire. Shopping, nightlife, and fine dining in downtown Cabo San Lucas are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ridge at Playa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge At Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing