We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ridge at Playa Grande
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Riverdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family to celebrate New year's and we had a blast. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. My room was spacious and very clean. One thing that was a plus is that we were minutes away from the marina so, we got to spend a lot of time downtown. I would definitely come back here in the near future.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolatefaceivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guests of Riverdale, New York:

On behalf of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas ,we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide with you an even better experience at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas .

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    72
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
165
148
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Fantastic place! You must stay at the Ridge!! The pool is amazing and the staff fantastic. The Ridge is isolated from the rest of the main area of the hotel where it's very secluded and quiet. I don't recommend the all inclusive because you'll not want to venture out away from the hotel. I highly recommend you rent a car so cheap, and safe! We enjoyed the people we ran into at every establishment we visited, the people are very friendly in Cabo! I recommend going the last week of May, before the crowds hit -Trust Me! My wife and I did the Grand Mayan Time share presentation and it was way too long - stay away from those guys! However, what lasted 3.5 hours got us; 1 Two Seater Jet Skis Rental for 1 HR; 2 Free Dinner Cruise Tickets; 2 Free Meals at the Shrimp Factory; $100(US) Cash for shopping at WalMart and a Bottle of Jose Cuervo! No Joke! So you can haggle with anyone. The Grande will do everything in their power to convince you to attend their Timeshare Presentation, so definately do some negotiating and if their unwilling to provide you with similiar incentives look elsewhere. Have a great time in Cabo, it's truly the best place in Mexico!

Room Tip: A room on the third floor overlooking the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GunBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guests from San Diego, California:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “"Loved it"” and for choosing The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent in Cabo San Lucas.
Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

While the service seemed a bit slow at times, especially from the kitchen, our service at the Ridge bar itself was outstanding. Raciel always made us feel welcome. Raciel always greeted us with a smile, made polite conversation, and mixed fantastic drinks! He made our experience in the pool unforgettable!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnGranner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guests from Otsego, Minnesota:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Ridge Restaurant & Bar - Raciel” and for choosing The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!!
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with Raciel.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We love the ridge it is an oasis within the gorgeousness of Plays Brande.We love the two infinity pools and the view from our patio overlooking the Marina. We are going again July. 8 and our family cant wait for our trip. The staff at Plays Brande are all so kind. I have a very stressful job and look forward to relaxing in the infinity pools.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcw1esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guests from Costa Mesa, CA:

We thank you very much for your kind comment “Love the ridge and Plays Grande”

We will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations during your next visit on July 8th, 2012!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, Ca
Level Contributor
104 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have been staying at Playa Grande and The Ridge for 14 years now (last six years at the Ridge, the first years on the ground floor on the beach at Playa Grande). We have looked forward to our stay every year. The staff here is the biggest asset. They are the greatest. Our room at the Ridge is excellent and well maintained. We have a great view of the marina. From the three pools, you have views of the marina, the bay and the Pacific. I walk for excercise every morning around the marina and into town. We walk for the hotel most nights to the good restaurants in town.

Room Tip: If your at The Ridge, take buildings A & D, not B or C
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ieduffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Guests from Rancho Mirage, Ca:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “14 Years and Still Enoying It”.
Come back anytime to visit us with all your friends and family, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Be aware there is no way this place deserves the title"luxury villas". We booked into a master suite, to which the staff attempt to sell upgrades. The first room we checked in to was supposed to have a marina view. Although it did,they forgot to say it was above a restaurant and exposed to the noise from large exhaust fans. Besides this, the room smelt incredibly musty. We immediately returned to reception and expressed our concerns.
We were shown another room in Playa Grande(all part of the same complex) and were checked in. It was not until we checked in that we discovered this room was worse than the first one. Where do I start. Two power points did not work, the air conditioner was excessively noisy with the addition of a loud rattle, the room smelt musty, the were dirty stains on the duvet cover, which were still there the next day after service, the hot water took minutes to come through, the refrigerator was even noisier than the air conditioner,the televisions are old tube models and wifi is not available in the rooms at all even if you pay. In fact the wifi around the pool was virtually useless unless you sat close to the antenna location.
We contacted the duty manager who was next to useless but he did move us to another room, but said they were all of the same (low standard). He did check out our previous room and acknowledged all the faults and said this was unusual( I don't think so).
The next room was the same standard and still smelt musty. The duty manager promised a dehumidifier which never arrived. We the discovered if you flushed either toilet the water kept on running. The light above the sink also did not work and was poorly installed.
During this time my wife misplaced our free welcome drink vouchers. We returned to our resort hostess who had promised to anything to help during our stay. Maybe because we didn't want to attend the free breakfast or lunch, which is a disguised sales push,she didn't want to know us. Go figure!
We were also annoyed by the constant pitch to upgrade to all inclusive food and beverage package for $79 per person per day.
The current room rate is about $260 plus taxes. There is no way that rooms at this resort are worth anywhere near this price. There are far better options in Cabo for this price.
Do not be fooled the accomodation at this resort can definitely not be described as luxury in any form.
Do not stay here and if you have a pre booking do your homework and find some where else to stay. Believe me you will not regret it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. They are desperately in need of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 00BCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest from Noosaville, Australia:

The comments you have made describing the experience you have encountered during your stay at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa, came to my attention. Please accept my apologies.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, we need to know when problems occur so the appropriate action can be taken.

Concerning your comments with your room location and smell I held a meeting with Front Desk and Housekeeping involved in this situation and measures have been taken to avoid this situation happen again in the future.

We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate that your past experience with Playa Grande is not characteristic of our performance, but an unpleasant exception.

As an attempt to regain your trust, we would like to ask you to please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to pamper you as intended.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everson, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We were originally booked to stay a week at the Sol Mar Beach Resort. Upon our arrival, we were informed that we would be upgraded to the Playa Grande Resort. Later we realized that the Sol Mar property was being upgraded, and this was necessary to insure our good stay. That property looked very nice also, and we would have been happy to enjoy our first visit to Los Cabos there had it been ready.

After checking in to Playa Grande, we were told we would have to move to the Ridge since our stay was from Saturday to the next Saturday. This apparently has something to do with the timeshare arrangements. The room at the Playa Grande was lovely, and had a beautiful view of the ocean.

Our move to the Ridge was even more wonderful. The room had two full bathrooms, full kitchen, dining area, private master bedroom and lovely balcony overlooking the marina. I personally didn't like the marina view, and noise from the marina at night, but the sliding door and drapes from the master bedroom kept it decently quiet. Our two kids (young adults) 20 and 24 didn't find this at all a problem.

The rooms were immaculate, and maid service kept them that way every day. The staff was wonderful: helpful and courteous. The grounds were well-kept. The pools were fantastic and hot tubs perfect.

We did not book all-inclusive, and found reasonable and delicious restaurants nearby. We even took a trip to Costco on the local bus to get some groceries.

We were asked to attend two "free breakfasts". One was for the Grand Sol Mar, the other for a sister property, Villa Del Palmar. Both were fine breakfasts, but the presentation was too long and tiresome. At least we got some nice gifts: Wave runner package, massage, snorkeling package, water taxi to Land's End, and trip to San Jose. They were all worth the trouble and very memorable.

We were nearly conned in to another presentation through a mistake we made at Walmart. The "help" desk was really a timeshare recruitment point. There are many of these in town and the marina. They masquerade as "tourist information". The guy was very persuasive, and even paid for our groceries from Costco and Walmart, and the taxi back to Playa Grande. We left a $20 deposit and committed to meet his driver the next morning. On our way out the security gate, staff from Playa Grande stopped up and asked where we were going. When we told them, they warned us that we would be taken far away, stuck to hear a long presentation, and waste our vacation time. We lost our $20, but heard a quicker presentation at the Villa Del Palmar, and got to enjoy their very nice beach.

I can highly recommend this resort to family and friends for business, family, or couples trips. The accommodations were beyond our expectations, and the staff went out of their way to make every aspect of this trip great. We plan to return to Cabo and the Ridge at our next opportunity!

Room Tip: Ask if you will face the beach or the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWwatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guests from Everson, Washington:

Thank you for choosing The Ridge at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!

For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande and Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge at Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge at Playa Grande

Property: The Ridge at Playa Grande
Address: Av Playa Grande 1A | Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge at Playa Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge at Playa Grande, a AAA Four Diamond resort, sparkling like a polished jewel on the coast of a shimmering blue sea. The world-famous Arco in Cabo San Lucas is but a stone’s throw away, and a white-sand beach stretches like a pristine path from your villa door to the ocean’s shore. Dramatic views are everywhere you look at this exclusive luxury resort. The collection of elegant villas all feature authentic Mexican decor and the personal touch of our award-winning architect. The Ridge at Playa Grande gives you a choice of one-bedroom Master Villas and two-bedroom Luxury Villas. All villas feature well-equipped kitchens, spacious living rooms, full-size baths, and upscale finishing touches. These villas include flat-screen TVs, Internet access, premium quality linens, and all the privacy you desire. Shopping, nightlife, and fine dining in downtown Cabo San Lucas are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ridge at Playa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge At Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing