We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort For a Quiet Relaxing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Resort For a Quiet Relaxing Vacation”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Positives: Resort is beautiful and the grounds and the rooms are very nice and well kept. Front desk reception and bell staff was very helpful. We had a problem with our safe a couple of times and the came right away with no problems. They have a lot of pools and a couple of hot tubs. The recreation staff was great (Tequilla volleyball was the best). It is totally "in"! Mirium! The beach party night with the rock and roll band was a good time. The buffet at the Beach part was decent and the entertainment with Roberto leading the charge was awesome. He is so funny and engaging!

Negatives: While there were many pools they were not as clean as they could be as there was a lot of missing tiles and algae in between the small tiles. The pool bar also closed very early and everyone out of the pool and hot tub by 9:00 p.m. The whole resort was basically a ghost town after 9:00 p.m. Even the nightly parties and entertainment ended exactly at 9:00 p.m. Also, everything was extra (wifi, fitness club, even miniature golf ($12 per round) and no one was on the course, really!! I saw two people playing the entire week. Food and drinks pricey! The drinks at the pool were okay (definitely not top shelf, but there was happy hour 2-4 every day which was 2 for 1.

Overall: The beach was very nice, but as you might have read in other reviews, you cannot swim. While a very nice resort, the staff is very reserved and they do not go out of their way (like other resorts) to make the guests feel real special. (The recreation staff were good!) However, if you love laying by the pool or beach, having a cocktail and reading a book (this is your place)! And, lets not forget the weather, not a cloud in the sky and no rain. We also did not experience any time sharing pressure by the staff. We were very clear when we checked in that we were not interested. I would have accessed the spa and other services if they would have provided some type of discount advantage. The resort was pretty empty, but they did not even offer spa discounts (unless you were part of the all inclusive which was an additional $75 per person per day).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenandDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Karen & Dale
Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed our Tequila Volleyball. We appreciate your feedback regarding the pools I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we improve this.
This feedback will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,408
    896
    206
    106
    84
See reviews for
1,298
1,392
63
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our 2nd time to Cabo. We had so much fun last year, we decided to bring family and more friends to join us(26 total). What made it so special for us to come back was the Entertainment group by the pool and staff at the nightly activities, such as Fiesta Night and Beach Party Night. Roberto, Cristina, Miriam and Rodrigo were absolutley wonderful!! We played Tequila Volleyball everyday , Trivia games(yes, team California won)!! These people made our experience fun and enjoyable, they all deserve a raise!!!!

Room Tip: do not get a room on bottom floor where the nightly entertainment festivities occur, they are consta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Shirre

We are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit; I am glad that you enjoyed our services and also that you bring your family & friends.

Our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time.Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review

Come back anytime to visit us. We will be very pleased to serve you again.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is easily the best resort I have ever stayed at. I love traveling to tropical areas with amazing ocean views and this place just has it all. The staff is always pleasant and full of smiles. Every year that I come here the people remember who I am and go out of there way to make sure I have a comfortable stay at this resort. Well worth the trip and money .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Losman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Losman
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing visit, I am happy that you always had a wonderful stay.

Our staff do indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.

Thank you again, and we will love to have you here for another year.....

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The grounds & hotel are beautiful the view of the ocean gorgeous worth your stay yes but.. the beach is on the Pacific side which makes it too rough to swim or wade in so if you are really wanting a calm beach wrong hotel the poolside & restaurant service needs improvement BUT
... THE INTERTAINMENT CREW AMAZING! !!!! Hands down made this hotel experience the best between Roberto rodrigo Christina &malina absolutely the best hilarious roberto was sooo Funny &you best dancer ever they made the poolvolley sooo much fun!!!! Thank you guys for helping make my vacation there so wonderful!!!! Keep making everyone elses just as amazing! !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Glenda
Thank so much for posting a review, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team especially with Roberto, Rodrigo, Cristina & Malina.
Please accept my most sincere apologies regarding the service at the Restaurant. We have distributed copies of your message to Food & Beverages Manager in order to improve our service, once again, thanks
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I just spent three nights there with my dear friends. We were a party of six. We had two junior suites. Our rooms were very nice. The architecture of the resort is awesome. Huge archways and a grand staircase leading to the pools, totally awesome. I loved the koi ponds and the incredible entrance with the stone mosaic floor. it was beautiful all around. The staff that I interacted with were friendly and nice. I liked the coffee station in the archway, I enjoyed my lattes!!! I loved being on the first floor and close to the pools.
I also loved the location of the resort. It is right across from the marina and a short walking distance to town. The two restaurants suggested to us by the doormen were great. Maro's Shrimp House and Tres Isles. I had a great time and enjoyed Playa Grande and Cago Legend Tours Pirate Snorkeling Cruise,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulularu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Lulularu

Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your vacation at Cabo. It sounds like you and your friends had a wonderful time. I agree that our property has a awesome architecture and a great location.
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The really good: Front desk staff, concierge, housekeeping could not have been better. Location is fine especially looking out on the wild ocean. Resort is beautiful. The ridge pools were great. The grounds were very well maintained. The restaurants are overpriced even for Cabo and were just so-so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear John
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our property offers a Great location and our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was huge and very clean. Hotel had excellent amenities and great views. If I ever go to Cabo again, I will stay here a second time. Nice walking distance to everything as well. Only downside was food was not that great, but plenty of good places right outside the hotel. Concierge booked us on some great tours at good prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Lisa,
Thanks so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others guests.
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#28 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing