We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our family stayed here and couldn't be happy with our choice. Location, staff, the hotel grounds and the room/balcony were wonderful (we were on the fifth floor & the view was amazing!) No one ever bothered us for a time share. (Just be prepared at the airport & possibly when you went a car to say no.) Just observations - no oven and no tp in the toilet. Very close to the marina so walking to your water activities - water taxi, whale watching, diving... - are a breeze! While planning this trip, I decided to wait to plan any excursions and happy that I did. We planned a couple things through the hotel & it was much cheaper through them than online. Thoroughly impressed with Playa Grand Resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Lori,
Thank you for your accomplishments. I agree with you, our resort has an amazing location, that allow to discover Cabo in all its different faces.
We are glad to know you enjoyed our facilities, and our staff provided you an excellent service.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    853
    196
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,220
1,304
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have been going to Playa Grande for years. The first few years we stayed down by the beach area. Kids loved it and we really enjoyed the location to the beach. No one bugging you all the time like on Medano Beach. We have since moved up to the Ridge and it is excellent for our now grandkids and how our family has grown. We are there the same time every year so we have made many friends from other parts of the country. WE all watch all the kids and grandkids and enjoy catching up. I'm hoping the elevators to the Ridge are in good working order as last year my son and daughter-in-law got stuck in one and there was no way to communicate that they were stuck for 35 minutes. The proximity to town and the marina make Playa Grande perfect if you don't want to spend all your money on the taxi services. The spa is something no one should miss. The amenities are fabulous for women and men. My husband and I go together and he gets a massage while I enjoy a facial, etc. My sons and daughter take their turns and it is a nice way to end our stay every time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaGr741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Linda
Thank so much for posting a review, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband & I picked up our friend's timeshare at Playa Grande Resort for our winter get-a-way. I was very impressed this resort. It was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite right on the Pacific Ocean beach. It was heavenly to sit on our private balcony, listen to the waves & watch the whales right outside our room. We were so close to the marina and the heart of downtime that walking was terrific. Although we were close to everything the resort still gives you the feel that you are in a secluded location away from everything. I would also note that it was very friendly and safe feeling. We didn't know what to expect. My only warning would be to prepare yourself for all of the timeshare sales both inside the resort and everywhere outside. We will definitely return to this fun, warm piece of paradise!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Deborah,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you and your husband had a wonderful visit from check in to check out and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just finished 10 days at the Playa Grande and had an even better experience than last year. We were almost going to stay elsewhere as last year we changed rooms twice for various reasons I won't get into here before settling in to a nice room for our stay. I told this to Juan Carlos, one of the front desk clerks and he was so wonderful to us and saw to it that we had the perfect room for our needs and that was the beginning of a fabulous stay. Juan Carlos was always accommodating if the concierge was busy and if he [Juan] didn't have someone checking in or out he gave us good advice, much help and patience and we just appreciated him so much.
This hotel is a gorgeous property right near the marina where tons of activities take place. If you love lounging by a pool and being pampered this is the place for you. The pools are great and we were in them early in the morning but the hot tubs could definitely be hotter. There is an activities desk right by the pools and we signed up for the Mexican Fiesta which was good but they could turn the volume down a million decibels and it would be perfect. There's a cooking class every Monday around 1p.m. and the chef makes a lovely seafood dish that everyone gets to sample and that was fun. Marina, the gal at the activities area is a treasure and our trip was so much better with her help as she gave us such great tips, advice, was accommodating and patient with our many questions and the hotel is an even better place with her around. The concierges Paula and Angel likewise were terrific and made our stay that much better.
The food at Calima and Brigantine is quite good but we like to explore so we ate there a few times and walked to many other restaurants outside the property. If you like all inclusive they do offer that and I think you'll be happy with it. Jorge and his staff at the Brigantine restaurant are wonderful and he helped us yesterday as we were running late to get to the airport, didn't have time to wait for something to be cooked, didn't want a buffet breakfast but Jorge let us pick a few things off the buffet and didn't charge much and it was delicious.
There are many choices of hotels in Cabo but truthfully, for us, once your find something you're very comfortable with why bother looking for something else. You get choices of rooms when you book this hotel and we like the luxury suite with its two bathroom and double balconies and extra square footage and it's not that much more than the regular room. All and all a great value and we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you can't do a lot of walking get a room closer to the lobby where the cabs are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arlyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Arlyhill,
Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for their vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service and selection of food.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward for your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We always look forward to being greeted by Jesus when we arrive - he is always friendly and so helpful. We love the entertainment staff - Cristina, Umberto, Miriam, Hector, Luis and Roberto are wonderfully friendly and enthusiastic. Water aerobics is a great class. The pool service staff is also great - Gustavo, Eduardo, Arturo, Rafael, and Julio are the best!!
Paula Riopa is always very responsive to my emails and requests for things such as upgrades and staying extra days. If she can't take care of it, she refers me to the proper person.
All in All the staff at Playa Grande is very knowledgeable and helpful from the reception desk to the restaurant staff and concierge staff. A great resort and very well maintained.

Room Tip: Some views are partially obscured by the palm trees - they are trimmed periodically but it is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knotthd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Knotthd ,
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

A friend and I visited this resort for a girls getaway. We stayed for 4 perfect nights! The property is beautifully maintained, the staff is SUPER FRIENDLY and helpful, our room was gorgeous (with a view of the main pool area and the ocean) and the weather was perfect! The price for value was really great as well. We chose to relax by the pool, walk the beach, and eat at the resort. If you chose to explore, town is an easy walk. The beach was so beautiful and because it is private, there are no vendors on the sand. Staff that were particularly helpful were Omar (at the front desk) and Julio Cesar (at the pool nearest the ocean). We have already booked our room for February 2015!

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms around the main pool, not up on the ridge. Many folks prefer the ridge as it...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Maureen,
What a delightful review to read. Thank you so much for sharing such lovely comments. Our staff do indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We just came back from 8 days at this resort. We loved the location. Easy access to the marina and activities in Cabo. Beautiful beach on the Pacific Ocean. While you cannot swim in the ocean (most people at resorts use the pool anyways) it was very private, had beautiful sand, nobody trying to hawk you silver and trinkets and far less busy than the hotels on Medano Beach. Our room was beautiful - king size bed, two bathrooms, kitchen, living room and two decks. The rooms are well maintained in this resort. Housekeeping service was excellent. Very social atmosphere around the pool. We stayed at the adult only pool. There were more activities and music at the other pools. We had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant by the beach on Grill Night - $29 US includes salad buffet and dessert buffet. Great value. We had Sunday Brunch - go before 9:00 a.m. and it is only $21 compared to $31 after 9:00 a.m. Didn't find the breakfast as good the rest of the week - less options for the $24 price. Sunday brunch has lots of extras so worth the value before 9:00 a.m. We had no problem communicating without knowledge of Spanish. All the bell boys, concierge, check in staff and restaurant staff speak good English. Beware of being hassled for time share upon checkin. Just say you are not interested and want to get to your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Barb;
We are completely honored to read that your first visit to Playa Grande was enjoyable and met your expectations. We truly appreciate all the positive remarks about our resort and especially about the service, it’s very important to know that we were able to meet your expectations.
Our goal is to provide every guest a beautiful and memorable vacation throughout great service and devotion towards our guests.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing