We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back next year... Can't wait!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Going back next year... Can't wait!”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Spent last week at Playa Grande in Cabo. Awesome place, VERY awesome location.
We rented a car at the SJD airport for the week since we went up to Todos Santos, Chileno Beach and Cabo Pulmo. However, the location of the resort was so good that we could walk to town and marina so we didn't use the car the days we stayed in town and sunned at the resort. Great staff... everyone, especially the bell staff, were incredibly friendly and helpful. We took the hike down the beach past the new Grand Solmar and went over the rocks to Lover's Beach..... Not for the faint of heart or mobility challenged. We never would have made it over without Arnesto, the kind and helpful man who we paid 100 pesos to to guide us over. Again, location made this possible.
The one bedroom we stayed in was great.... Only real complaint is that the refrigerator did not have an ice maker. (No big deal) It was very comfortable, nicely equipment and tastefully decorated.
The only other issue, if you can call it that was wireless internet access was poor and I felt expensive. I know, I shouldn't care as I was on vacation.
We are going back to Playa Grande next year with two other couples..... Great variety of people visiting this resort when we were there. If you want rowdy music and action and kids... go to the swim up bar pool. If you want relaxation, go to the adult pool. All was well.
Cabo is awesome. This was our 5th visit there. The location of Playa Grande made it the best of our trips!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Dear Guest:
It will be a pleasure to have you and your friends we us next year. Be sure you will enjoy your stay at Playa Grande, It is our goal that every guest, at every one of our resorts, leaves relaxed and feeling they have been treated like royalty.
We look forward your next Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa visit.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,408
    896
    206
    106
    84
See reviews for
1,298
1,392
63
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Just entering the Playa was a beautiful sight. The lobby was so nice. The only problem was there were timeshare people you had to talk to just to get your pool card. There was some pressure to go to the 90 minute spiel and get some good deals on various activities in Cabo.

There were so many pools and hot tubs to pick from, even an adult only pool. You can't swim in the ocean at the Playa because it has riptides. The rooms at the Playa Grande are great and lovely. The king sized bed was very comfortable, slept great. There were two bathrooms, one havig a walk-in shower. The rooms were cleaned every day.

The location was great. Just a walk down the hill and you're right at the marina. Wear comfortable shoes because the hill was pretty steep. Restaurants and night life were all within walking distance. You could also catch a cab or water taxi to go to Medano Beach. Just remember to ask how much before you get in.

Therea were also various theme nights. We went to the Mexican Fiesta. It was good food and all you could drink for $35. The entertainment was just okay. The emcee seemed more concerned about the pretty young girls than the majority of the audience.

All in all, it was a great place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playagranderesort, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Dear Guest:
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future. It was truly our pleasure to serve you.
Thank you for taking the time to write on some comments about your recent stay, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
We will be very happy to have you at Playa Grande in the near future
Sincerely yours,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We own a time share at the Playa Grande Resort. When we made reservation for the week in which we would be attending we were immediately told the wrong date. We have always always reported on Sunday since we have week 28. We were told to report that Saturday and not to report that Sunday. I knew that was not correct so we call back again and the customer service reps was insisting that we report on that Saturday. When we got there on Saturday we were immediately told we should have arrive on Sunday and we needed a confirmation number in order to stay at the resort or pay $160.00 for that one day or pay a transfer fee of $190.00

We told the front we would not pay either since we were told to report on Saturday instead of Sunday and we were not transferring from any where since we own at this resort. We were told to see Ms. Jackie who is the Director of customer service and she would take care of it. Whatever that means. I must say that place has the worst customer service of any place that we own time shares. Not only did we not meet Ms. Jackie we were met by the people who work for her and they were just as rude as the front desk clerk. They even had the nerve to say bad things about us in Spanish any my wife is from a Spanish speaking country. How rude. I wonder where the people in customer service pick up such bad behavior. After three days someone came to meet with us to try to resolve the problem.

After some investigation we got a copy of the schedule for scheduling time shares and they appear to be using the 2011 date which would have fell on a Saturday instead of a Sunday. They immediately told us they did not use that date and they were using only the 2010 date, so why was the 2011 date marked in blue. After all of this we were told we would not be charge for the one day and to make sure that we had confirmation number. We did not gain an extra day because we were leaving the following Saturday.

Other than that the other services were just fine and our hats go off to Arnold (Manager of the Restaurant) where we ate most of the time and the activities lady by the name of Selma. They the resort is wonderful and they have some wonderful people who work for them and maybe the front desk and Director of Customer Service can take a course in how to treat people who pay their salaries. If they can do this they would have a five star facility instead of four. GM&ER

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffinmrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playagranderesort, Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Dear Guest:
First of all, we would like to apologize to you, on behalf of the Resort for the inconvenience that you experienced during your past stay. Certainly your comments are very important to us and we would like to express our deepest sorrow for the way that you were mislead by wrong information that caused you this inconvenience, that even though you were not charged anything, we are aware that you suffered an unnecessary discomfort and unpleasant moment.
Please accept our most sincere apologies.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2010

From the moment you enter the resort you fall in love with the place - from the grand lobby to the wonderful smell that takes you away. The resort was so clean it looked brand new. The view from the awesome rooms is great. We had a two bedroom suite that was really roomy with a full kitchen and living room area. Maid and room service was good. The restaurants and food even at the swim up bar was excellent. Very nice pool area. Myself and my 10 friends all were very happy with our stay and plan to make it an annual event. Resort is right near the marina and town so we walked everywhere. Take one of the small boat rides over to the other beach and enjoy the views of the arch, lovers beach, etc. Some of our friends went on a half day fishing trip and had a great time - caught two huge fish wish we enjoyed at a marina restaurant that evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaboFunSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playagranderesort, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a nice comments regarding your recent stay. We are happy to know about your plan to come back again. It will be a pleasure to serve you again and all your friends!
Wishing you a world of happiness,
Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abita Springs, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This was our first visit to Cabo San Lucas and the Playa Grande Resort. Friends of ours own a timeshare at Playa and have been going there for ten years. It was even better than they described. We had a Jr. Deluxe suite with a kitchenette, refrigerator and microwave. We had coffee and breakfast outside as we sat on our balcony facing the pool area and the ocean. The veiws were spectacular !! We spent our mornings wandering around the boardwalk and marina and the rest of the day at the pool. Great hamburgers and Margeritas !! Pool exceptionally clean and well maintained. We were only approached a few times by the sales staff then left totally alone when we declined to attend a presentation. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abitadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playagranderesort, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make such a nice comments regarding your recent stay. It is very important to listen to every guest, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We just returned from a weeklong stay at the Playa Grande in Cabo San Lucas. We had visited Los Cabos last year and stayed at the HIlton (which was fantastic, but remote). While there we did take a timeshare tour and ended up buying at Playa Grande. Over the past year we have wondered if we made the right decision, but let me tell you after this trip we definately feel like we did. I say this not to talk the place up just so it helps the timeshare resale, because we sure arent giving any of our weeks up. So onto the practical aspects and details. The shuttle bus from the airport that we arranged in advance through the hotel went very smooth. Only two other stops and they were very close by. The driver however took our only (emailed) confirmation, which would have helped save some time when we arranged our return. Initially (for the return) they could not "find" our reservation or that we had paid. All turned out fine and was just a small misunderstanding on our names. My suggestion though wold be to have more than one copy, just in case. At check in we had a few moments of anxiety when the clerk could not find our reservation, even though I had our reservation number. This also had to do with a misunderstanding of the name and travelling with two people who had last names. The trip to the "host desk" to get the towel cards was pretty painless and turned out to be the only time during our entire stay, that a request was made for a tour/breakfast/time share presentation. We declined and never were bothered again, this was a very nice surprise as I have seen comments about being hounded by phone and around the property, especially the lobby. I do not know if something has changed, but we did not experience any of it, The rooms themselves were AWESOME, and exactly as we remembered. Having the kitchen was really great and found it equipped to cook and mix cocktails throughout the week. We did make a run to Wal-mart via cab and that cost us 120 pesos each way. There is also a bank with an ATM in the Walmart complex which makes it easy to get Pesos at a good exchange rate. We were able to get a ton of food and drink for significantly less than we expected. The little market at the hotel is handy for little emergencies, but significantly more than at Wal-mart. A hint on Walmart shopping, pay attention to "how" items are priced, as we found the price shown was "per", such as individual eggs and water bottles. Of course you will pay much less purchasing Mexican brands over US and we found them all to be just fine. Back at the hotel with our purchases, the bell team had a great "tub" cart and helped us easily back to our room. The daily maid service was very good and we had the same gal all week. One of my few complaints with the rooms is that while equiped with the normal shampoo/soap/lotion, they did not offer any conditioner. If you are coming down expecting to use what they provide, please keep that in mind. The other item I would love to see the hotel add is an Ipod docking station, or something providing the ability to play music. We found a little portable (battery operated) ipod speaker that we used almost around the clock. We took this to the pool daily as well and found as long as we werent playing it too loudly, we didnt bother anyone, but it was nice to have. We spend many hours everyday at the pool and enjoyed having the adult pool as an option. We never had any issues with procuring lounges, but perhaps it was due to the time of year. The only area that I thought lacked in service was at the pool. While there seemed to be plenty of pool servers running around, it seemed to take forever to get drinks, especially during happy hour (which is daily and lasts 3-5pm...they ring a bell so you cant forget). Twice we waited over a half hour to get beer and spoke to others who had the same experience, While we didnt personally partake in any of the activities, they do seem to have quite a few of them including three different nites that had live music, dancing and all you can eat food & drinks for $35 pp USD. I think if you are there with a group, it might be some fun. What we enjoy about Cabo and especially Playa Grande was the proximity to town. We walked morning, noon and night between the hotel and town and never experienced a problem. The new walk way that takes you out of and above the street level deposits you right into the marina area. The marina area was well lit, very clean and always had security everywhere. We walked through there very late at night multiple times, and with just using general caution, felt very safe. There were many, many resturants and bars very close that made the 10-15 minute walk great. As many people note, the beach is not swimable, but it is fanastic to walk on daily and being private, very safe. there are no vendors that bother you and if you really want that experience, go over to Medano beach for a day. Down at Lands End, there is a local fellow that for a few pesos will help you climb over the rocks over to Lovers Beach, which we did and enjoyed. This hotel overall gets outstanding marks from us. The physical facility really is beautiful, the rooms are large and clean and feel very high end. We thought the bed and bedding both were very good and soundwise,we never heard any noise from our neighbors. During our stay I had one small concern and the manager on duty ,Rodrigo got immediatley involved and exceeded our expectations on resolution. One last little piece of advice, when packing for your trip it may be helpful to bring one long sleeve shirt or light jacket. We found a few times the ocean breeze at night (especially after beeing in the sun all day) could be a little cool. A few of the resturants will bring out a little blanket to keep the ladies warm, but I wasnt expecting that in July. I hope some of this information helps. As stated above, our expectations really were exceeded and we do plan to return now year after year to Playa Grande.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playagranderesort, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear Guest:
We are so happy that your experience with us was a pleasant one.. It was truly our pleasure to serve you.
Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay. We are looking forward to have you very soon with us again!
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We have missed Playa the past two yrs. and are anxiously awaiting a relaxing week. Bringing the granddaughter and friend this time. We also have another couple coming with us too.
We have never been disappointed with RCI here or anywhere else we have exchanged.
Please tell us we won't be dissappointed.
Miss you Cabo!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playagranderesort, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Dear Guest:
We appreciate you taking the time to write us. We would love to have you in Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa and allow us the opportunity to pamper you and your family and friends. It is our goal that every guest, at every one of our resorts, leaves relaxed and feeling they have been treated like royalty.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#28 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing