We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We basically picked this resort after reading other peoples reviews on Trip Advisor. Well, my fellow travelers....You got it right! This resort was beautiful, the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Our screen door came off the track and one of the toilets clogged. Maintainence fixed everything right away. The maid service was a nice touch. Other timeshare locations we have been too do not always offer this amenity.
The food by pool was very good & the 2 for 1 daily drink specials are not to be missed! The pool staff kept us busy with water games, water arobics and bingo. Not to worry they didn't keep us that busy we had plenty of time to relax and enjoy.
We were at this resort over the Thanksgiving week. The resort offered a very nice Thanksgiving buffet by the beach with Mexican style entertainment. $35 for adults, 12 and under 50% off. The entertainment was a lot of fun. A very different Thanksgiving then your use too but we would definately do it again!
My only gripe would be the poor interent connection that you have to pay for if you are not a timeshare owner at this resort. You also have to pay for the gym & mini gold if you are not an owner at this resort.

Room Tip: As for a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank AM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear AM,
We enjoyed reading your wonderful review, Glad you had a great time at our Thanksgiving Dinner and I´m delighted that you were able to spend time to relax & enjoyed.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the internet access, I would like to inform you we are at the moment looking for another options to increase our band. We will be working on this.
Hoping to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,518 - 2,524 of 3,935 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a great family oriented resort. There are lots of pools, including an adults only pool which was a little on the cool side, but we like it that way. The hot tub was very hot. The beautiful beach is not swimmable most of the time with a dangerous undertow. The well appointed one bedroom unit we were in had a full kitchen (no oven). The well decorated suite could comfortably sleep 5 with a hide-a-bed and a single bed in a cabinet. There were two bathrooms with two showers. Our only real complaint was that the Wi-Fi was poor for the $45 they charged for the week. The best times to use it were early in the morning before 7AM, after 11PM and in the middle of the day beside the pool. The marina with shopping and restaurants and all kinds of tours is a short 15min to 1/2 hour walk away.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredWkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Fred,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others guests. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful time.
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
You thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was our first time staying here but we will be back. We booked through RCI and just lucked into this place working with our dates but I'm glad we did. The service was amazing by every employee we encountered, from the bellman on the way in all the way through!! The entertainment staff also does a great job of giving you chances to be active and play games but not ever making you feel pressured. Tequila volleyball and the fiesta night were big hits with us.

The location of this property is amazing as it gives you the privacy of the beach on the pacific, but a short walk to the marina or medano beach. We came on this trip just the two of us but are already planning to go back with our kid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1982-Jeffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Jeff,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you had a wonderful time from check in to check out and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This resort has comfortable, welcoming rooms and is walking distance to the marina and downtown. The Internet is very slow and expensive at $45 per week. The pool lounge chairS filled up quickly. The bill was difficult to reconcile as charges on receipts was in pesos but final bill was in US$. Resort didn't get that not all their clientele are American.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Julie,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the internet access, I would like to inform you we are at the moment looking for another options to increase our band. We will be working on this.
Hoping to see you again soon.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First time staying at Playa Grande. We usually stay at another property in Cabo. The hotel was nicely appointed and the staff overall was nice. We checked in and did the usual, go to concierge for time share presentation appt. They offered a VIP card with a discounts off food at restaurants and stuff in resort, to spend 3 hours on their presentation that is said to be 75 min. That's it. Most resorts give you this upon check in just for being a guest. Had to beg for free WiFi and discounts to gym for two couples to go on presentation. There were definite stand outs as far as employees that gave great service. Its the policies that need some review. Food was fairly good at both restaurants. Great place to stay. Timeshare tour could be avoided unless you really need that 10% discount card.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Lance,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the timeshare staff; the team is constantly tweaking our service in order to improve and your opinion help us.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future to provide you with the excellent experience and service that you deserve.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We are owners at Grand Solmar, but we spend a few days at Playa Grande pools each year. Our kids LOVE kids club. They would go everyday all day if we let them. Ms. Vidi is so sweet and they really love her. It is really comforting to see the same friendly face each year we go and makes me feel good about leaving my kids with her. We are really REALLY hoping that she will be in charge of the kids club at Grand Solmar when it opens!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Calley,
We are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit; I am glad that you enjoyed our services.
Your comments will share with pleasure with Viridiana.
Come back anytime to visit us. We will be very pleased to serve you again.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The timeshare presentation for Grand Solmar / Playa Grande could not have been more obnoxious, deceitful or disappointing. What was supposed to be 90 minutes from beginning to end with one (1) person turned out to be 2-1/2 hours with four (4) pitchmen, each more obnoxious and rude than the prior. We are time share owners in Mexico. This is by far the most duplicitous. The customer service people at Playa Grande worked hard to correct the rude treatment and back-taking of incentives promised at Grand Solmar.

The Playa Grande resort itself is first class. The place, the people, the food, the amenities all are very nice. We would recommend it to others. Our suite was spectacular and well furnished. It had a great ocean view and was convenient to the pool, beach and restaurants. Location for the marina was also convenient. We recommend the resort, but caution against the time share presentation. The incentives are small compared to the insulting treatment and loss of time.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front or ocean view above the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Steve,
I am sorry that we didn´t meet your expectations on this visit. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we handle things differently in the future.
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us with your comments as this helps us to constantly strive for excellence.
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.2 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $171 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing