We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ridge at Playa Grande
Nearby Hotels
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$248
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$564
$431
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$468
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$126
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$245
$204
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
$823
$669
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$485
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
371
84
28
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
371
84
28
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsridge poolbeautiful view of the marinamurphy bedmexican fiestathe pacific oceanfull kitchenbedroom unitwater taxihuge balconyadult poolpresidential suitemedano beachlobby bargrand solmaramazing vacationpools are greatnice resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 504 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Fantastic place! You must stay at the Ridge!! The pool is amazing and the staff fantastic. The Ridge is isolated from the rest of the main area of the hotel where it's very secluded and quiet. I don't recommend the all inclusive because you'll not want to venture out away from the hotel. I highly recommend you rent a car so cheap, and safe! We enjoyed the people we ran into at every establishment we visited, the people are very friendly in Cabo! I recommend going the last week of May, before the crowds hit -Trust Me! My wife and I did the Grand Mayan Time share presentation and it was way too long - stay away from those guys! However, what lasted 3.5 hours got us; 1 Two Seater Jet Skis Rental for 1 HR; 2 Free Dinner Cruise Tickets; 2 Free Meals at the Shrimp Factory; $100(US) Cash for shopping at WalMart and a Bottle of Jose Cuervo! No Joke! So you can haggle with anyone. The Grande will do everything in their power to convince you to attend their Timeshare Presentation, so definately do some negotiating and if their unwilling to provide you with similiar incentives look elsewhere. Have a great time in Cabo, it's truly the best place in Mexico!

Room Tip: A room on the third floor overlooking the Marina.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GunBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guests from San Diego, California:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “"Loved it"” and for choosing The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent in Cabo San Lucas.
Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

While the service seemed a bit slow at times, especially from the kitchen, our service at the Ridge bar itself was outstanding. Raciel always made us feel welcome. Raciel always greeted us with a smile, made polite conversation, and mixed fantastic drinks! He made our experience in the pool unforgettable!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ShawnGranner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Guests from Otsego, Minnesota:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Ridge Restaurant & Bar - Raciel” and for choosing The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!!
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with Raciel.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We love the ridge it is an oasis within the gorgeousness of Plays Brande.We love the two infinity pools and the view from our patio overlooking the Marina. We are going again July. 8 and our family cant wait for our trip. The staff at Plays Brande are all so kind. I have a very stressful job and look forward to relaxing in the infinity pools.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcw1esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Guests from Costa Mesa, CA:

We thank you very much for your kind comment “Love the ridge and Plays Grande”

We will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations during your next visit on July 8th, 2012!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have been staying at Playa Grande and The Ridge for 14 years now (last six years at the Ridge, the first years on the ground floor on the beach at Playa Grande). We have looked forward to our stay every year. The staff here is the biggest asset. They are the greatest. Our room at the Ridge is excellent and well maintained. We have a great view of the marina. From the three pools, you have views of the marina, the bay and the Pacific. I walk for excercise every morning around the marina and into town. We walk for the hotel most nights to the good restaurants in town.

Room Tip: If your at The Ridge, take buildings A & D, not B or C
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ieduffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Guests from Rancho Mirage, Ca:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “14 Years and Still Enoying It”.
Come back anytime to visit us with all your friends and family, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Be aware there is no way this place deserves the title"luxury villas". We booked into a master suite, to which the staff attempt to sell upgrades. The first room we checked in to was supposed to have a marina view. Although it did,they forgot to say it was above a restaurant and exposed to the noise from large exhaust fans. Besides this, the room smelt incredibly musty. We immediately returned to reception and expressed our concerns.
We were shown another room in Playa Grande(all part of the same complex) and were checked in. It was not until we checked in that we discovered this room was worse than the first one. Where do I start. Two power points did not work, the air conditioner was excessively noisy with the addition of a loud rattle, the room smelt musty, the were dirty stains on the duvet cover, which were still there the next day after service, the hot water took minutes to come through, the refrigerator was even noisier than the air conditioner,the televisions are old tube models and wifi is not available in the rooms at all even if you pay. In fact the wifi around the pool was virtually useless unless you sat close to the antenna location.
We contacted the duty manager who was next to useless but he did move us to another room, but said they were all of the same (low standard). He did check out our previous room and acknowledged all the faults and said this was unusual( I don't think so).
The next room was the same standard and still smelt musty. The duty manager promised a dehumidifier which never arrived. We the discovered if you flushed either toilet the water kept on running. The light above the sink also did not work and was poorly installed.
During this time my wife misplaced our free welcome drink vouchers. We returned to our resort hostess who had promised to anything to help during our stay. Maybe because we didn't want to attend the free breakfast or lunch, which is a disguised sales push,she didn't want to know us. Go figure!
We were also annoyed by the constant pitch to upgrade to all inclusive food and beverage package for $79 per person per day.
The current room rate is about $260 plus taxes. There is no way that rooms at this resort are worth anywhere near this price. There are far better options in Cabo for this price.
Do not be fooled the accomodation at this resort can definitely not be described as luxury in any form.
Do not stay here and if you have a pre booking do your homework and find some where else to stay. Believe me you will not regret it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. They are desperately in need of an upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 00BCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest from Noosaville, Australia:

The comments you have made describing the experience you have encountered during your stay at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa, came to my attention. Please accept my apologies.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, we need to know when problems occur so the appropriate action can be taken.

Concerning your comments with your room location and smell I held a meeting with Front Desk and Housekeeping involved in this situation and measures have been taken to avoid this situation happen again in the future.

We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate that your past experience with Playa Grande is not characteristic of our performance, but an unpleasant exception.

As an attempt to regain your trust, we would like to ask you to please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to pamper you as intended.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews