We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our second time there and we had a great time. The staff was very helpful and the Activities were even better. The Activities staff Robert, Humberto, Christina, Mirlann and Lois were just fantastic. The shows that were put on envolved the entire crowd and they got everyone from young to old involved. GREAT JOB. The food was good and not over priced. We did not get the meal plan because there are great places to in town. The diners at the hotel were very good and so was breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szajacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Szajacz,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
We look forward to hosting you again…
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,807)
There are newer reviews for Playa Grande Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,272 - 2,278 of 3,807 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

What an wonderful experience! Christina, Roberto, Hombreto and Miriam were terrific at getting people involved around the pool and making everything fun and everyone feel welcome. Earnesto and Yoni provided outstanding service for us in the evening at dinner. Excellent memories of personal preferences, needs and attention to detail which makes you feel like an important guest! The staff in the spa are warm and welcoming and the environment is calming and peaceful! The resort is just a short walk to the marina and great shops and restaurants! It truly was a dream vacation!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awinrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Awinrn,
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our property offers a Great location and our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Especially appreciated Christina, she was very helpful and a lot of fun doing crafts down by the pool. The staff at the front entrance were also very helpful. When we were loaded with groceries someone always volunteered to help carry them to the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerryp1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Jerryp1963,
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We visit the Playa Grande Resort every year. We are owners of a floating week. We have never been disappointed. The staff is fantastic, friendly and very professional? This resort offers it all. They have a great spa with all sorts of treatments. There are two parts to the hotel. The pacific side with a beautiful garden area with a big freshwater pool. Then there is the ridge area with fantastic views of the Cabo Marina. What a great view to wake up to while enjoying a great cup of coffee or tea. Or for that matter it is also great at night with all the lights of the city. The ridge also features it won swimming pool area with two jacuzzi hot tubs. One pool is adults only. While the other allows children. There is a swim up bar at all the pools. Happy hour is 2 to 4 every day. Full meal service is available at all the polls and the restaurants on site.a full meal plan is also available we love the room service so we can dine at our leisure. This year I needed a haircut and got one at the spa and it was the best I have ever had. Did a pedicure too. Ahhhh. This is a full service resort. Anything you need is available. We usually rent a car so we san get around the city more easily and too and from the airport. If you don't then transport can be requested from the resort. It is a very short walk down to the marina. There are numerous great eating and drinking establishments around the harbor. We love Romeo and Julieta's for Italian, the hacienda de Los coyote is great for Mexico, and puerto San Lucas just below the resort is great for seafood and Italian. A bit farther is Solomans for Mexican food. Senior sweets is great for gelato and breakfast and coffee while watching people. We really love Los Deseos on the east side of the inner harbor. A new place we found is peacock's. Fantastic gourmet Mexican food. The new chef is fabulous. Great atmosphere. Owned by a German guy who has been in Cabo for 30+ years.

Playa Grande is a time share/hotel operation. They also own the Solmar next door and Grand Solmar - time share.

All these are located right at the tip of the peninsula. Just above them is the Pedregal development. Super expensive properties on a hill side for the rich and famous.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Paaflyer,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we highly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it’s always nice to know we have met your expectations. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day. Our goal is not only to make our guests return but to make them feel more comfortable each time and to notice the improvements in our services.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have stayed at Playa Grande numerous times and can confirm it's 5-star rating. The staff are wonderful (most speak English) and are most helpful. Hugo and Marisimo are the best! Beautiful views of the Pacific and Sea of Cortez. A short walk (or cab) to downtown and the wonderful shops and eateries. It is VERY safe with a beautiful harbor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Richard M,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing visit, it sounds like you had a wonderful vacation.
I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room, food and staff were exceptional! We loved our penthouse suite that provided views of everything in Cabo. Everywhere you look in this resort is gorgeous and the views are breathtaking. The upper level infinity pools were simply paradise and the bartenders at the poolside bar were the best (Raciel and Fernando)! The location can't be beat. We loved every minute of our stay at this luxurious hotel and will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are large, private and quiet. Make sure you have a room with access to the uppe...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Traveler,
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The check in was uneventful after we dodged the timeshare sales people. After the check in, our room wasn't quite ready, so we were given our "welcome package" which was comprised of a welcome drink and another timeshare opportunity. We sat at the Lobby bar and had the most amazing Guacamole and Margaritas. This resort is close to the marina and local restaurants. Perfect location to everything really. The rooms are lovely, the housekeepers are friendly but will get around to cleaning your room when they get around to it, which suited us just fine, we really didn't spend much time in the room. The internet wasn't the fastest but I was able to conduct my business first thing in the morning and play the rest of the day. The activities were plentiful at the resort, but none that we wanted to participate in. We just wanted to hang out in the adult pool area and relax. The servers were friendly and always enticing us with new and fun drinks.

Room Tip: High up to get a great view of the sunrise, or low down to be able to take advantage of walking righ...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen and Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Karen & Don,
We enjoyed reading your wonderful review, Glad you had a great time at your paradise home away from home and I´m delighted that you were able to spend time at our hotel pool. I agree our signature guacamole and margaritas are to die for.
Come back anytime to visit us. We will be very pleased to serve you again.
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
928 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
1.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $180 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing