We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Playa Grande”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Loved Playa Grande”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were very generously invited to stay at Playa Grande by my Father-in-Law in celebration of his 70th birthday. He made all of the arrangements so I can't speak to the booking process.

Check-in was quick and easy. We were 4 sub-family units making up the entire group and we ended up in rooms 2422, 2423, 2424, and 2425. Each of these rooms overlooks the pools and Calima restaurant with a partial ocean view from the balcony. The other side is a great view of the beach and a neighbouring resort.

The rooms were quite large with a separate bedroom, then a living space and a kitchen and dining table. All rooms were very clean and immaculately maintained.

As for the food, we did eat at a couple onsite and offsite restaurants, but those have all been reviewed under separate cover. We did order room service a couple of times and found the food to be reasonably priced with quality preparation and fast delivery.

This was my first time to Cabo and will most certainly not be my last. Playa Grande is the perfect home base for exploring the Marina and the neighbourhoods around the marina. We even walked over to Moreno Beach just by following the marina all the way around. There are literally dozens of locals that will approach you about their wares or excursions, but at no point did any of us feel threatened or unsafe. It was like they used humour to catch your attention and stand out.

We did use the facilities at The Ridge every day and although, technically, you are supposed to have a separate card, they did not try to keep us out. They still let us charge our drinks and snacks by the pool so it seems that they expect you to make your way up there if you want to. We took full advantage of the water slide and whirlpool!

Overall an amazing trip of a lifetime, mostly due to the company, but having the Playa Grande as our setting made our experience even better.

I will return to Cabo and will stay at Playa Grande again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khrynisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Khrynisx,
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful visit from check in to check out and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay. I am glad to know you are planning to come back soon.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,293
    863
    198
    106
    81
See reviews for
1,242
1,325
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Writing this sitting at one of the great pools at this wonderful resort that we have been visiting several times a year since 2006.
The resort seems to improve with the years, the maintenance folks are always busy painting, touching up, and making sure that the place is always impeccable.
The staff and team are like friends who we look forward to seeing every year. Pool entertainment staff Miriam and Cristina and our regular pool servers Gustavo and Rafael are always friendly and helpful.
Room cleaning is always perfect and timely. Wifi is still an issue with limited coverage and slow speeds, and only 2 users logged in per account at a time is a nuisance, especially as the rooms accommodate 5.
The only negative comment: warm up the pools, they are too cold.
Cabo itself is great, and the location of the resort is wonderful, no noisy neighbors or beach vendors.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank haasdasinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Haasdasinca,
We enjoyed reading your wonderful review. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us, we appreciate your feedback regarding the internet. Our team here is constantly tweaking our service in order to improve and your opinion help us.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Been going to Cabo regularly for the past 15 years. Stayed in many of the best resorts in Cabo, hands down Playa Grande is the best. I've never been so catered to anywhere. The staff clearly expresses their desire to give you a fabulous experience.The views are breath taking. Easy walk to town, or catch the local collectivo's right down the hill, and adventure out.

Room Tip: The internet modems are in the palm trees. Best signal from balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solmaryrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Solmaryrose,
We are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit; I am glad that you enjoyed our services.
Come back anytime to visit us. We will be very pleased to serve you again.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Playa Grande Resort is the best RCI Exchange we have ever had. The resort is beautiful, suites spacious and comfortable, staff very attentive. The resort and suite are spotlessly clean. There are quite a few activities offered at the resort, although we did not participate in most. The restaurant prices are a bit higher than restaurants in town, but not extreme. The Sunday brunch was excellent with a huge number of choices. The food at the Mexican Fiesta was mediocre, unfortunately, but the atmosphere and entertainment was fun. We followed the suggestions on TA and requested a higher floor overlooking the Pacific and it was great. Sunsets were beautiful. To get the room in the section requested we stayed in a suite for one night and they moved us to another the next day with no problem. We locked our luggage and they moved it for us.
We walked around The Ridge (one needs a special room card to use the elevator to get there). Although we did not see rooms, it does seems to be a higher-end, more exclusive part of the resort. As mentioned it does overlook the Marina and depending on where the room is may involve quite a bit of uphill/downhill walking (it wasn't clear if there were different elevators serving the various sections).
The location is great if you want to go into Cabo for restaurants, nightclubs, the Marina, etc. Although it is much closer than many of the other resorts, there is still a considerable walk just to get out of the property (uphill/downhill) and a long walk along the road leading the the main street and several side streets where there are great, inexpensive restaurants. Totally do-able, just be prepared and wear comfortable shoes if that is an issue. There are sidewalks (some a bit of an obstacle course and with stairs) and the road to the main street has a lot of traffic with busses so there is exhaust and dust to deal with. As others have said, walking through the Marina means you will be asked by many hawkers to buy boat rides, cruises, cigars, etc. Both ways are long walks but very short cab or car rides.
We also participated in the tour offered by the Solmar Foundation. It is heavily promoted throughout their resorts. Although it is not clear how much the company/owners/developer are actually putting into the foundation of their own or company money, it is not that different from other fundraising strategies at the grocery store, Barnes & Noble, Amazon, newspaper, etc. - when you are asked to contribute a certain amount to go to a charity. Seems like there is the potential to raise a lot of money if many guests/owners contribute. The Solmar company also works with these charities to train workers, donate used goods from the resort to a low-cost resale shop, etc. The agencies visited very briefly all were very clean and made a good first impression. There is a lot to be said for seeing more of the real community where one is staying and not only the resorts, restaurants, bars, and stores.

Room Tip: We followed the advice of others and asked for a room on a higher floor, on the Pacific side, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CNPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear CNPH,
What a delightful review to read. Thank you so much for sharing such lovely comments. Our staff do indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your ocean view room.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others guests. You thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is our home resort, we went 12/1-12/8/13 with 4 different families (our son, daughter in law and grand daughter - niece and nephew - friends), we had 3-1bedroom units on the Ridge. Two of the rooms were next door to each other which was very convenient for us. We had a great time the resort is so beautiful and our guest can't wait to return. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The resort was so clean and was beautifully decorated for the Holidays.
Since the time we have owned the resort 2006 we haven't been since they started the all inclusive. So we gave it a try this time - the food was good the drinks tasty, however we would not do it again. We did have one problem with Lobster night in the restaurant they stated it was not included in our all inclusive as soon as I went to the front desk it was resolved right away, thank you for your quick assistance. Seems like it was the same food and drinks all the time. Next time we will stop at Walmart and buy food for breakfast and lunch finding places for dinner in town. However I will defiantly do the Fiesta Night and Beach Night even my 18 month old grand daughter laughed and loved watching these shows. Roberto (MC) did a awesome job at keeping the audience involved with both of these nights.
The only complaint I have is the gate that goes down to the town from the Ridge. This is for the management you need to fix this so guest at the Ridge can use this access anytime of the day or night with their hotel key (like we do at the elevators from the lobby). This was a big inconvenience when we wanted to go to town before noon, we would have to walk all the way around from the lobby. (Especially since Starbucks is right across the street my husband and men of our group needed there Starbucks fix early in the morning and weren't happy when they couldn't get our.) When you made the access from the Ridge to the Street was wonderful (the first year we came it wasn't there and you had to take the long way around) even with the gate if it is before noon you feel like your in jail unless you walk all the way around.

All in All the vacation was great.

Room Tip: Our original room is on the Ridge 3114, our friends had 3014 one floor down and they noticed somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtgonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Mtgonis,
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We enjoyed a 7 night stay at PG over the week of Christmas. This resort did not disappoint. At check in we requested a room on a higher level per the reviews on TA. However, a first floor room was recommended and we took the recommendation and LOVED IT! We were in room 2053. 2 adults, 3 teens. The room had a private king bedroom w/bath and a living area with sofa bed (very comfortable), murphy bed (very small but worked for our 12 year old) and a kitchenette. We could have put two of our teens on the sofa bed but it would have been tight. We always travel with an air mattress so the kids each had a good place to sleep.

Everyone that has read reviews on TA knows that timeshare opportunities abound in Cabo. This didn't affect us negatively at all. We did take up the offer for a breakfast tour and sales pitch and said no thanks. We were treated well throughout the process. The benefit of giving up 4 hours of our morning was that we saved $700 by booking our excursions through the hotel. (got major discounts by hearing the sales pitch). Excursions we did were ATV on the beach, Ziplining with Wild Canyon and Buccaneer Queen Sunset cruise. We also booked a catamaran snorkel trip with Eco Cruise at a discount.

Staff at hotel was WONDERFUL! Alejandro greeted us with "Welcome home" when we first arrived and kept up with us all week to make sure we had our needs met. He is awesome! Our housekeeper cleaned our room in a timely manner each day and left us special touches each day! At check out our bill was correct and the process was quick.

What we enjoyed at the hotel: Mexican Fiesta, pool, activities around the pool each day, view from room 2053. Gift shop actually is a convenience store and you can get milk, cereal, pop tarts, etc there for not too much more than they would have been in town.

wifi tip....routers are near balconies. Get to your wifi needs early in the day and late at night and you have no trouble. Midday wifi is best at pool.

Room Tip: Ask for good beach view. Murphy beds are pretty small but sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoBoilersOlathe_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank so much for posting a review, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

During a recent 3 week stay at Playa Grande, I had the pleasure of meeting several of the activities staff at this hotel. Cristina provided an excellent "boot camp" experience first thing in the morning that left me energized for the rest of the day. Miriam served as a hostess at some of the theme dinners we attended, and went out of her way to accommodate our needs. Luis was an excellent salsa dance instructor and even though we were somewhat familiar with salsa, he taught us some new moves! Hector's water aerobics class was unlike any other I had attended, and he really engaged the group in some unusual exercises with "noodles" that were fun and provided a great workout. I took group Spanish lessons with Humberto and Cristina, and they were both effective teachers, providing us with useful words and phrases and basic conjugation of verbs in Spanish. Lastly, Roberto was a hilarious master of ceremonies at both the Beach Party and Asian Night. His quick wit and talent during the Beach Party limbo competition and the couples balloon popping contest made for a very entertaining and fun filled evening. Don't miss his Chinese yo-yo demo on Asian Night! All of the staff went out of their way to make sure the guests were enjoying their stay and their wants and needs were met.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Ridge section of the hotel. It was sometimes noisy well into the night with the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 907HappyTraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing