We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is my 3rd visit to Playa Grande. I have 2 friends that own 2 timeshares! ....yeah, I know, lucky me! Excellent place! We do the all-inclusive that is so worth it! Wonderful service, food, and a delightful entertainment staff!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Barbara J
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you and your friends had a wonderful time and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
We look forward to hosting you again…
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,171 - 2,177 of 3,927 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our second trip to Cabo San Lucas and our first stay at Playa Grande. The resort is beautiful and the grounds are very well kept. Having the Pacific Ocean right outside the door was amazing. There are definitely people and parts of our stay that stand out. First, I need to say that the most helpful person in the entire resort was Maria the concierge. We had an issue with a rental car company and she went way out of her way to help us resolve the problem. If you are looking to do anything in Cabo, please see Maria. You will not be sorry, she is great! The next thing that made our stay was the entertainment. We looked forward to the theme nights and watching Humberto, Juan and Rose. Roberto had us rolling with laughter every night. Don't miss the Boogie Night. Very funny and the dancers were very talented. We purchased the all-inclusive plan and it worked for us. If you want to eat in town or cook your own meals, it may not be for you. We enjoyed the "no worry" eating and drinking throughout the day and night. It also gave us free internet which was important to us. The best thing about this resort is definitely location, location, location! We were walking distance from everywhere and we did not need to worry about the "party" crowd on the other side. We could visit the crowded beaches but when we were done, we could go back to the peaceful beach in front of the Playa Grande. Well worth the trip. We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in Bldg A are great. We were in 1075….walk outside and you are on the beach. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vmghka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Vmghka2
We are completely honored to read that your first visit to our Resort was enjoyable and met your expectations. We truly appreciate all the positive remarks about our resort and especially about the service, it’s very important to know that we were able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my staff as they continue to improve our personalized service.
I agree that our property offers a Great location and our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
We are looking forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Be very careful when you stay at this hotel! We arrived on a Sunday evening and immediately changed and went to the pool and dinner. Got up early the next morning to go to town for the day and returned to find we are locked out of our room! We go to the front desk and they have a manager tell us that the maid has reported the TV broken and that we have to pay $700.00 for a new 32" Samsung TV! We refuse because we had not even turned the TV on! We asked for our belongings and passports which they had locked up and they said no we could not have anything until we paid the $700. We asked if we could buy a TV elsewhere and we were told no that no one in Cabo sold the exact same 32" Samsung so we paid so we could get our belongings! My question isn't the maid suppose to be cleaning the room not turning on the TV's? I think this is a scam to get money from Americans! I talked to numerous people at the pool who had money, phones ipads, jewelry stolen from their rooms by the maids. One maid was supposedly let go after she was identified by the people but they did not give them there money back! I would not recommend this resort to my worst enemy! Don't fall for the Beach Party scam at $45.00 a person for raw hamburgers and ribs which were bones with sauce on top and water downed drinks. They had a live band but they only played for about 20 minutes of the 3 hours because they spent almost 2 hours a limbo contest! Bad service in the restaurants and at the pool! All they want is you to either buy into their timeshare or upgrade to a new one! BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just back from a week at Playa Grande, and I must say the employees across the board were the best part of the trip. We checked in early and our room was not ready, so had a little lunch (the fish taco's were great) and looked around a bit. Beautiful property. Returned to the desk and were given our room in "O" building. Very spacious and comfortable. Had a nice view of the beach and ocean from the patio. The bellman was very gracious and handled our bags carefully as he showed us about the room. He explained the trick of keeping the AC on when out of the room was to put a towel card or do not disturb sign in the switch by the door. It was so hot last week that this trick was greatly appreciated. Cruz, our housekeeper, was so very polite and professional, it was truly a pleasure to see her everyday. If we returned after she had cleaned and saw us in the hall, she would ask if everything was OK or did we need anything else.
The grounds were terrific, however with daily rain showers, the grass was getting a little tall. I rained a little almost everyday, which made the humidity high (see AC Trick above) but the room was always spotless.
The adult pool was where we hung out and the service was perfect. Our waiters were always around, but never bothersome. They were very prompt with the food or beverage requested, and gracious when serving.
The concierge was extremely helpful in making dinner reservations and suggesting outings, etc. Their knowledge was evident and their attitude was directed toward making our vacation the best it could be.
The Time share hostess Marina gave us our towel cards and free drink voucher while explaining the presentation to us. We told her that we already had 2 timeshares with more weeks than we had time to use and would prefer to just relax this trip. She understood and told us if we changed our minds to please reserve through her, we agreed, and that was the last we heard of timeshare presentations, but we did receive several waves and smiles as we walked through the lobby.
Finally the Bellmen were always so nice getting us a taxi and telling us the fare.
The bottom line is this...We had an army of people wanting us to have a great vacation while going out of their way to help us do so. These people seemed to really enjoy what they did, and went helping us enjoy our stay. I couldn't ask for anything more from a resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bogey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Bogey18
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Of course we would go the week when it was one of the hottest and muggiest! But that is Mother Nature for you!!
First, we got transportation from the hotel. Go all the way thru... do not stop, til you get to the curb. Do not let people trick you by saying they are with hotel... it's about the timeshare.
Be ready to be asked about the timeshare or asked to buy something throughout the trip. Not used to that, but shrug it off and say no thank you. You may have to say it more than once but you just go on.
We loved our room despite our requests for a higher floor to avoid the palm trees in the way of ocean. Palm trees in the way... I know... we lived with it. :) Loved having a full kitchen to make breakfast in the mornings when we had early activities. We used Prickly Pear to deliver groceries so we didn't have to trek to store. Had plenty of bottled water, beer and mixed drinks in the evening.
Notable customer service came from Hortencia at the Spa- best massage and facial, Maria at the concierge desk- very helpful with booking activities and giving us great recommendations for places to eat, all the bellman- all very helpful (Chuy) and the maids-very accomodating to our mornings of sleeping in. The hotel is VERY clean and neat- beautiful grounds- raked sand!
Pool gets full in the afternoon since that is the hottest part of day. Waiters poolside were ok... not much of service from them.

Roberto at the 4th of July beach party was so fun! He made my 15 yr old son smile... hard to do! But what happened to the ribs? The music/limbo/dancing was fun and setting was great with the red, white and blue lights and other decorations. The beach was fun to walk on in the evening to watch the waves even though you can't swim in it. Medano Beach is more suitable for that if you go over there for the afternoon like we did.
It was fun to watch the World Soccer games at the Lobby Bar. It was nice for hotel to accommodate the fans.
Loved our stay and would like to visit again! Great for couples or families, good mix of people. Thanks for the wonderful stay!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Carolynchase13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Carolynchase13,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day. For us is really important your feedback and is heart warming to realize that our dedication is in the right path, as our goal is not only to make our guests return but to make them feel more comfortable each time and to notice the improvements in our services.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just came back from Cabo San Lucas, Playa Grande Hotel. Beautiful hotel, well maintained, Service is excellent from the Bell Boys to the Concierge! We stayed at the section known as the Ridge. Our room overlooked the Marina and the Sea of Cortez. Although it only has one room, it easily accommodates a family of five, two full bathrooms and a full kitchen with daily cleaning service. Very confortable and excellent location. Walking distance to Marina , stores and Restaurants but we did rent a car and ventured out to Todos Santos and San Jose del Cabo.

It did rain on us , but in retrospect a blessing in disguise , since it cooled to a manageable 88 degrees. Otherwise the heat does take a toll...

If you are researching were to stay .. Look no more .. This hotel won't disappoint

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vazqued1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Vazqued1,
Thank you very much for such a positive review, especially for your kind comments about the great service provided by our staff, it's a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable and met your expectations. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
We are looking forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a place where every single staff member is so motivated to make you feel like a king and queen. .. ..me and my wife went to celebrate our honeymoon we love it! !!! Great pool service from Julio Cesar, Fernando, Rafael and captain Jorge. .lobby bar Arnold Lizarraga....thank you guys for your kindness and service...see you guys soon! !!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bonito6788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear bonito6788,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing romantic getaway at Cabo.
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,039 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.2 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $171 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing